We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Graet Place to Chill out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Graet Place to Chill out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2008

This hotel was not our first choice. I booked the Hackness a sister hotel and after checking Trip Advisor I was very concerned about some of the reports.

As this was a special get away for us before xmas I didn't want any hic ups.

I contacted the company English Rose Hotels via e-mail and asked if someone could come back to me.

This they did a Ms Joan Turner MD for the company. She was very understanding and listened to my concerns. She fully understood my concerns and offered alternitives. withno extra charges and none raised.

I chose to stay at Wrea Head. We were not disapointed from walking into the Hotel to leaving the staff could not do enough for you. They were very friendly without being over familier and nothing was to much trouble.

I would deffinatley recommend this hotel to anyone who was looking to stay in this area of North Yorkshire.

It was a good bargin deal just what the doctor ordered. The food was very good the Celebration Pack was well worth teh money the flowers were spectacular and the Champers got the break off to a cracking start.

I wish it had snowed that bit harder I would have stayed.

Well done to all staff for making our stay special

Mr R Morgan

Sheffield

  • Liked — Room View and good attentive staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pennypiece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,363
    312
    76
    24
    12
See reviews for
202
1,242
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2008

We've visited the Wrea Head several times and find it relaxing in a wonderful setting - lovely to see the bunnies early morning on the lawn! The service is good and the food is excellent - the dinner bed & breakfast deal is very good value. If you like real fires, panelled rooms in which to spend time with your friends and an excellent base for Whitby, Scarborough and surrounds, try the Wrea Head.
Heather & Ivor

  • Liked — the decor and log fires
  • Disliked — not all the rooms are equal in desireability
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heatherSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2008

This is the second time we have stayed at the Wrea Head and both occasions have provided us with what we wanted - a couple of days rest and relaxation, to get away from the usual hurley burley called life! All is what you would expect of this standard of hotel, rooms good, clean, well furbished. Food is excellent - cold was cold and hot was hot!
The staff, from Anne, the Manager, to the waiters et al were friendly and helpful; nothing was too much trouble.
Our only problem is do we stick with the Wrea Head, or try one of the other English Rose Hotels - what a dilema!!
Thanks Anne for a grand couple of days.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — TV
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philandchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2008

Lovely cosy hotel, big sofas to relax in, no standing at the bar, attentive staff to look after you. Very nice bedroom, comfortable beds, tea, coffee and biccies, radio and TV, (no Sky or digital). Good sized bathroom and plenty of hot water.
Good quality food, well prepared, £8.95 supplement for ribeye steak a bit steep. A bowl of extra vegetables and some new potatoes would turn a good dinner into an excellent one. Wine from about £13, and bar drinks, a pint of beer and a tonic water £4.80.
Breakfast good, and I like the idea of helping yourself to toast. Fruit, cereal, and cooked breakfast to order, also continental option available.
The staff are well trained and appear to be interested in their jobs, all were very friendly and helpful, especially the Manageress and the lovely young man who served us at dinner.
This hotel belongs to the English Rose Hotel chain, but it is more like a family run establishment, rather than a chain. Very well cared for, spotlessly clean, will certainly return.

  • Liked — location and comfort
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2008

Stayed for 3 nights with my husband, this was my 3rd visit. Had a wonderful relaxed stay. Our room was lovely, warm and clean and the views over the grounds were beautiful. Staff were very polite and friendly, they worked very hard and gave a warm and excellent service. The food was excellent. The building itself is beautiful and the lit fires in the lounge area on the cool May evenings made it a perfect end to the day. Looking forward to our next visit. Deb and Howard ( Bolton Lancs )

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank borabolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2008

we have stayed in several of the white rose hotels over the last 2 years.,and this is by far the best. Anne the manageress is so helpful and friendly as are all her staff. the food is exellent, the deserts are to die for.
The building is interesting too,it has bags of character,also the views are stunning,if you are planning a trip to this area Ican strongly reccommend it.

The only negative is that some of the rooms are looking a little tired and in need of decoration, still good value though on special offers.

JULIE & KEVIN SKELLEY

  • Liked — THE SETTING/LOCATION & FRIENDLINESS OF STAFF
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOLLIES_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveller
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2008

Had to fight my way in through 4 guys smoking in the porch. Arrived at Reception and was ignored while the Receptionist (who turned out to be the Restaurant Mgr) took another couple up to their room. Eventually (porter lost his way)shown to a room with a stunning view - of a brick wall 2 metres away, No info in room about meal times, hotel facilities etc. Had to get into the shower sideways as the wash basin prevented the shower door from opening. Was upgraded the next day to a room with a better view but with scuffed and dirty paintwork, mould around the bath and a TV that was not tuned in.

Next day: Newspaper request had not been logged so no newspaper and Reception not interested. Interesting breakfast - toast was DIY and involved leaving the restaurant, walking down the corridor, turning a corner, walking past the front door and battling with an inefficient toaster before returning via the same route with the now cold toast to finish breakfast.

Service from the young staff was exemplary but the old hands were not interested. Went into the bar at 7,15 for a pre dinner drink and Restaurant Mgr was deep in paper work. Asked for a glass of wine and was told (without looking up) hat he would bring it - which he did 10 mins later and after 2 reminders despite an otherwise empty bar!
Curtailed my visit and left the next morning.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank RubyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,512 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
3.3 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Property: Wrea Head Hall
Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing