We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An epic weekend”
Review of The Grainary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grainary
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An epic weekend”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We booked an overnight stay with our two grandsons expecting a family room. In fact we had a large bedroom with a smaller one, with bunk beds, off it, which suited us fine and meant I could put the 6 year old to bed without making the rest of us sit in the dark.
The six year old immediately made friends with Lollie, who, true to the introductory letter, took us for a walk! He was absolutely besotted with her and even more excited, the following morning, to find that 4 dogs escorted us on a walk. We all enjoyed the animals, the scenery and our breakfast but for the six year old his weekend was "epic".

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank June_F_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
I love the word "epic" and to see it left in a review makes my day

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    147
    29
    10
    9
See reviews for
369
261
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic views real countryside feel. Dog friendly nice walks on your doorstep. They cater for meals all day so you can have something to eat at any time. All we found was that the pillows on the beds was uncomfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c0leman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you very much for this review, I will pass on the feedback about the pillows.
Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We have just returned fom our first visit to The Grainary, and I am sure it won't be our last. The rooms were comfortable, staff friendly and welcoming and the views wonderful. It was also great to be able to see the animals every day. Adorable baby curly pigs, lambs, ducklings and handsome highland cattle. And then there is the food...plenty of choice for breakfast and very well cooked and served. We ate in the restaurant on our first night and were very impressed with the meal. So much so, we ate in most nights. The ribs are to die for! The menu is well thought out, with specials too. The chef and Lynda certainly know their stuff.
Special thanks to Laura, Lynda and Mark for making our stay so enjoyable. We went with friends and they also enjoyed our trip.
And I forgot to mention the friendly dogs, who love to go on walks around the farm with the guests.
An ideal place for holidays with children or for people who like animals

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for this lovely review and it was great to meet you. I will tell Simon that the ribs went down well.
We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We love it. I visited in the early 90s and should have returned much sooner. The animals are as friendly as the staff, the food (lunch so far) is delicious and the location amazing. So relaxed and it's only day one of our stay. Hoping I will be able to resist stealing a curly piglet (more pics to follow of those)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KramerBrighouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Just to let you know I counted the curly haired pigs after you left =)

Thank you for this lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful warm reception from the hosts, they were friendly and very accomodating.
Its a great place for the family to stay and visit with lots of things for the kids.
Farm life experience with hotel comfort.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thanks Russell
Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Visited with my fiance and we both loved the grainary, such a tranquil place with beautiful scenery and fantastic hosts who took the time out to chat and get to know us, made us feel very welcome. will be visiting again soon!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeGough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thanks Lee, glad you had a good time on the farm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

My daughter and I went with my grandson to the grainary and what a pleasure it was. The food was lovely, the sun was shining and laura was lovely, friendly and helpful and the animals and the views were lovely. If you dont go your missing a treat. We are off next week again cant wait...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you very much for this lovely review, I will tell Laura she got a name mention =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.8 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,854 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
1,524 reviews
11.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,840 reviews
5.7 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
858 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grainary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grainary

Property: The Grainary
Address: Keasbeck Hill Farm | Harwood Dale, Scarborough YO13 0DT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grainary 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a place where you can unwind, relax and commune with nature? Come and enjoy the welcoming smiles, picturesque sceneries and mouth-watering delicacies of Grainary Farm. This 4-star hotel and converted barn holiday cottages stands on a 200-acre countryside in Harwood Dale, providing its visitors with an unobstructed view of the historic Scarborough Castle. Of course, your farm experience will not be complete without geese, pigs, ponies, hairy cows and adorable farm dogs part-time tour guides. There's also a garden where you can buy flowers, seeds and plants and a games room and an outdoor playground where you and your family can have limitless fun. So what are you waiting for? Are you just going to ignore the inviting aroma of home-baked cakes and cookies? How about the cool, refreshing breeze of the North Sea? The stars dotting the cloudless sky? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, LateRooms, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Grainary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing