We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chef needs training” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eat Me Cafe

Eat Me Cafe
Ranked #6 of 353 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Eat Me Cafe sits quietly in a backstreet of Scarborough behind the world-famous Stephen Joseph Theatre. We offer a diverse multicultural menu, serving hand-packed burgers, Japanese Ramen, Shetland Pie, Thai Curries.... And much much more. 95% Of our food is made in-house from scratch. Our wide range of cakes changes daily. We serve our own much loved blend of coffee, fair trade certified and expertly roasted by The Heavenly Coffee Company and this can't be found anywhere else. All our food is cooked to order, and at busy times there may be a delay. Our chips are skin on for goodness and seasoned with Eat Me's own blend seasoning. We only use Butter on our breads and please be aware that Our Kitchen contains nuts, both kinds. If you have special dietary requirements please let us know and we will try to accommodate. We always have dairy free butter alternatives and soya milk on request, as well as Gluten Free bread for those sandwich requirements. Also, during the day when busy you may be asked to share a table, you never know who you might meet. We love Yorkshire and Scarborough and were so proud to receive The Good Food Guide Cafe of the Year 2014 award and be in the guide again for 2015. We embrace our quirkiness, bringing a smile to our customers faces from the moment they walk in! Finally if you are in a rush for the theatre, the train or collecting the kids please let us know, we will do all we humanly can!
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chef needs training”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Having visited on numerous occasions for there excellent breakfast however today after waiting 45 mins for my order, receiving toast that could break glass oh and only another 4 customers present I was very disappointed! Before wasting my money and time would of like to have been notified of extensive time delay and quality of food and an apology would not of gone a miss!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marste007, Owner at Eat Me Cafe, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hi Michelle B
Thank you for taking the time to make a comment on Tripadvisor and also choosing to ignore my direct message to you in connection with your review.
We did have a new chef on that day, it was her second day of starting the day alone after her initial training days, I did apologise for the delay and asked for your consideration in your review, when you know that on your other visits you had enjoyed our breakfasts, you did mention the toast when approached by our staff on the day, and this was quickly replaced for you. Other known customers were present that day and did manage to let us know the exact happenings as they agreed that there were very few in that day. The delay in service was indeed the new chef, she admitted her slow start that day and it hasn't happened since, she did have help after her first hour. Apart from your toast mishap, all else was up to par with your breakfast that day, and we are truly disappointed that you felt the need to make tripadvisor your sounding board, when a simple comment during, before or after service would have made all this unnecessary, complete with apology, as was already mentioned in my direct message.
But that said, thanks for taking the time to give us your review.
Regards
Stephen
Co-Owner
Eat Me Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    94
    22
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
grimsby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Finally visited after being recommended many times - arrived Monday lunch time and was mega busy, waited 15-20. No guidance on structure eg table service/get your own water/cash only etc but other than that was lovely food. Not fine dining by any means - more quirky/trendy casual dining. Fabulous decor and friendly staff. Would revisit.

Ordered dirty eggs - great portion size and delicious
Partner - sloppy joe super portion and fantastic presentation

Chips and slaw to die for

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marste007, Owner at Eat Me Cafe, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hello jen s
Many thanks for your great review. We do truly appreciate your commentary and are glad that you would return again, we ourselves also love our homeslaw and chips.
Regards
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a lovely atmosphere, delicious food, wonderful staff and super service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Eat Me Café is just on my doorstep. I have been a few times and I must say it is the best place to eat in the Scarborough area. It is a lovely organic gastro style eatery. Providing delicious food and caters for both vegetarians and meat eaters as well as for those who need gluten free foods. As I am gluten intolerant and a vegetarian it is super. It has been given many awards and it should get millions more. It is just wonderful. The cakes are divine and generous in portions. The tofu melt is amazing and my family and friends whom have also been there said there meals have all been absolutely delicious. It is ashame they don't do night times anymore as during the day it is so popular it is always busy and on many occasions we've had to walk straight past as there so busy. But this is super for them as it shows they are high in demand and hopefully means they will never shut like many other alternative eatery's in Scarborough such as Nutmeg and Venus. It would be good if you could reserve tables in the day but then I guess they would get people doing it all the time so that if anyone was just walking by and wanted to pop in, there would be no way of doing that. Though even without the reservations been made I often struggle with that situation. I cant promote eat me enough it is just lovely. If you haven't been your in for a treat. Wholesome, delicious food in a querky warm and friendly atmosphere served by the lovliest of staff. : )

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amberpersephone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marste007, Owner at Eat Me Cafe, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi Amber
Quite simply just want to say a massive thank you for your most excellent and generous review, we are as nothing without our loyal customers both established and yet to find us. We pride ourselves on our food and service, it is what people come to see us for and yes we have won awards this past year, but it is all down to our lovely and supportive customers like yourself.
Long may you, and all others, visit and enjoy what we have to offer.
Thanks again
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is a favourite place of ours for morning coffee or lunch. Food is well cooked and reasonably priced; the staff are very friendly and we love the ambience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Flyingisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marste007, Owner at Eat Me Cafe, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hello Flyingisfun
Thank you for the wonderful comments, we do our best to keep the ambience friendly and welcoming as well as something hopefully a little kooky.
Regards and thanks again.
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Thank you eat me”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Consistently good food and service. Never rushed from your table. A fantastic place to meet friends for a relaxed lunch. Also excellent coffee and cake. Banofee pie being my greatest weakness.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jakki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marste007, Owner at Eat Me Cafe, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi Jakki W
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we do appreciate your comments and your love our the ever popular Banoffee Pie, hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat Me Cafe also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Eat Me Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing