We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refurbs are great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Refurbs are great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Me and my husband went back last week to the Wrea Head for our 5/6th time. As usual the staff were all very friendly and welcoming and the food was absolutely delicious!! We met two lovely people who we spent an evening with and the new owner of Wrea Head joined the four of us. he was lovely and told us of his project with Wrea Head. Some of the rooms that are finished we saw and I can tell you these are stunning. I cant wait to see the finished project, if room 1 is anything to go by this is going to be one awesome hotel, the best in Scarborough - no doubt. thanks to Anne and her team, as usual we were treated as long lost friends. You must not miss out on these super deals in this super hotel, give it a try. We are planning to go back in April and I cant wait, especially as the weather should be a bit better and we will be able to see what they are up to in the grounds and gardens.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magicalholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,357
    312
    76
    24
    12
See reviews for
202
1,237
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Four generations of our family went to Wrea Head for my mothers birthday and we all had a fantastic time. The service was superb, Ann and her team are second to non. The hotel is set in lovely countryside yet close to both Scarborough and Whitby. The food is excellent and the hotels furnishings are both stylish yet homely, keeping the hotels original character. Would definately recommend to anyone wanting a holiday of indulgence.
The Knowles family

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Wrea Head Hall has secluded and peaceful surroundings and is the best place for chilling and relaxing. We love going there for many reasons: the staff there are so welcoming and friendly, especially Ann on reception, the rooms are beautifully appointed and enjoy spectacular views. The food is very well prepared and presented, and we always look forward to the evening meal. Whether it is relaxing by the inglenook fireplace, selecting a book from the library to read, or strolling through the grounds and enjoying the views you will find this at Wrea Head Hall. We have only been twice, but it will be somewhere we will want to return to again and again.

Room Tip: Had a peak view of room 4, a newly refurbished room with stunning views and luxurious bedroom furnis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I booked our weekend at Wrea head hall months ago as the reviews and the photos of this beautiful building were exactly the kind of place my wife loves. Once the weekend finally came our expectations were met in every way. It's not a place that we would normally stay at as seems too posh. But as a valentines treat it was such a romantic setting and the price wasn't bad at all.. The house is stunning and the owners are doing an outstanding job trying to keep the ambience of a country house feel.. We ate in the 1881 restaurant our first night and were made to feel special.. Again not used to this kind of service but lapped it up.. The room we had was room 11 which had been refurbished.. Quite a small room but pleasantly decorated and warm with great en suite.. There was no view but we knew this on booking and for what we paid we have no complaints.. This hotel woud be number 1 in Scarborough without a doubt if it wasn't for the odd negative review. If you're looking for a hotel in Scarborough this is the one.. Look at how many reviews this place has had (over 800) and it's still number 3 out of 29 and look at number 1.. Only had 40+ reviews.. It's not a true reflection and trip advisor should sort this out really as Wrea head isn't getting the credit it deserves... Number 1 in my book. Thanks for a lovely stay to all at Wrea head hall from Mr and Mrs Crookes

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaydablade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We received wonderful service from all the staff during our short stay. The hotel has beautiful grounds, and a variety of interesting artwork. The food was absolutely delicious (go for a dinner, b&b option if you can!), and the beds extremely comfortable. This is a great base to explore the surrounding countryside. Slightly let down by not having decent decaf coffee for after dinner - I'm hoping they will have rectified this before my next visit, as will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiojim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have just returned home after staying for a couple of nights at the Wrea Head Hotel. The whole experience is great from the moment you book in. The food is gorgeous & the staff are on hand to assist you. If you want a special experience book into room one you wont be dissapointed. Well done Gerry, Ann & staff. Mr Mrs Stott

Room Tip: Room one is a very special room but as there is a refurbishment happening its best to check with rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunting3851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Have been to this hotel many times for the only reason the staff are great and very helpful and attentive , the food at night was some of the best we have eaten whilst staying at similar venues and on arrival Ann on reception knowing it was my 60th birthday on the 9th feb greeted my husband and myself with her big smile and made me feel very special,the hotel was clean with beautiful decor and lots of character,the bar staff where great and the bar prices reasonable.the Wrea Head offers arguably one of the most beautiful settings surrounded by endless scenery of England's most beautiful county i would have no problems in recommending this hotel to anybody. my huband gave this hotel excellent rating overall but for what ever reason the rating showen was a poor one and asked tripadvisor to rectify this rating but nothing has been done so far.

Margaret.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,490 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Property: Wrea Head Hall
Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing