We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous place, wonderful service...”
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I had stayed here before, so we knew we were going to a nice hotel in a beautiful setting. But Wow! How things are changing. It feels like you're staying at a (very rich!) friends wonderful intimate country house.

The refurbishments are impressive. The original downstairs rooms with their fabulous wood panelling remain, and the hotel now beautifully mixes the traditional with the modern. We loved the bar - incredibly comfortable and stylish.

We were in Scarborough on business, so had booked into one of the unrefurbished rooms to keep costs down, but Anne (more about her later!) showed us other rooms which are spectacularly nice.

We had dinner both nights and it was first class. Fairly traditional choices, but perfect.
The attention from staff was spot on too. Anne could not be more helpful, friendly and attentive. We also had our son and our two young grandchildren with us (age 2 & 4), and Anne went out of her way to make us all feel comfortable. Even got the kitchen to make meals off menu for the little ones. The two owners also spent a lot of time telling us the history of the building and their plans for the future. Both are charming and friendly guys.

The deals that Wrea Head have from time to time are amazing.
We can't wait to return, when we hope to sample one of the fabulous new rooms!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzeNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,936)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,101 - 1,107 of 1,936 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here in November 2012 for 4 nights and loved our stay. The hotel is fantastic with all the staff so helpful and polite, the food superb and the room very comfortable
We planned to eat out most nights during our stay, but after dining here for the first night and finding the food and service so good we ate there 3 nights out of 4. The menu was excellent and the food superb. We loved our stay here and will be looking to return in the future

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiganBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have just returned from a few days stay at this hotel , we were in a room that was not refurbished and at first l felt a little disappointed with our choice of room as l had chosen it when booking, but that soon changed after the magnificent dinner , l chose the standard menu but my husband had the indulgence menu and neither of us was disappointed although l do think the chef's special course ( a sorbet ) was a little unnecessary. we only ate in the restaurant once during our stay, we don't think that we could have eaten that much every night.I would also like to mention the young waiters that a previous reviewer was not very complimentary about, l found them excellent and polite and helpful without being intrusive,The breakfast was also very good with a good choice, my only slight complaint was that on our last morning the cereal and fruit and yoghurt were not laid out on the table and we had to ask for it. l assume that this was because there were only a few people staying. I must especially mention Anne who seemed to be everywhere at all times and was very welcoming and helpful and a great asset to this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nonabass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night before Xmas on a DBB basis for £49.50 each. We upgraded to the more expensive menu option and we were really glad we decided to do this as it was a lot better then the basic menu (2 others in our party had opted for the basic menu and were disappointed that they had not upgraded). The hotel bedrooms were in need of a bit of an up date but they are clean and a good size with comfortable beds. Breakfast was decent and several choices on the menu. The hotel building is very grand with an impressive entrance hall and recently renovated hotel bar. This hotel has fantastic potential and we wish the owner every success in transforming it!

Stayed: December 2012
1  Thank natandjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for the first time in an attempt to find somewhere decent in Scarborough. We were not disappointed, following a somewhat lukewarm welcome things stepped up a couple of gears with an excellent sized room, number 2 and very attractive and recently refurbished public rooms downstairs. The bar is outstanding, only the addition of a decent real ale would make it perfect while the restaurant was outstanding with food that was much better than the hotel's website suggested. Combined with a hearty breakfast and fine views, this hotel has it all. We shall return!

Room Tip: Try to get a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband booked for us to go to Wrea Head hall for a birthday treat.
I can honestly say that I have never ever felt so at home whilst staying in a hotel. We sat with drinks by a large inglenook fireplace, a roaring log fire and pleasant, homely surroundings.
Gerry, (the owner) popped over to chat. He really did understand hospitality and nothing was too much trouble to ask.
The room was lovely. The bed was very comfortable and all decorated in an old country house victorian style. Beautiful.
The food... well... what can I say about the food.... I will DEFINATELY be going back for more. Served beautifully and very well presented.
The price.... Value for money.
Can't wait to go back.
Lynda

Room Tip: High floors would have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LyndaStaceyDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My family and l had one of the best New Year Eve stay at Wrea Head Hall.All the staff were so friendly from the minute you arrived, many many thanks to Anne,Lynsey,Jack,Kumar, Nicky, and not forgetting Gerry the owner.Thankyou for making our New Year Eves extra special. We will be booking again very soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debi411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,963 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 26 in Scarborough
1,628 reviews
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
947 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: $117 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing