We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Woodford Green, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is the third time that we have stayed at this hotel. Earier this year it was taken over by new owners and is, we understand, now independently owned having previously been part of a small chain. The bar and dining room have been refurbished and are now much improved and the new owners are gradually refurbishing the rest of the hotel. Our room was very comfortable and we received excellent service from all of the staff. The food that was served both at breakfast and dinner was first class and there was an excellent wine list with a wide range of wines at reasonable prices. One thing that irritated us on our previous two visits was the fact that a supplement was charged for some of the items on the breakfast menu but we were pleased to see that this is no longer the case.

The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and we will certainly stay at this hotel again when we next visit this part of Yorkshire.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat99L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,396
    314
    76
    24
    12
See reviews for
207
1,265
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal
2 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was looking for somewhere to stay for a group of friends who like walkiing & cycling; when a card for Wrea Hall came in the post. How lucky was that: they could accommodate different numbers on the 3 nights we stayed and nothing was too much trouble. The staff were brilliant, especially Anne, who always seemed to be there when needed. Our room(No 5) was more than satisfactory: I cannot comment on the others and anyone finding fault with the food should stay at home.

Marie

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieTCrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Shared a weekend away with friends at this lovely Hall, the great weather just happened to make it all the better. A very warm welcome from the manager, Anne, on arrival, who was extremely efficient. The Hall is undergoing major refurbishment and the bar and dining room were beautifully and tastefully decorated. Although our room was not yet refurbished it was still very good, spacious with a garden view.

Food in the evening was excellent and the whole package price was superb value for money. Plenty to do in the area and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: We had room 1 which was a superior room, spacious, comfortable bed, good view. Not yet refurbished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Once again we have not been dissapointed by our stay at this lovely hotel. The food & service is superb & the bar area & dining room have been beautifully redecorated. The location is just outside a liitle village but Robin Hoods Bay, Scarborough Whitby are very easily reached

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunting3851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were also part of the group of 14 staying in this lovely old Hall. We were made extremely welcome and all the staff were friendly and efficient. Anne, the manager, made sure everything went smoothly.
The current owners have only been there since April and are doing much to improve the comfort of their guests.
The food was excellent and beautifully presented, and the young chap who ran the bar was a real star .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derek f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were warmly greeted upon our arrival. Everything was explained clearly. Our room had a super view over the mature gardens which were well tended and a pleasure to look at. We dined in that night and enjoyed an excellent meal in very pleasant surroundings. Great service from our waiter - attentive, but not overpowering. Breakfast was very good, an excellent choice without having TOO much to choose from. The Continental option was very adequate too. Great service from our breakfast waiter. You can feel the character of this beautiful old place in its wood panelling and beautiful stone walls. Loved the contemporary twist in the bar. Cannot fault the staff or the service or the food. We wish you all the very best with your refurbs - a real gem of a place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A group of 14 booked the hotel for a weekend break and we were not disappointed. The rooms were well appointed, the staff were efficient and extremely helpful. Anne joined in with our banter and made us very welcome, despite the extra noise.
The food was exceptional with plenty of choice, well served and of excellent quality.
I shall certainly recommend this hotel to my friends and I wish the management all the best for their refurbishment programme.

Room Tip: If poss choose a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,740 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
3.3 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Property: Wrea Head Hall
Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing