We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Spicy”
Review of Eat Me Cafe

Eat Me Cafe
Ranked #7 of 363 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: American, Asian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Eat Me Cafe sits quietly in a backstreet of Scarborough behind the world-famous Stephen Joseph Theatre. We offer a diverse multicultural menu, serving hand-packed burgers, Japanese Ramen, Shetland Pie, Thai Curries.... And much much more. 95% Of our food is made in-house from scratch. Our wide range of cakes changes daily. We serve our own much loved blend of coffee, fair trade certified and expertly roasted by The Heavenly Coffee Company and this can't be found anywhere else. All our food is cooked to order, and at busy times there may be a delay. Our chips are skin on for goodness and seasoned with Eat Me's own blend seasoning. We only use Butter on our breads and please be aware that Our Kitchen contains nuts, both kinds. If you have special dietary requirements please let us know and we will try to accommodate. We always have dairy free butter alternatives and soya milk on request, as well as Gluten Free bread for those sandwich requirements. Also, during the day when busy you may be asked to share a table, you never know who you might meet. We love Yorkshire and Scarborough and were so proud to receive The Good Food Guide Cafe of the Year 2014 award and be in the guide again for 2015. We embrace our quirkiness, bringing a smile to our customers faces from the moment they walk in! Finally if you are in a rush for the theatre, the train or collecting the kids please let us know, we will do all we humanly can!
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm and Spicy”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Just popped into Eat Me cos I'd heard they had added some new specials to their already excellent menu. The welcome was warm and friendly as always and I was soon sat down, sipping my root beer and waiting for my 'Sloppy Dog'. Smoked sausage, spicy 'Sloppy Joseph' mince and a melted cheese top. A wonderful addition to the menu and I hope it becomes a regular fixture.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZombieHaiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    105
    26
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Top notch”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Best place in scrborough by far had steak which was perfectly cooked the eton mess was heaven on the hips look forwad to going again in october

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sophienurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

what a gem of a place :) I have been back a few times and have never been disappointed, the food is AMAZING.... the service is great and always with a smile, the staff are consistent and even though most of the time they are rushed of there feet they always make you feel welcome.

The chicken and chorizo is nom nom :P and of course the fries delightful

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire Adele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Been to Eat Me a number of times for lunch but have never succeeded in getting a booking for an evening meal. Just been again and,as usual it was lovely. I had the tofu melt (being veggie) and my husband, who has an enormous appetite, had the chicken melt. We also had a big pot of tea, shrouded as usual in a woolly teapot warmer - so quaint. The food was gorgeous and the portions huge. My hubby had his eyes feasted on the huge slices of delicious looking cake available but was so full even he couldn't manage it. We decided to be organised and book in advance for a Saturday evening but were only able to get the early teatime sitting approx 6 weeks ahead and the later sitting 11 weeks ahead, that's how busy this place is! Anyway, we like it so much that we booked both and will look forward to them. Food is fab (and i'm very picky!), prices very realistic and staff really nice. Excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roombudYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's OK, but in the dark-ages.”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We planned to meet an old friend here.
On entering we were told to use a 2 seating table. Friend phoned saying couldn't make it.
So I ordered us a drink and snack.
When it came to pay, only then did they say they didn't accept cards!
I didn't realise Scarborough was still in the dark-ages.
For that reason alone, I would go elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jake0366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marste007, Owner at Eat Me Cafe, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hello and thanks for taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor, we appreciate all our customers comments and feedback.
We are sorry that for something as minor as not accepting credit/debit cards you would take your custom elsewhere, even though you did rate our value and food reasonably high.
Can we explain though that if you had looked upon entering the cafe, you wouldn't have seen and signs indicating that we did accept cards, these machines have exorbitant costs attached to not only their use on a daily basis, but also in rental fees on a month by month basis as well as upkeep on the paperwork involved in taking monies from persons accounts, all documents must be stored safely and privately with an emphasis on keeping these slips "private" as well as for a period on 5 years along with all the other accounts files that are a must. You are then also required to do a yearly checking of all the various safety requirements for the storage of persons details, which then adds further to the already spiralling costs involved in the usage of one of these machines. For this reason alone we have taken the decision for now as a fairly small establishment to not have to add further costs upon our customers as well as requiring yet more administration time to our already stretched weekly hours.
We do hope that you understand our decision on this and would not deprive yourself of another chance to visit us given that we have won this past year 3 amazing awards for which we can only thank our ever present returning customers, for without you all we are nothing.
Kindest regards
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat Me Cafe also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Eat Me Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing