We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely country house hotel”
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely country house hotel”
Reviewed November 19, 2008

Lovely cosy hotel, big sofas to relax in, no standing at the bar, attentive staff to look after you. Very nice bedroom, comfortable beds, tea, coffee and biccies, radio and TV, (no Sky or digital). Good sized bathroom and plenty of hot water.
Good quality food, well prepared, £8.95 supplement for ribeye steak a bit steep. A bowl of extra vegetables and some new potatoes would turn a good dinner into an excellent one. Wine from about £13, and bar drinks, a pint of beer and a tonic water £4.80.
Breakfast good, and I like the idea of helping yourself to toast. Fruit, cereal, and cooked breakfast to order, also continental option available.
The staff are well trained and appear to be interested in their jobs, all were very friendly and helpful, especially the Manageress and the lovely young man who served us at dinner.
This hotel belongs to the English Rose Hotel chain, but it is more like a family run establishment, rather than a chain. Very well cared for, spotlessly clean, will certainly return.

  • Liked — location and comfort
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,408
    314
    76
    24
    13
See reviews for
207
1,275
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bolton
2 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2008

Stayed for 3 nights with my husband, this was my 3rd visit. Had a wonderful relaxed stay. Our room was lovely, warm and clean and the views over the grounds were beautiful. Staff were very polite and friendly, they worked very hard and gave a warm and excellent service. The food was excellent. The building itself is beautiful and the lit fires in the lounge area on the cool May evenings made it a perfect end to the day. Looking forward to our next visit. Deb and Howard ( Bolton Lancs )

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank borabolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2008

we have stayed in several of the white rose hotels over the last 2 years.,and this is by far the best. Anne the manageress is so helpful and friendly as are all her staff. the food is exellent, the deserts are to die for.
The building is interesting too,it has bags of character,also the views are stunning,if you are planning a trip to this area Ican strongly reccommend it.

The only negative is that some of the rooms are looking a little tired and in need of decoration, still good value though on special offers.

JULIE & KEVIN SKELLEY

  • Liked — THE SETTING/LOCATION & FRIENDLINESS OF STAFF
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOLLIES_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveller
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2008

Had to fight my way in through 4 guys smoking in the porch. Arrived at Reception and was ignored while the Receptionist (who turned out to be the Restaurant Mgr) took another couple up to their room. Eventually (porter lost his way)shown to a room with a stunning view - of a brick wall 2 metres away, No info in room about meal times, hotel facilities etc. Had to get into the shower sideways as the wash basin prevented the shower door from opening. Was upgraded the next day to a room with a better view but with scuffed and dirty paintwork, mould around the bath and a TV that was not tuned in.

Next day: Newspaper request had not been logged so no newspaper and Reception not interested. Interesting breakfast - toast was DIY and involved leaving the restaurant, walking down the corridor, turning a corner, walking past the front door and battling with an inefficient toaster before returning via the same route with the now cold toast to finish breakfast.

Service from the young staff was exemplary but the old hands were not interested. Went into the bar at 7,15 for a pre dinner drink and Restaurant Mgr was deep in paper work. Asked for a glass of wine and was told (without looking up) hat he would bring it - which he did 10 mins later and after 2 reminders despite an otherwise empty bar!
Curtailed my visit and left the next morning.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank RubyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2008

We had a fantastic time at this hotel, the building which stems from 1880s has so much charm with awesome views we could not ask for more. the service we had from the staff was out of this world, the best we have had for a long long time.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank christopherpaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2008

We orignally booked the Hackness Grange hotel for our 3 night break, but after reading reviews we changed our plans and went for The Wrea Head instead. We were not dissappointed with our
decision. When we arrived we were lead to our room which was a nice size and very clean! The staff were helpful and pleasant. We took our six year old daughter with us and were surprised at how good the staff were with her.
We did notice a dead moth on the table going up the stairs which remain there for two days but apart from that the hotel was very clean and comfortable.
The food choice was limited unless you paid a supplement but what was served was wonderful.
I would definately stay there again and would also recommend it to people. We have stayed in alot of hotels over the years and for a 3star hotel this was very lovely hotel within a lovely setting.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebonieManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2008

Stayed here for one night. The setting is really nice although we had difficulty parking as there was a wedding on when we were arrived.
The room was fine if a little tired looking with stains on the carpet. There were at least 50 (I gave up counting) dead flies in between the outer window and the inner window. This was inexcusable as the inner window slid back and could easily be cleaned. Room 19 if you read this - hotel management! The shower went hot and cold depending on who was using the water in the hotel.
The 3 course meal for £30 was very nice in very pleasant surroundings but there was little choice unless you wanted to pay a supplement, for example, £3.95 for smoked salmon starter or £6.95 extra for scampi main meal!!!
The same applied to the breakfast. £2.95 extra for a kipper fillet. Please note that it was one fillet swimming in butter and not fresh local kippers as you would expect.
Staff were very attentive and pleasant.
Overall I feel that the price of £120 for a 3* was not that good value for money but then I do feel that Scarborough is overpriced as a whole.

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — dead flies in the room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,789 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
832 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,996 reviews
3.3 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
482 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Property: Wrea Head Hall
Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing