We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon stay”
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A lovely hotel with nice rooms and excellent food. The standard room we stayed on the first night was small but the upgraded room was excellent after that. The hotel is on a rolling plan of refurb so will be of excellent quality throughout. Short distance from the town and with plenty of parking. Air con in the smaller rooms would help on hot nights.
The breakfast and dinner was lovely.

Room Tip: Room 1 was excellent but wil be expensive.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,971)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

982 - 988 of 1,971 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just returned from an excellent weekend stay at Wrea Head; it is easy to understand why this has been voted No 1 of the hotels in Scarborough by Tripadvisor. It has it all: delightful landscape setting, impressive former country house, thoughtfully decorated, good food, attentive staff. I must have been there at the same time as Helen J (see her review) and I do not recognise her comments about the staff. I thought all of them performed exceptionally well and Anne, the manager, is a star, and certainly to be congratulated for the way she oversees every aspect of the establishment.
If, like me, interior decoration is important to you, then this hotel has the advantage of illustrating almost all its bedrooms on its website so you know precisely what to expect. The recently decorated public rooms are stylishly modern, while still being true to the late-nineteenth century flavour of the place, and some of the up-graded bedrooms have a real 'wow' factor.
My wife and I will certainly be back - we cannot wait to sit by an open fire in the beautiful hall sipping a pre-dinner drink on a winter's evening.
So, do give this hotel a try, I doubt you will be disappointed, I just don't want it to get so popular I cannot find a vacancy for my next planned trip!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 501Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the hotel Saturday evening of the 31st August on a B & B basis. The cost for the room was £130.
We had the worst night sleep ever. The room was such a small room, barely accommodating a double bed and had no view to boast, other than a rooftop. It was so warm during the night, even with the window open we simply could not sleep.
There wasn't even complimentary bottled water at our disposal.
On the plus side the food was delicious and staff were very friendly, extremely well presented and well mannered. This said we were referred to as Mr and Mrs which we are not! I wanted to offer my comments via a feedback form, or even be asked by the reception staff how our stay was. But unfortunately this wasn't an option.
Although I appreciate booking a hotel via the internet as opposed to direct with the hotel, there is little room for manouvre.

I feel the fee of £130 for this room was way overpriced, which is a shame as the hotel and grounds are beautiful.

Room Tip: Dont choose room 11!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valente50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed at Wrea Head Hall over the weekend (30th August - 1st sept). First impressions are very good, the hotel and grounds are beautiful from the outside, there is sufficient parking and easy access. We had spoken to Anne on the telephone before arriving to confirm details of a room change and early check in (both were accommodated without any hassle) and it was Anne who check us in when we arrived. All of the staff we met during our stay were polite, chatty and helpful, nothing was too much trouble - no training needed despite what some other reviews say. The room was large, clean and had a beautiful view even though it wasn't a recently renovated one like some of the others. We had breakfast both mornings and enjoyed it very much. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauradanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Disappointing visit for us and did not meet expectations, checking in staff uninterested. Good luck however as in the future the renovations will make this a stunning hotel. Avoid the venison chocolate sauce and spicey cabbage, in edible, but the seafood risotto is lovely. Need to invest in hospitality trained staff and not rely on what appeared to be relatives/friends?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald A, Owner at Wrea Head Hall, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at Wrea Head Hall, I am pleased that you liked the refurbishment work that we are undertaking to restore the building. I am concerned to read your other comments as they do not meet with the experiences of our other guests or the 900 who have taken the time to place a review on TA. We do remember your visit to our restaurant well as we had already had a complement from another guest that the same dish was outstanding that is why we spent time asking you what it was that was wrong with the dish as it seemed strange to have such conflicting comments on the same night, Your said that the Venison was cooked perfectly but you found the sauce strong and the cabbage over spiced, Chef tasted the dish and did not find anything incorrect. As for the staff the majority have been in the hospitality industry for many years, we do have a number of junior staff as any restaurant or Hotel would have during the summer months but all are trained before entering our restaurant. As for reception we would normally take time to discus people’s daily activity on arrival unless we happened to be dealing with a number of different things at the same time but this is a very rare occurrence again reflected in other people’s comments. We do take a lot of pride in trying to provide a high level of service so I am disappointed you felt we had failed to do so on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel is excellent! I stayed with my wife and our two teenage sons for a week and it was just fantastic. Our rooms (1 superior, 1 standard) were not yet refurbished, but still very comfortable. The food in restaurant 1881, breakfast and dinner, is very well cooked and served. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Definitely a place to return to.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchFam_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

A charming and welcoming hotel in a simply beautiful setting. Rooms are first class and you are able to choose availablity via the web site having a view of each room on offer - great idea.
Food was excellent and impeccably served. Well done the Management Team.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STAMFORD c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 26 in Scarborough
1,678 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
5,005 reviews
2 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,186 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 26 in Scarborough
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: $124 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing