We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, not good”
Review of The Famous Fishpan

The Famous Fishpan
Ranked #19 of 358 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not bad, not good”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We ate in the restaurant and found the service friendly and polite. The food, although perfectly edible, was not as good. The fish was greasy with slightly limp batter, and didn't have the 'fresh' taste you normally get at the seaside. The chips and peas were tasty but nothing special. Another minor gripe is that my wife got far more chips than me, even though she went for the cheaper meal. It seems if you order peas you get fewer chips (although this was easily resolved between the two of us). We also found the meal didn't "sit right" afterwards, with a fair bit of repetition.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jwdd27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    147
    43
    36
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Having visited this restaurant many times, we returned again on Wednesday 10th July expecting the same excellent sevice from friendly staff.We were told by a rather arrogant young man to take the table for 2 pointed out to us .We took our seats and soon realised we were beneath an air conditioning unit going flat out so asked the waiter if we could move to a less draughty spot. He said the tables for two had to be taken first, even though the place was half empty. We pointed out another table which he reluctantly let us take.Whilst there , several more couples were ushered to the same area and at least five of them left,one couple were too cold to wait for the meal they had ordered. Wednesday 10th July was of course a cold, overcast and drizzly day and the air con. never did get turned off ! Nobody asked if the meal was ok, it was not as good as it used to be and had to be rushed otherwise it would have gone cold in no time.We did not leave a tip , unusual for us and will not be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bolero-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

After 2 nights of poor service here in Scarborough we decided to try The Fish Pan for a fish & chip dinner. It had come recommended & it did not let us down. We managed to get an upstairs table with a sea view - great! The service from start to finish was excellent & the staff very friendly. The food was excellent & plenty of it. Unfortunately I was so full I was unable to finish my desert. The total bill came to £21.80 for fish, chips, mushy peas, bread & butter, a pot of tea & a desert for 2 of us. An absolute bargain! Would definitely visit again if returning to Scarborough.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“not so good !”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

After reading reviews on TA...we decided to try fish and chips from the takeaway part of this restaurant. We ordered lightly battered haddock with chips.
The batter was not very good and the fish tasted just ok...the chips were disappointing and for the next 24 hours everything kept repeating on us.
Would not try this shop again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bonnieb197247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, but 25p for a sachet of sauce?”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We passed on the 25p a sachet sauce and went for the fish and chips with curry sauce instead. The giant haddock is cooked to order, a little bit overcooked but freshly done and the batter is good. The chips were done well, not the greatest I have had but were well worth giving a try and the curry sauce was delicious, it had a sweet taste to it. The service is fast, you order and pay at the till then take your slip to the guy serving. They are served in a tray, not paper and forks are free. Well worth giving them a try, we enjoyed them and will probably go again. There was a restaurant upstairs too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tigger32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Famous Fishpan also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Famous Fishpan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing