We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Alison49
York

Delicious

Review of Wrea Head Hall
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 16, 2008
One early winter Saturday morning we arrived in Scalby looking for breakfast. As non residents we were made to feel most welcome, so decided to return to enjoy a proper stay. We returned on our own for a weekend and later with the family.

There is always a warm welcome, especially with the large real fire and delicious food. Requests have been quickly attended to, whether a change of rooms or a sudden snack lunch for six, because rain changed plans.

We look forward to many more stays and meals.

NB for owners.
A great time to repair the greenhouses and grow your own ingredients!
Date of stay: May 2008
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesCheck in / front desk
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$86
Go to your Happy Price
  • Travelodge
    $70
  • Agoda.com
    $71
  • Trip.com
    $85
2.9 miles from Wrea Head Hall
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$71
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $75
  • Agoda.com
    $68
  • Hotels.com
    $75
3.0 miles from Wrea Head Hall
Free Wifi
Free parking
$91
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
1.9 miles from Wrea Head Hall
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Front of Building
$66
  • Expedia.com
    $69
  • Agoda.com
    $62
  • Trip.com
2.7 miles from Wrea Head Hall
Free parking
Pool
$96
  • Expedia.com
    $101
  • ZenHotels.com
    $92
  • Hotels.com
    $101
3.1 miles from Wrea Head Hall
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
$58
$53
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $58
  • Priceline
    $53
  • Trip.com
    $55
2.4 miles from Wrea Head Hall
Beachfront
Restaurant
$75
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
    $74
  • Agoda.com
    $74
3.2 miles from Wrea Head Hall
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$135
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $135
  • Agoda.com
    $134
  • eDreams
    $135
3.3 miles from Wrea Head Hall
Free Wifi
Free parking
$51
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $51
  • Agoda.com
    $44
  • Priceline
    $46
3.0 miles from Wrea Head Hall
Beachfront
Restaurant
View more hotels in Scarborough
Reviews (2,699)
Filter reviews
2,699 results
Traveler rating
2,158
400
93
33
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,158
400
93
33
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews country house roll top bath beautiful hotel the general manager four poster bed dining room evening meal night break relaxing break wonderful stay birthday treat superior room nothing is too much trouble public areas warm welcome short break lovely room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,658 - 2,663 of 2,699 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2008

We discovered this hotel about 4 years ago and have been back twice a year since then. Our last visit was to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday. Once again we weren't disappointed and everything (and More) was done to make sure we had a good time. We played croquet on the lawn (never played before) and the gardens are stunning this time of year. Food - excellent. Staff - very helpful. Rooms - had 3 recently refurbished ones. The hotel is full of oak panels and beautiful ceilings with a minstrels gallery overlooking one of the lounges. We'll definitely be back. The General Manager (Anne) was particularly helpful. We'll be back soon!

Date of stay: May 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lozerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

A lovely location, near to the resort of Scarborough, but just far enough out to be quiet and secluded. Surrounded by beautiful countryside and so quiet and peaceful.
Attractive public rooms, with lovely views over the Parkland in which the hotel sits.
First class food and service, with a fine menu and wine list .
The hotel has a manager who is genuinely interested in her guests and in making sure they are being looked after.

Date of stay: May 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie048
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 31, 2008

We stayed at the Wrea Head for three days and it was excellent, the service, food, standard of the rooms were first class and we would certainly recommend that to anyone looking for a hotel in the area that they contact Anne the manager before looking elsewhere.
The hotel is set in its own peaceful grounds( we actually saw a deer roaming across the lawn) which offers that little bit extra relaxation after a day visiting the many tourists sites that are in the area.
During our stay all the other guests we spoke to were of the same opinion as ourselves with regard to the high standard of sevice and the quality of the dining provided by the hotel.
No compliants at all, but don't take our word try for yourselves.

Date of stay: May 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shemick
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 30, 2008

This was our second 2 night stay at Wrea Head this year and neither time were we disappointed. This lovely country house hotel is in a prime location for exploring North Yorkshire. The building itself is quite impressive, full of character and overall tastefully furnished; and the grounds are rather lovely too. Both rooms we have stayed in were very clean, comfortable and warm (Room 2 was very nice).

One of Wrea Head's strongest points are the staff, including the manageress, who are all friendly, polite and very helpful. Nothing seems to be too much trouble. The service was very good and the food (another winning factor) was quite fantastic! The vegetarian option has always been interesting and extremely tasty, as were the gorgeous desserts i sampled.

I believe that there is always at least one negative (as nothing is perfect!), and the only thing i could find to fit the definition of 'negative' would be (as noted by another reviewer) the £4 price tag on a bottle of the ever-drinkable Black Sheep Ale. Despite this singular very small criticism, it must be said that Wrea Head is a truly great hotel and is certainly excellent value for money (especially when taking advantage of their offer rate!).

This hotel is definitely worth a visit...and another...and another...

Date of stay: May 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

Having just completed my third short stay in 2008 at the Wrea Head, it would be hard to find a better value hotel anywhere in England. The staff are characterful and attentive, the food outstanding (especially the desserts) and the setting, between the North Yorkshire national Park and the sea just north of Scarborough, is as good as it gets. As the building dates from the 19th century, some of the rooms are a little odd, but they normally try and find something that suits. If you are heading in the direction of the East Yorkshire Coast, head here!

Date of stay: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LocalLadYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews