We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scarborough Fayre - Fab position, friendly staff.”
Review of Carlton Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carlton Residence
Ranked #175 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Scarborough Fayre - Fab position, friendly staff.”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed at Scarborough fayre for one night with my husband to celebrate our 16th wedding anniversary. Our criteria for choosing a hotel/b&b was its position, we know Scarborough well and the North Bay is our fave place to stay - we booked a room with a sea view. We'd read the reviews, so were prepared for the hotel to be dated and a little shabby. We phoned ahead to say we'd arrive at 9am and to ask if we could park up and come back later, we were told we could book in when we got there, so that was brill, It meant I could hang our stuff up instead of it creasing in the car - the car park is massive too.
The landlady was really friendly and helpful, we were shown to our room, which was a family room instead of a double, so was very roomy - it had been nicely decorated, comfortable clean beds, and the view amazing.
The hotel has a few niggles, the bathroom extractor was so noisy we had to wee with the door open in the night so as not to wake the whole building, the doors really needed replacing, or at least painting and the locks replacing. I think the landlady took into consideration the complaint about a room being cold because, although a hot day, our radiator was red hot, we had to open the windows fully, and they remained open the whole time we were there.
The breakfast was lovely, with a gorgeous sea view too. I would definitely recommend this simple, clean, reasonably priced, perfectly positioned, friendly staffed hotel to anyone who doesn't care that it's quite dated, and my lack of 5 stars just reflects the niggles and updating it needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    13
    12
    25
See reviews for
20
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My wife and I got to the hotel about 09.45 and we were allowed to check in at once.A very friendly lady led us up to our room on the second floor.The room was nicely decorated and well equipped with a kettle and plenty of tea and coffee.The bathroom was adequate.and the room had a sea view.Breakfast was good and served in a bright dining room with a nice view of the beach ,castle ect.The hotel is situated on the top of the cliffs ,about 10 mins walk from Peaseholme park.
This hotel may be unsuitable for people who have mobility issues because of its position.But besides that, we thouht it was very good value for money at £60 for us two on Saturday night in an en suite room with a sea view. Definitely one to put on your list.Very nice staff too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goanblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2012

On the plus side; great location and views, ample car park and thats where the plus ends... very neglected and tatty, from the outside paintwork to the interior and rooms.Room was very dated with old carpets and beds of concrete, bathroom much of the same,as I took the towel off the rail, it fell off the wall!. When we arrived our room was in process of cleaning, but even after it had just been done there was an accumulation of dust and dirt behind bathroom door, we could not lock our door and cleaner assured us it would be seen to asap. but 4 hrs later on our return, was still open. Breakfast was ok but I could not face mine as cutlery had a unpleasant "smell" to it, I think at £75 was overpriced, and would recommend putting an extra £20-£30 to the budget for something far better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank note63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

mansfield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We have stayed at the Scarborough Fayre Hotel a few times over the past few years. The hotel is great, reasonably priced and has fantastic views of the sea and coastline. Breakfast is really good, nice little bar for drinks in the evening. The staff can not do enough to help nothing is to much trouble. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tealys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne Lancashire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Everything you could want in a hotel this size and the owners who were very hands on were the nicest people I've met in a very long time and nothing was too much trouble! I believe a lick of paint and upgrading is on the agenda but the hotel room I had was very clean though compact but still had an en suite and I didn't have to pay any extra for a fantastic sea view. The breakfast was full English and very good it was too. This hotel commands a prime sea front location on the north side but is easily accessible for the town centre a short walk away. Also there is plenty of free parking within it's own grounds and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I had stayed a few weeks previously at The Grand Hotel and believe me Scarborough Fayre beats it hands down! All in all a very pleasant stay and I intend to return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sue71044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

The Scarborough Fayre is typical of many UK seaside resort hotels that have had better days.

The Good: The hotel has superb views accross the bay towards the castle. The carpark is a decent size too. The staff were really nice, helpful and polite and deserve future custom.

The Not so Good: The food was as basic as it gets. 'French Fry' style chips and food from the freezer section ice cream etc were par for the course.

Overall: I've stayed in far worse places than this and I'd be happy to recommend to other people but you should prepare to expect quite basic, but clean facilities and food.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laughingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Welcoming from the minute you walk in the door, the hosts were very friendy but not intrusive. the rooms were clean and fresh. Breakfast was realy good, with cereal and a full English, staff were very happy with requests for more toast, tea and coffee. Bar snacks also available without any trouble

Room Tip: When requesting a sea view also state that either a shower or bath is required as some rooms only ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carroll1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,740 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,327 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Paragon
The Paragon
#60 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Residence

Property: Carlton Residence
Address: 143-147 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England (Formerly Scarborough Fayre Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carlton Residence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Carlton Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing