We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wrea Head Hall
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Brindley(Scarborough)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boston Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Delmont Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Bay Norbreck Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,988)
Filter reviews
1,988 results
Traveler rating
1,540
333
76
26
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,540
333
76
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscountry houseindulgence menuroll top bathnew ownersthe general managerfour poster bedthe hotel managerbeautiful hotelpublic roomslog firestandard roomdining roomnight breakevening mealnorth yorkshirekippersrelaxing stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
910 - 915 of 1,988 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We love this hotel - we have visited it for romantic weekends for nearly 10 years & it never disappoints. The hotel is beautiful, the service faultless, the food excellent all overseen by the marvellous manager Anne for whom nothing is too much trouble! So much so that we are returning in the summer to celebrate my 50th birthday and my mothers 70th and bringing all the family with us. Really looking forward to our next visit already!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Windows123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We booked the Wrea Hotel for a family get together before Christmas and our stay could not have been better. We knew we were in for a treat as we approached the hotel through private grounds and the beautiful setting drew gasps from everyone in the car! Following a very warm welcome we explored the building and grounds – the hotel has retained much of its architectural heritage with stone walls and gorgeous large windows, the rooms downstairs are very luxurious and beautifully furnished and decorated. Our bedroom also exceeded our expectations – with a king size bed and an amazing, white tiled bathroom. We also decided to eat dinner in the hotel and the family group of more than 20 were treated to a private dining room. The three course dinner was delicious and the experience overall was heightened by the beautiful and intimate surroundings. Unfortunately we had only booked for one night and we wished it could have been longer – after a cooked breakfast the next morning we said our farewells to the staff – all of whom had been very friendly and attentive to our every need during our visit. As we drove away and the hotel disappeared from sight we started to think about our return visit. One of the best hotel experiences we have ever encountered, I could not recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We went for another overnight stay at Wrea Head and again all was superb. Ann and Gerry made our visit lovely as usual and the chef provided food which was original and excellent.
The ongoing refurb is good and wasn't a problem. Our room was good although I should have preferred a bath but to be fair I hadn't asked for one. Very comfortable bed.
Our friends had a room that hasn't yet been refurbed, had a bath and a wonderful view but a bathroom light which kept turning on and off! No doubt it will be gorgeous when it's done.
It's so good that someone is putting money into this wonderful old house and not letting it fall into ruin - that would have been such a shame. Thanks Gerry!
Hopefully we'll be there again before too long!

Room Tip: If you prefer a room with a bath rather than a shower, it's best to ask as the rooms differ. Best to ask for a view too if that's important to you.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissie016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed at Wrea Head for one night on 26 January and, although we arrived extremely early due to unforeseen circumstances on our journey, Ann Hodgson, the manager gave us a very warm welcome and immediately made us feel at ease. Even though we were only staying over on the Sunday evening, she had upgraded us to Room 14, which was a superb, cosy room with lovely views over the grounds, despite the wet and windy weather. Dinner that evening was of the highest standard and everything was delicious and well served, as was breakfast the following morning. Although renovation works are on going at the hotel we were never aware of it in an intrusive way. In fact, when we left our room to go down for breakfast on Monday morning we were amazed to be greeted by cheery hello's from a group of busy but unheard workmen at the end of our corridor. We would certainly recommend the hotel and look forward to returning again for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tavola22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times when part of the English Hotel group which sadly went out of business. I am pleased to say the new owners of the hotel (12 months ago) are making remarkable progress in the complete refurbishment of the entire building, they are having a whole new roof fitted at the moment along with refurbishing all the bedrooms (work in progress) they have already completed the lounge bar area and the 1881dining room to a very high standard.
I had one of the bedrooms (17) in the west wing which had been updated by the last owners and was very comfortable. The dining room is a pleasant experience with very good quality food and they still use table cloths which makes such a difference.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly refurbished bedrooms with a view if possable
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billmitchison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews