We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wasen't brilliant but wasen't bad”
Review of Carlton Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carlton Residence
Ranked #175 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wasen't brilliant but wasen't bad”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

eventually found the hotel after our satnav malfunctioned, the lady of the property seemed nice but the gentlemen had us standing there without even a "hello" or "welcome". Not recommended for people who have a problem climbing stairs as we had to go up 3 flights, the room had a lovely seaview and was decorated quite tastefully, the hallway and mainfloor is very dated, needs a lick of paint, felt abit out of place as the other people staying in the hotel all seemed much older than us. Breakfast was ok, there was alot of choice but i didn't like the sausage or beans (but my partner did). I wouldn't stay here again but i would recommend it as it was cheap and served it's purpose as we were hardly there anyway,

Room Tip: definitely pay that bit extra for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenandzacsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    13
    12
    25
See reviews for
20
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This is one B&B with excellent location.We were lucky enough to get the front facing bay window through which we could see the sea..but that was the only plus point.The approach to the window was impossible as the carpet was drenched due to a previous plumbing work i was told.We were offered another room at the back but refused and decided to stay in this room,in the morning we could at least drag our char and sit infront of the window with our legs on the window sil and not on the carpet.The second negative point was every night of my 3 nights stay the heating was switched off in the middle of the night,leaving is bitterly cold, on two occasions I went down at 5:00AM to get it switched on.The owner refunded some amount as a compensation from our bill.The bathroom was small and appeared rough. The breakfast time was crowded with too many people and too less staff.I assume one additional person was called to help (and was not much of a help as it appeared) Having said that, I would like to add, that this is run by people with good intentions,it was taken over from some previous B&B and the new owners (they were new in sept'10) were trying hard to deliver.Hopefully with some professional help (if they have not taken one already) they can turn this around,as they have a location worth dying for..Instructions:- Tomtom might lead you to the back of this hotel..ensure that you are on the sea facing road..It has ample parking space

Room Tip: Get a from facing room but not on the top floor, as that doesnot have bay windows..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acesid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We decided to have a few days in Scarborough,me,o h,13 year old daughter and her friend and so booked two rooms,our room (no3) was large,clean and had a fantastic sea and castle view.The bathroom was very clean with a good powerful hot shower.The girls room opposite was just as clean with twin beds and on-suite.

The Hotel has around 22 rooms and was pretty full,the owners and staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.The bar was the cheapest bar in a Hotel we have ever been in and was very well stocked,the meals were excellent with large portions,we all had the full English which was really nice with as much toast,tea,or coffee as you wanted,again with a sea view while you ate.

This is not the Ritz by any means but £90.00 for 2 rooms in a clean friendly Hotel with breakfast suited us just fine.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shipleypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Hotel is well located and you can get to sea front in 3 to 5 minutes walk and get to bus that you can travel along both bays in the same amount of time.

Food and service from owners and staff was excellent,could not fault them .
always asking if we needed anyrthing and if everything was ok.

Hotel inside is alittle dated and could probably do with refurbishment ie new carpets and a touch of paint in our room atleast as well as one or two parts of the public spaces.
The bathroom and room were clean and the bedding and towels were aswell.

Wifi is available but i found on the top floor i was out of range but it is a big building with thick walls so this may be expected,could get a good signal in bar and tv lounge.

TV's were just being upgraded with free view boxes in the few days we were staying so they seem to be ready for switchover.

over all a good well run hotel that just needs abit of a freshen up in appearance.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footymad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We have had the most enjoyable four day stay.A big Thank you to Sheena, John and their staff kerry and kim.
The room was very nice and clean,
The hotel is within easy reach of all scarborough has to offer.
Breakfast was the best we have had,the service was spot on.
We will recommend this Great hotel to everyone.

Mick & Sue.

Room Tip: book early if you would like a sea veiw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick01_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

The most disgusting hotel I have ever stayed in, it was unclean, dated and shabby. The staff are scruffy and impolite. The room was disgraceful, it was unclean, the bed was filthy (hairs, toe nails etc.), bathroom dated, unclean, unusable. The food was like eating cardboard. Many people reading this will be thinking DRAMA QUEEN! but no I’m not joking this place is disgusting and would not even be worth £10 a night!!! However in the few sea view rooms that there are, the view is nice.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank reviewHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Sheenah and John were so welcoming and attentive. There was aupper when my adult son and I arrived, the rooms were comfortable and clean all we needed after a cold snowy drive from the South of England. Christmas Day Sheenah set out a long table for Christmas lunch and the guests and family all sat together and laughed and chatted, pulled crackers and generally had a good time. We stayed for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed the break and hope to return in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giovannaprima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,844 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#20 of 28 in Scarborough
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
163 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
1.2 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#27 of 182 in Scarborough
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Residence

Property: Carlton Residence
Address: 143-147 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England (Formerly Scarborough Fayre Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carlton Residence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Carlton Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing