We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrea Head revisited”
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Wrea Head revisited”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We first stayed at the Wrea Head Hotel in the early 1990s.after we had previously stayed in it's sister Hotel the Holbeck Hall in Scarboro,( before it fell into the sea!) they were both very old but beautiful Hotels. We decided to try the spring special offer from the Wrea Head to see how the place compared to 20 years ago, of course we checked on Tripadvisor first and read a few comments about it's state of disrepair and the ongoing refurbishments.
On arrival up the long driveway we found it just as beautiful as we'd remembered it and although there were plenty of signs of the refurb work being carried out, none of it was intrusive to our stay. The reception area had a poster explaining all about the work being done and the order in which it would be carried out which was very good. We were allocated Room 6 which had recently been finished, it was a really nice, spotlessly clean and well decorated room. My only complaint was that the door between us and room 5 was a flush door, it obviously led to their bathroom and wasn't exactly soundproof, probably why it's called a flush! we heard every sound from inside, especially at 7 in the morning when the splashing in the bath sounded like feeding time in Chester Zoo seal pool. The Hotel staff were very pleasant and well mannered, especially in the restaurant where the meals were excellent. Being a Yorkshireman I'm not too impressed at paying Hotel prices for drinks though, and a bill for over £10 for a pint of John Smiths and a glass of wine doesn't sit too well with me. There is a lot of work being done to bring the Hotel and Gardens back to it's former glory, the new owners who took over last year are to be commended for taking on such a big project, and once finished it will be an even more stunning and tranquil place to stay. I wouldn't let the refurbishment work put anyone off staying here because as I said it really is a beautiful place. The Library area and staircases are like the ones in stately homes, and the free WiFi worked well wherever we used it. Some of the photos on Tripadvisor are from last year anyway and not representative of the Hotel that we witnessed this week, it's a lovely old Hotel in a lovely setting and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room and if you are a light sleeper make sure it's fairly soundproofed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tigerman579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,439
    322
    76
    24
    13
See reviews for
211
1,305
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kingston upon hull
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

stayed in this hotel for four nights,on arival greeted in a frendly way,shown to room which was clean andgood size,good breckfast,set in nice well kept grounds near to cost and moors,dinner plenty to chose from on menu food and service excellent, a nice place to relax, whud recommend ,thank for a good stay with you

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frank c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed for one night in May 2013 whilst on business in the area and found it to be a relaxing quiet short stay and great value for money. The room was comfortable and clean with a lovely view out over the grounds, There is a great selection on the menu and the quality of food is to a high standard for both dinner and breakfast. I would recommend the hotel to anybody travelling in the area and the short distance out of Scarborough is well worth the trip to get to this little gem.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ibanez321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed for one night . Wish it could have been longer.The service was excellent, the room had a nice view over the gardens.The food was excellent and plenty of variety on the menu.Will
recommend this hotel and we will both use it again.

Room Tip: we upgraded to a room overlooking the gardens which was very peaceful. The bed was so comfy we both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenfingers1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights 28th and 29th April at this lovely Country House Hotel a short drive from Scarborough.

We were in room 16 which had been recently refurbished to a very high standard it was really nice with lovely views from the 2 windows.

We had dinner both evenings in the restaurant the food was outstanding, there was a good choice of menu and wine.

We would especially like to mention the breakfast waiter, Jack and Ann who gave us excellent service and made us feel very welcome.

The refurbished bar was fantastic.

Give this hotel a try you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: Go for a refurbished room its worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phil398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here in February for our second wedding anniversary. We got a fabulous all inclusive deal and were delighted. The hotel is in the process of being lovingly refurbished by new private owners who are working through room by room. The restoration and refurbishment did not affect us as at all. We were shown around some of the completed bedrooms and were enchanted. The lounge and bar were also completed and very nice. The food was great. The service was great and the manager very accommodating. The location was great for walking along the coast. We would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMG391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed one night in one of the refurbished rooms, with a roll top bath in the bedroom. The mullioned windows gave views over beautiful parkland, a very peaceful, restful location. The food and the sevice overall were excellent. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magsonjollies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,871 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
1,546 reviews
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
895 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Property: Wrea Head Hall
Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing