We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what we were looking for...excellence!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
madrid
1 review
“Exactly what we were looking for...excellence!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

My fiance and i have been searching for the perfect place to get married and we stayed at The Wrea Head hotel last March and were pleased to say that our searching ended there. The place was exactly what we have been looking for....the food was delicious and the service impeccable! Anne Hodgson the manager attended to our every need...a fantastic lady, full of warmth and really made our weekend special! thankyou so much for a delightful stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kurrukurru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,382
    313
    76
    24
    12
See reviews for
204
1,254
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2009

Very warm welcome received. Relaxing, enjoyable stay in beautiful surroundings

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jntwake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2009

Anne and the staff at Wrea Head made this a truly memorable stay, wonderful service, fantastic food and a lovely room mean that we'll be going back very soon indeed. Scarborough's top hotel by a mile

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsBantam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2009

Wrea Head Hotel is in the mould of the classic 1980's country house hotel - full of swags and tails. Our bedroom #2 was a superior room with very nice views overlooking the lawns and sheep filled field. It was slightly dated and with "restricted" floor space.
Putting that to one side the whole experience at this hotel was excellent.
Our bedroom and all the areas of the hotel that we visited were immaculately clean.
The staff always had a smile for the guests and were courteous and helpful at all times. Always unfair to single out any individuals but top marks go to Ann and Fran (Francis).
Very nice breakfasts in the "hearty" catagory with excellent high quality ingredients, wide choice of cereals and alternatives to the traditional "English".
3 course dinner with a choice of 4/5 dishes per course which were again well prepared and beautifully presented with a different menu each evening. Only possible criticism might be the high supplement on certain dishes. Good wine list with good house wines.
We particularly liked the availability of several reception rooms, each with a roaring fire and its own special atmosphere.
We were on a "special" deal for 4 nights and will certainly make a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_rwholidayhoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2009

Excellent location, excellent food, beautiful old house with fantastic public rooms and a general manager that seems to be everywhwere all of the time, great place for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HTBNth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2009

This hotel is in an ideal location for the coast, moors and forests, set at the end of a sweeping drive with lovely grounds. there is even a distant view of the sea.
The rooms are individually and stylishly decorated and very comfortable.
The customer really matters at this hotel and the manageress, Ann leads by example. She even remembers every guests name. The bar staff and waiters are friendly and efficient. All the public rooms are well furnished and comfortable. The menu provides a good choice and the food is well cooked and nicely presented. I would say thet the full English breakfast was the best I have ever had in an hotel.
This is certainly an hotel to recommend. I just hope we can get a room there next time we want to visit Yorkshire.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connie0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2009

We have just returned from 2 nights at the hotel with our baby daughter. I have to say that they made our stay with her perfect. From serving our dinner in the library so as not to disturb her (and the other guests!) through to putting the steamer in the microwave... nothing was too much trouble. The manager is a shining example of what great service looks like......and her staff follow this in every way. All staff were very friendly. We have stayed in hotels with 5 stars which were not as accomodating or as well run as this....so we will be returning. Many thanks

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VicandJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,623 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
3.3 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Property: Wrea Head Hall
Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing