We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little cafe”
Review of Eat Me Cafe

Eat Me Cafe
Ranked #6 of 357 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: American, Asian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Eat Me Cafe sits quietly in a backstreet of Scarborough behind the world-famous Stephen Joseph Theatre. We offer a diverse multicultural menu, serving hand-packed burgers, Japanese Ramen, Shetland Pie, Thai Curries.... And much much more. 95% Of our food is made in-house from scratch. Our wide range of cakes changes daily. We serve our own much loved blend of coffee, fair trade certified and expertly roasted by The Heavenly Coffee Company and this can't be found anywhere else. All our food is cooked to order, and at busy times there may be a delay. Our chips are skin on for goodness and seasoned with Eat Me's own blend seasoning. We only use Butter on our breads and please be aware that Our Kitchen contains nuts, both kinds. If you have special dietary requirements please let us know and we will try to accommodate. We always have dairy free butter alternatives and soya milk on request, as well as Gluten Free bread for those sandwich requirements. Also, during the day when busy you may be asked to share a table, you never know who you might meet. We love Yorkshire and Scarborough and were so proud to receive The Good Food Guide Cafe of the Year 2014 award and be in the guide again for 2015. We embrace our quirkiness, bringing a smile to our customers faces from the moment they walk in! Finally if you are in a rush for the theatre, the train or collecting the kids please let us know, we will do all we humanly can!
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great little cafe”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The food in this little cafe is lovely and the menu is different from the usual. The portions are also huge so you won't go hungry here. The presentation of the food is great - loved the little bags of chips! They also provide GF options, including bread so I was able to have a club sandwich which was very tasty. We did ask about the crisps that accompanied the sandwich which turned out not to be gluten free. The waitress immediately took the whole plate away and the kitchen staff remade the sandwich. I hadn't wanted to make a fuss, it's very easily done and I would just have eaten the sandwich but they are obviously very aware of cross-contamination. We really appreciated the trouble they went to. Would visit here again when in Scarborough.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lymet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    99
    24
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Earby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful bread!!!!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We went here for breakfast after having read a number of good reviews on here, and seeing it recommended in a magazine and I can say that we were not disappointed.
The staff were cheerful and friendly, and the interior of the cafe was welcoming and quirky. There were lots of original and interesting touches, from the Golden Syrup tins for holding the cutlery to the crates on the wall for menus etc.
I had a veggie sausage sandwich and my partner had a bacon sandwich, both on granary bread. The bread was AMAZING. The sandwiches were both well sized and we were full for ages.
The price was reasonable, coming to less than £8 for the pair of us, including a drink.
Next time I come to Scarborough I will certainly be returning to Eat Me.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Finally managed to visit Eat Me after hearing many good reviews. Went over lunch time when it was busy - but didn't feel too crowded and the service was fast and friendly. Burger was very good (though not so sure about having it in thick toasted bread). Excellent value and lots of choices on the menu - will definitely go again

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food at amazing prices!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Having visited eat me now numerous times during the day & in the evening I have to say I have never been disappointed. The food is always of high quality & very well presented. The evening menu changes every 2 weeks & is imaginative & caters for all tastes. I can honestly say its my favourite restaurant in Scarborough! Well done to all of the eat me team. Xx

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaScarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Return to Eat Me”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit and expectations from our previous visit were exceeded.
The menu had a nice variety to it and was home cooked .
Staff and service were excellent as was value for money.
If you want to try this little gem "book early" as this has been voted Morrisons Cafe of the Year....well deserved too

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat Me Cafe also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Eat Me Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing