We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab cafe”
Review of Eat Me Cafe

Eat Me Cafe
Ranked #7 of 363 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: American, Asian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Eat Me Cafe sits quietly in a backstreet of Scarborough behind the world-famous Stephen Joseph Theatre. We offer a diverse multicultural menu, serving hand-packed burgers, Japanese Ramen, Shetland Pie, Thai Curries.... And much much more. 95% Of our food is made in-house from scratch. Our wide range of cakes changes daily. We serve our own much loved blend of coffee, fair trade certified and expertly roasted by The Heavenly Coffee Company and this can't be found anywhere else. All our food is cooked to order, and at busy times there may be a delay. Our chips are skin on for goodness and seasoned with Eat Me's own blend seasoning. We only use Butter on our breads and please be aware that Our Kitchen contains nuts, both kinds. If you have special dietary requirements please let us know and we will try to accommodate. We always have dairy free butter alternatives and soya milk on request, as well as Gluten Free bread for those sandwich requirements. Also, during the day when busy you may be asked to share a table, you never know who you might meet. We love Yorkshire and Scarborough and were so proud to receive The Good Food Guide Cafe of the Year 2014 award and be in the guide again for 2015. We embrace our quirkiness, bringing a smile to our customers faces from the moment they walk in! Finally if you are in a rush for the theatre, the train or collecting the kids please let us know, we will do all we humanly can!
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fab cafe”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Food fantastic, well worth a try, very busy, just moved into larger premises, sandwiches are mega, lovely staff, good value

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank gaynor w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    105
    26
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have been to eat me a handful of times and sampled a variety of the menu, the chicken satay sauce is to die for but sadly everything else with the meal was bland (e.g salad in the wrap, more salad on the side, soft crisps), after becoming disappointed with this meal i tried the coronation chicken sandwich which was extremely disappointing, nothing like any other coronation chicken i have tasted before, homemade mash is very lumpy, local sausages are nice. very crowded seating which spoils the atmosphere slightly. Staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank estella91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marste007, Owner at Eat Me Cafe, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hello Estella91
Thanks for taking the time to make a review, we appreciate all our customers comments and critiques and take all seriously
Can we start by thanking you for the comment on our satay sauce, it is very much loved by many. However we are sorry that you felt the rest of a dish, that is dominated by the chicken satay with it's amazing sauce, could be found "bland". We serve the wraps in a format that has always been very popular, a little salad in the wrap to compliment the filling, and a little of our other salad on the side to further compliment the dish. Crisps are made daily to ensure freshness, and if for some reason the crisps weren't up to our standards then a little mention to us would have rectified that issue promptly and efficiently with some more crispy crisps. The Coronation Chicken is our own version, therefore not like any other standard version you would find in any other cafe, we like to make things our own, the coronation sauce is made fresh for each sandwich, using a recipe we trialled back in the beginning 2 years ago and has been muchly loved by so many customers that we simply have to keep it on the menu. Homemade mash is exactly that, homemade with the potato skins left on as stated clearly on the front of our menu's, as well our chips are made the same way and our crisps, therefore the mash will keep a certain amount of "lumpy"ness due to the skins. Our customers love the fact we keep the nutrienal part of the potato in place. Very glad you like the Seamer Fayre Sausages, they are amazing all by themselves and we are very proud to be able to sell them. Crowded seating as well will always be a problem when a venue becomes full at busy times, we are already now more spacious than in the previous venue and find we have sufficient spacing now between tables compared to most other cafe's in Scarborough. And you're right, our staff are both very helpful and friendly, just the way we like it.
Thanks again for your comments.
Regards
Stephen @eatmecafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“A little gem - that's just got bigger!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We've eaten a few times at the Eat Me Cafe for lunch and dinner before their move to bigger premises along the street and were looking forward to going back to see what the new place was like. The good news is - it's just like the old place - but bigger!! The food is great for both vegetarians and meat eaters - plenty of choice and quirky twists on standard food dishes. The service is very friendly and it's a lovely place to go. It's become a must-do on our weekends away in Scarborough as it's so good. Excellent food, well presented with a unique twist, funky style and elegance. Will definitely recommend and definitely be returning. A really lovely place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenda_Young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely food”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We decided to try this cafe after reading the good reviews about it. We weren't disappointed, the food is lovely and it is very reasonably priced.
Will definately return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The secret is out”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We always struggle to find somewhere nice to eat in Scarborough, so when we stumbled on Eat Me, we were thrilled. However, the secret is now out and even a move to new, bigger premises has not solved the issue of its popularity. Good news for them; if not for us, but at least there is a little waiting area, which was well populated.
We were very happy to share our table for four, although some had stipulated they would not share. A little mean, we thought. Smaller tables which could be split apart or pushed together would solve this.
This was our fourth visit and the offering has never disappointed. There's plenty of choice and it is always served imaginatively. Very clever. I had a chicken melt and my daughter a Sloppy Joseph, but we often see dishes floating by which we wish we had ordered instead. Spoilt for choice. The chips are home-made and piping hot. The mushroom soup looked and smelled delicious and was clearly home-made.
Main courses are about six quid and I would argue that it is slightly under-priced in comparison with other places which serve frozen rubbish for much more. Everything is freshly cooked. The burgers are home-made and fabulous.
My only criticism is a shallow step which leads from one part of the restaurant to another. Although there is a warning sign, the floor is of quite a dark wood and the step not expected. One poor chap came a full cropper and could have hurt himself quite badly.
The waitress, however, was excellent; taking care to warn anyone else approaching. But she is busy and can't always be on hand. This needs a solution.
But back to this waitress: charming, solicitous, friendly and efficient, despite being rushed off her feet. Full marks.
Eat Me opens for lunch, but finishes serving quite early (we have been caught out before) then re-opens for evening service. Long may it prosper - even though we may struggle to get in.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarionHaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marste007, Owner at Eat Me Cafe, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi
And many many thanks for your excellent and praising review, we are very happy that you enjoy your visits to us, long may that continue.
A reply to your comment/criticism about the step in the cafe.
If you take a look at our photos, we have uploaded one that clearly shows the step and both the warning signs, and also shows the step to be highlighted in grey both the riser and the nosing, to identify it different from the darker wood flooring, all this and more we have done to highlight the step to all our customers, including as you mentioned that when we are ableto do so we do say to all entering customers to mind the step.
Thanks again for your wonderful review, our waitress remembers you both well and is so happy for your praise of her service, we all hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Stephen @eatmecafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat Me Cafe also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Eat Me Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing