We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay”
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
1 review
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed March 14, 2009

We had booked a suite and the rooms were better than we had anticipated. We dined in the hotel restaurant both evenings of our stay and, with the breakfasts, the meals could not be bettered. The hotel is located in beautiful countryside but only just outside Scarborough which is a mile or so down the hill. The gardens of the hotel are beautiful. If you're going for a quiet stay you wouldn't have to leave the hotel and its grounds if you didn't want to.
The manageress magnificently led a discreet and competent staff who were helpful and attentive throughout.
Excellent all round.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandTplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,396
    314
    76
    24
    13
See reviews for
207
1,266
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LIncolnshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2009

We are a retired couple, & opted for a (fairly) local break to celebrate 42 years of wedded bliss. We are familiar with the Scarborough area & some of the hotels, but on this occasion was guided by Tripadvisor reviews ---- excellent idea!
The location, staff, food and the room were all excellent (& even the weather was kind). We would thoroughly recommend. Slightly outside the remit, but we would like to single out Ann for special mention.
We'll be back!
Stan & Dawn --- Lincolnshire.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sapspec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2009

stayed last weekend of February for 3 nights had a good deal throught express travel, don't know how they did it for the price, beautiful place, lovely food, excellent manageress, only niggling thing was the shower, bit hit and miss but it is an old house.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samuelsWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield derbyshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2009

mr mrs jackson chesterfield excelent, great staff ., very comfortable rooms and well decorated . first class service and food

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank painter19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garforth
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2009

The service and staff was excellent. The room was beautiful and spotless. In a quiet location where you are only 4 miles from scarborough city centre. We enjoyed everything about it, the position and the food was completely first class. Altogether we had a lovely break and thought the hotel was superb.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieandShirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

We stayed for one night at the Wrea Head and were loathed to leave in the morning. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, the room was lovely and the food very nice.

We will definately be going back again

Tom Marshall

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorac_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIGAN
Level Contributor
154 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2009

Just returned from a 2 day Dinner, Bed & Breakfast break. Lovely Hotel, Staff very helpful, Good Food, Perfect situation for visiting Filey, Scarborough, Whitby and, if you can find it, Hemsley. Would return.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer74Wigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,752 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
3.3 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Property: Wrea Head Hall
Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing