We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect short break”
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect short break”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had two nights and two evening meals in this charming old house and are full of praise for the accommodation and the staff. Our standard room on the second floor was quaint, freshly decorated and perfectly comfortable with bath and shower The lovely old window looked out down the long view over magnificent mature flowering rhododendrons with a cricket match in the middle ground and Scarborough in the background. The food was exquisite, especially the evening meals which were interesting, freshly prepared and beautifully presented. We got a special offer which included afternoon cream tea and was outstandingly good value for such a high standard of accommodation

Room Tip: Ours was one of the smaller rooms, but was perfectly satisfactory. Due to the rambling nature of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,396
    314
    76
    24
    13
See reviews for
207
1,266
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elloughton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely two night stay at this gem of a hotel. A very comfortable and spotlessly clean bedroom. Excellent service from all staff who go out of their way to be accommodating.Good quality and quantity of all food at all meals. We enjoyed the nice touch of afternoon tea on arrival and again the following afternoon. The location is quiet and peaceful in scenic grounds. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were shown Room 8 which we would like to book next time. It certainly has the WOW factor with stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DennyElloughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2014

What an absolutely stunning hotel this is! In fabulous surroundings, views are breathtaking. The rooms were gorgeous, we stayed in a deluxe double that had recently been refurbished. Amazing! The rest of the hotel is having a facelift too & almost done. Staff very friendly & helpful. Would recommend this for a peaceful, relaxing break, away from it all. Excellent!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salhajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We visited Wrea Head Hall for my wife's birthday. Arriving for afternoon tea, scones with jam & clotted cream & tea, excellent. Having been shown to our room, superior No.15, we had a look around the grounds & the views, a very pleasant setting. The evening meal was very good & tasty, with excellent service. Our breakfast was " out of this world " excellent Eggs Benedict, plus all the trimmings. I know that we were on a deal night stay, but I would have been happy to pay the going rate. We SHALL BE BACK.

Room Tip: Choose a " refurbished room "
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mal167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Such a wonderful hotel very warm welcome from Anne and staff this hotel will certainly be one to visit again and again. Beautiful building with loads of character , good food and excellent service . We thought it was value for money thank you Steve and Angie .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Returned for a 3 night stay ( last visited November 2013 ) and the experience was even better than it was previously. Room 15 as good as ever , the food just as , if not more , a culinary delight and the gardens were looking lovely. Many thanks to Anne and the rest of the team for making us welcome , running a super restaurant and keeping the room clean.
We shall return.

Room Tip: go for a renovated room as the quality is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robroyBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
288 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel has been very well restored in the areas so far carried out, the main public rooms have a grand feel about them at the same time as being comfortable. Not all of the rooms and bedroom corridors have yet been done but we were lucky enough to have a refurbished room (20). The room was very good, a comfortable bed (firm but that suited us), very nice décor and a good quality bathroom. There was no bath only a walk in shower, which was again fine by us, as it was lovely. We were on the second floor and had a nice quite room, although over looking the roof, it was not a problem. The gardens are also very well maintained with some nice sitting out areas on the terrace or in the conservatory to enjoy the sunshine.

Dinner, we found disappointing. The presentation was good but somehow none of the dishes we had seemed to live up to the expectations the presentation suggested. It wasn't bad, just not great, it didn't seem to work for us. It clearly wasn't freshly prepared and involved a certain amount of re-heating, which is not a problem if that's what you are expecting, but we had expected more based on the surroundings and menu. A cold sauce and cool pork belly for one of us on our last night didn't help, though we were offered a drink in compensation. Breakfast was generally fine, though the boiled eggs were pretty close to raw.

The service is, swift, far too swift for us. Orders for dinner are generally taken in the bar, having been seated a short while later, the starter arrives immediately and then without pause for breath the mains arrive, 40 minutes for dinner gave us a feeling of being rushed through. The service is however friendly, although perhaps a little formal.

We would go back if in the area again as the hotel and setting are lovely and generally offer very good value, we would just avoid the dinner option unless there is a change in the kitchen.

Room Tip: The refurbished rooms are lovely cant say what the old ones are like though
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis_England_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,752 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
3.3 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Property: Wrea Head Hall
Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing