We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"A perfect piece of history"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“"A perfect piece of history"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have just returned from our 1st short break at Wrea Head, it was well worth the visit and we weren`t disappointed, the food was excellent and presented to a high standard in a warm and comfortable environment.
The rooms were warm and comfortable and finished to a high standard, we had room 8 which had great views over the grounds. Although the hotel is currently being refurbished throughout,we had the chance to view rooms 15 and 16 which have just been finished, they were both fantastic and are a must if you want to spoil yourself and live the royal life for a short time !! The staff were polite, efficient and extremely friendly making our stay more like staying with friends rather than a hotel, Well done to Ann and her team, nothing was too much trouble.
We look forward to our next visit and to see the next stage in the developments of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you like a view, rooms 2 and 8 will be great as you can see across the estate and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,357
    312
    76
    24
    12
See reviews for
202
1,237
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Spent the weekend at Wrea Head it has new owners since we were last there and the bar and restaurant and some of the rooms have been refurbished. Ann and her staff make you feel really welcome. The food is very well presented and I don't think I've had a better breakfast anywhere. This country house hotel is really worth a visit

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room they are a little extra but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEZ4ANDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Our 3rd visit in 12 months , we spent the night on the 28th September (a Saturday/Sunday) , as previous visits were on less popular nights and more out of season we had lower expectations , however both the service and quality of food were still excellent leaving us feeling like "special" house-guests. The hotel and grounds retain the country house feel , a great place for a short break any time of the year. Robin Hood's bay and Whitby are a short drive away, circular routes are possible using the country lanes. This time we stayed in room 19, recently refurbished and were rewarded with stunning views and elegant surroundings , more than adequate compensation for the extra stairs. We ate off the "deal" menu, a diverse choice with something for everyone , generous portions and again breakfast was excellent. We will be planning further visits, never having been disappointed .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from another visit to this excellent hotel. Since we last visited, the hotel has new owners and there are clear signs of fresh investment both in the public areas and a number of refurbished rooms. What hasn't changed is the warm welcome from all staff and the fine quality of meals. Given the ideal setting of the house and grounds it is good base from which to explore the area. Particular mention must be made of the two principal managers, Anne and Jack, for whom nothing is too much trouble ensuring an enjoyable stay in this quality hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
353 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Impressive Victorian hall set in its own grounds just a few miles outside Scarborough. Splendid public areas with high ceilings and many original features.

Many of the guest rooms have been refurbished (and look very nice). We booked very late in the day, so our rooms (11 & 12) had not yet had a makeover. They were comfortable enough, though very hot (Room 11 has hot water pipes running around the room so you can't adjust the heat, we requested a fan). Room 12 is the room with no view mentioned in other reviews, so will always be last choice.

Restaurant was good with well put together dishes (chicken parfait and duck very good) and a nice wine list. Breakfast offered good choices and produce. Service was efficient throughout.

It's clearly popular, prices are reasonable but make sure you get a refurbished room.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiztheWhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

From the first visit to discuss a menu and arrange rooms for family & friends to the final settlement, we were assisted, accommodated and reassured. The staff were universally helpful both for hotel guests and family dinner guests. Nothing went wrong, not an insignificant achievement bearing in mind the clientele. Our celebratory dinner was superb, the wine excellent and the service slick enough to be unobserved. The setting is exquisite and I would defy anyone to improve on the experience in a 'Country House Hotel". I have no complaints whatsoever and would recommend the Wrea Head to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
339 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here last night as we were attending a function close by. We could not have picked a better place to stay. The hotel is set in the countryside with great views. Ample parking.
The staff we met were all courteous and friendly.
The hotel bar is well set out with a good drinks selection. We were able to get a drink on our return back to the hotel at 1am!!!!!!!!
Our room was one that has not been refurbished but was perfect for our one night use. The bathroom was well laid out with a decent size bath.
The Wi Fi coverage was very good in our room.
We only sampled breakfast whilst stopping but we found it to be well cooked using quality produce.
We certainly intend visiting again very soon and look forward to sampling the evening meal. This could result in an even higher rating being given.
This hotel is ideally situated for anyone visiting the North Yorkshire Coast and Moors.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,497 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Property: Wrea Head Hall
Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing