We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a lovely atmosphere, delicious food, wonderful staff and super service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eat Me Cafe

Eat Me Cafe
Ranked #7 of 352 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Eat Me Cafe sits quietly in a backstreet of Scarborough behind the world-famous Stephen Joseph Theatre. We offer a diverse multicultural menu, serving hand-packed burgers, Japanese Ramen, Shetland Pie, Thai Curries.... And much much more. 95% Of our food is made in-house from scratch. Our wide range of cakes changes daily. We serve our own much loved blend of coffee, fair trade certified and expertly roasted by The Heavenly Coffee Company and this can't be found anywhere else. All our food is cooked to order, and at busy times there may be a delay. Our chips are skin on for goodness and seasoned with Eat Me's own blend seasoning. We only use Butter on our breads and please be aware that Our Kitchen contains nuts, both kinds. If you have special dietary requirements please let us know and we will try to accommodate. We always have dairy free butter alternatives and soya milk on request, as well as Gluten Free bread for those sandwich requirements. Also, during the day when busy you may be asked to share a table, you never know who you might meet. We love Yorkshire and Scarborough and were so proud to receive The Good Food Guide Cafe of the Year 2014 award and be in the guide again for 2015. We embrace our quirkiness, bringing a smile to our customers faces from the moment they walk in! Finally if you are in a rush for the theatre, the train or collecting the kids please let us know, we will do all we humanly can!
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a lovely atmosphere, delicious food, wonderful staff and super service”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Eat Me Café is just on my doorstep. I have been a few times and I must say it is the best place to eat in the Scarborough area. It is a lovely organic gastro style eatery. Providing delicious food and caters for both vegetarians and meat eaters as well as for those who need gluten free foods. As I am gluten intolerant and a vegetarian it is super. It has been given many awards and it should get millions more. It is just wonderful. The cakes are divine and generous in portions. The tofu melt is amazing and my family and friends whom have also been there said there meals have all been absolutely delicious. It is ashame they don't do night times anymore as during the day it is so popular it is always busy and on many occasions we've had to walk straight past as there so busy. But this is super for them as it shows they are high in demand and hopefully means they will never shut like many other alternative eatery's in Scarborough such as Nutmeg and Venus. It would be good if you could reserve tables in the day but then I guess they would get people doing it all the time so that if anyone was just walking by and wanted to pop in, there would be no way of doing that. Though even without the reservations been made I often struggle with that situation. I cant promote eat me enough it is just lovely. If you haven't been your in for a treat. Wholesome, delicious food in a querky warm and friendly atmosphere served by the lovliest of staff. : )

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amberpersephone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marste007, Owner at Eat Me Cafe, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi Amber
Quite simply just want to say a massive thank you for your most excellent and generous review, we are as nothing without our loyal customers both established and yet to find us. We pride ourselves on our food and service, it is what people come to see us for and yes we have won awards this past year, but it is all down to our lovely and supportive customers like yourself.
Long may you, and all others, visit and enjoy what we have to offer.
Thanks again
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    95
    23
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is a favourite place of ours for morning coffee or lunch. Food is well cooked and reasonably priced; the staff are very friendly and we love the ambience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flyingisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marste007, Owner at Eat Me Cafe, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hello Flyingisfun
Thank you for the wonderful comments, we do our best to keep the ambience friendly and welcoming as well as something hopefully a little kooky.
Regards and thanks again.
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Thank you eat me”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Consistently good food and service. Never rushed from your table. A fantastic place to meet friends for a relaxed lunch. Also excellent coffee and cake. Banofee pie being my greatest weakness.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jakki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marste007, Owner at Eat Me Cafe, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi Jakki W
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we do appreciate your comments and your love our the ever popular Banoffee Pie, hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Amazing from start to finish. Cannot wait to return.”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Went to Eat Me with a small group of work colleagues for lunch on Tuesday. I had not been before and had heard a lot of positive feedback about the place.

I was highly impressed, the theme and decoration is attractive and interesting and the young lady who greeted us and looked after us was attentive and efficient. We had to wait 10 minutes or so in the seating area for a table but were handed a menu and were well looked after. We were soon seated and ordered our food. The menu had lots of attractive choices which were well priced and sounded delicious.

I had a BBQ Melt with chips and salad. It was the best presented meal I have ever had. The melt was served in amazing panini style bread with plenty of tasty chicken breast and BBQ sauce. The chips were delicious ‘skin on’ skinny fries served in a brown bag and the salad and coleslaw were again delicious. I thoroughly enjoyed the meal. One of my colleagues had ‘welsh rarebit with bacon’ which also looked amazing and is the next thing I want to try.

The owners have clearly put a massive amount of effort and time in to the venue and the food and I cannot wait to visit again. Eat Me is the best place I have eaten in Scarborough in a long time and I hope it continues to be a success!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marste007, Owner at Eat Me Cafe, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear James M
A massive thank you for your wonderful review, we strive to offer a venue and food that shines and has the you, the customer, at its heart. We are nothing without you all.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your first visit and hope that it has simply been the start of many more.
Hope to see you soon, enjoying our Rarebit with Bacon!
Regards
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“quick coffee”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Called by a recommendation on crows nest blog, a great find only had coffees this visit but will be back due the great friendliness shown to ourselves and our 4 legged friend late on saturday afternoon, will be a 2nd visit as in Scarborough most weekends till end of October

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marste007, Owner at Eat Me Cafe, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hello Janet P
Many thanks for your comments, 4 legged visitors are few but welcome as having one ourselves we know how difficult it can be to then even get a sniff of indoor coffees.
Hope to see you all again soon.
Regards
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat Me Cafe also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Eat Me Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing