We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil location at the Grainary”
Review of The Grainary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grainary
Certificate of Excellence
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Tranquil location at the Grainary”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have just had our second visit. This Farm is ideal for people who want to get away from hustle and bustle,people who have limited mobility,pet owners and families with young children.
The location has impressive and stunning views and the quietness belies the fact that it is within easy driving distance of a number of popular resorts, namely Scarborough,Whitby and Filey.
John and Linda Simpson and all their staff made us completely welcome and could not do enough for us to make our stay comfortable. Our ground floor room was spacious and well set out and everything was comfortable and clean and neatly presented. Our daughter was also
there with her two children and they took pleasure in interacting with all the various animals.
Our grandchildren also enjoyed making new friends and playing in the areas provided.
We would not hesitate in visiting again.

Room Tip: If travelling with a dog rooms five,six,seven and eight are on the ground floor and each one has its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baildondave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time out to leave a review. I'm glad you and all your family had an amazing time. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    146
    29
    10
    9
See reviews for
369
261
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have stayed at The Grainary several times and could not fault the service.

The owners are always very welcoming and polite. It has great views over Scarborough and we loved taking walks in the nearby woods.

I'm surprised by other reviews as our room was very clean and the decor adds to the countryside charm.

We would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leroy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for the kind review, we are glad that you had a great time. We hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have stayed here on numerous occasions and nothing changes, which for us is a good thing. A home from home holiday, which if we are all honest you can't get any more comfortable than your own home. We are due to go there again in two days time. Once again, great service, friendly and chatty staff, fantastic ambience, very tasty food and we love it. We try and stay 3 or 4 times a year ranging from a long weekend to two weeks!!!!
Our only wish would be for the Grainary to be open over Chrimbo and New Year; now that would something special.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jockspit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for this amazing review. We try and create a home from home atmosphere, so much so next time you visit we are going to leave the vacuum cleaner in your room =D
Christmas in New Year is where we close the farm so we can get all of our many family members to stay, so just like for Joseph and Mary there would be no room in the inn ! =D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We are two couples travelling around the UK, it was great to have a place outside of the main town. The scenery was beautiful. We had booked an evening meal, and the food was fantastic. The rooms were clean and comfortable. A very relaxing and restful place to stay. Thank you

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for the kind review, we are glad that you had a great time. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in July with my family. Ideal location for scarborough and Whitby. set in a lovely setting and is great for children to see animals on a working farm however there were dog faeces on the lawns inc outside eating area from the farm dogs roaming around outside even though they were 2 lovely dogs, the play area was in need of a spruce up and not ideal for a toddler safety wise. The games room was good, however some things didn't work, the ride on toys not in there as picture on website and really needed a good clean. The plant nursery is a bit neglected but could be lovely if care put in. Owners are really lovely friendly people and could not help you more but other staff members need to be more welcoming on arrival and show you around and provide more info. Cannot fault the food it was lovely. The room was a good size and pretty clean but needed brightened up and updating as looking a tired, dull and worn. Attention to small detail would not go a miss noticed creased un-tucked bedding inc duvet cover half buttoned on duvet, cobwebs on ceiling above bed, lampshades not straight. To summarise the B&B is good and is in a nice place and the owners are lovely friendly people but the cleanliness, up keep and attention to detail inside and out need more effort put in for it to be 4 star excellent accommodation

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hello,
Thanks for the review and feedback. It is always good to hear from our guests on what we are doing well, and areas where we can improve.
As you can understand this time of the year we are very busy and during your particular stay we were understaffed. We try our best to have great presentation skills, however sometimes we are just human and will have to occasional blip (i.e beds have a few creases).
Our main appeal is that we are a working farm, and what will come with that is the working animals will go to the toilet where they want. We did try to potty train them, however this didn't go so well =D
In the close season we are making big changes to the farm and I encourage you to come and see us next year because if you thought this stay was good, wait till you see us again.
Regards
The team at The Grainary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in July, beautiful setting and views out of this world but the whole place needs some TLC. Beds are very uncomfortable so if like me you have back problems beware. The games room needs a good clean out and the plants on sale were neglected.
Having said this you cannot beat the peacefulness of the surroundings and staff are warm and friendly. Breakfast was great with fruit juice, cereal and full English with as much tea and toast as you wanted. We also love seeing the animals and walking round the lake. Will go back but not for a few years.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireFatcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for the feedback, just to let you know that in the close season the farm will be going through some upgrading so I encourage you to come back next year where your issues will of been solved. Again thank you for taking time out to give us your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my family in July, lovely grounds and lots of nice walks.

The service was ok, not anything out of this world like you would expect from a B&B.

It's about 10 miles out of Scarborough so too far if like me you prefer to stay closer to the town.

The rooms were shabby and grotty and all in all tired and needed updating.

The wifi was also poor. I had a lovely time but next time will try elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princesskerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKSIMPS0N, Public Relations Manager at The Grainary, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for the feedback, I recommend you contact us directly at grainary@btopenworld.com to go over your issues. I would like to note that you were given the room free of charge and although we do acknowledge some rooms need some TLC they certainly are not "Shabby and Grotty".

I look forward to hearing from you
Regards
Mark Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.8 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,854 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
1,524 reviews
11.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,836 reviews
5.7 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
857 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grainary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grainary

Property: The Grainary
Address: Keasbeck Hill Farm | Harwood Dale, Scarborough YO13 0DT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grainary 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a place where you can unwind, relax and commune with nature? Come and enjoy the welcoming smiles, picturesque sceneries and mouth-watering delicacies of Grainary Farm. This 4-star hotel and converted barn holiday cottages stands on a 200-acre countryside in Harwood Dale, providing its visitors with an unobstructed view of the historic Scarborough Castle. Of course, your farm experience will not be complete without geese, pigs, ponies, hairy cows and adorable farm dogs part-time tour guides. There's also a garden where you can buy flowers, seeds and plants and a games room and an outdoor playground where you and your family can have limitless fun. So what are you waiting for? Are you just going to ignore the inviting aroma of home-baked cakes and cookies? How about the cool, refreshing breeze of the North Sea? The stars dotting the cloudless sky? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Grainary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing