We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How a country house weekend should be!”
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Just returned from a New Year break at the Wrea Head. Couldn't fault it. Very welcoming and attentive staff; comfortable and clean bedrooms; very cosy lounge, library and conservatory with lovely views across the lawn; absolutely excellent food throughout the stay. The covering of snow made it all extra special! Definitely the best way to see in 2010! Big thank you to Ann and all her staff - you were excellent!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BinksyNr_York_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,738 - 1,744 of 1,928 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2009

After reading some reviews as with everywhere we stay i was litlle bit worried.
But i did not need to worry, the rooms are all diiferent some better than others as with any hotel you stay at!!
The manageress Anne and her staff compensate for any downfall of the hotel that you might find with their helpfull nothing is to much attitude!!
The food is nothing out of this world but good, if you are staying b&b and eve meal its worth paying the supplement to the menu. If you are looking for a quite place to stay this is for you. I would have liked a bit more of a party place as the staff would agree (Had a bit of fun banter with them wich seemed refreshing to them) all in all would go back for a romantic eve with the wife again.
p.s thanks anne and all your staff including the night porter who was a cracking bloke!
Mr and Mrs P Nichol

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAPPYHOLIDAY64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the Wrea Head on the 4th/5th december 09
This was our 4th visit to this hotel , fantastic location .
We stopped on bed breakfast and evening meal basis and the food all weekend was exceptional.
The staff were superb ,friendly and helpful at all times.
Ann the manager is a superb host , friendly and absolutely delightful.
Scalby is a great village 10 min walk away.
Scarborough / Whitby are all nearby , great scenary.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laz1823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for an extended weekend and to explore the Yorkshire countryside and Moors. We had an extremely peaceful, relaxing stay with friendly, courteous and attentive staff. The food was delicious with a good selection menu and the ambience of the house was absolutely delightful. Highly recommended for a chill-out getaway - great location for walks and to explore the beautiful Yorkshire countryside. We loved it!
Patrick Barnes & Yaso Shan

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pumpkin-Pigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

We had stayed at this Hotel twice before and each time we it was a good experience.The food was really good, the staff as ever were friendly and helpfull,the hotel is in a lovelly setting .The manageress has always ensured us a memorable weekend.Hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancerWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2009

Stayed many times at the WreaHead Hotel and always experienced a warm welcome from the Hotel manager Anne and all her staff. Beautifully sited with lovely grounds and a reassuring classic styled restauant serving lovely food.
Never stay anywhere else when in this area.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LawlorBiertonBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2009

I have visited this hotel on several occasions in Winter, Spring, Summer and Autumn and never found it to be less than outstanding.
The service at reception, in the bar and in the restaurant cannot be faulted, the staff are friendly (you're in Yorkshire!), professional, attentive and efficient.

Rooms are fine, bear in mind that this is an Edwardian Country House, the rooms are spotlessly clean with period decor and furniture, beds are comfortable, bathrooms well equipped. But my advice is not to spend too much time in the room other than for sleepig and changing, the public part of the hotel is the place to be. Panelled rooms and a roaring fire.in winter, a beautiful terrace and gardens when the weather is nice.

Close (but not too close) to the seaside town of Scarborough with it's beaches and livley atmosphere. Also close to the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors and the Dalby forest, THe Wrea Head Hotel is an ideal base for exploring some of the finest coast and countryside in the UK.

The restaurant serves excellent food too and their amazing 'Full English Breakfast' which will last you all day is worth particular praise.

We are planning our next visits already.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenzelYorkEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,947 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 26 in Scarborough
1,605 reviews
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
932 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 26 in Scarborough
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: $116 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing