We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of River Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jillian L
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We were so lucky to find this little gem. Host were so friendly and accommodating. the cottage was fantastic, warm, clean and lots of room for 4 adults and 4 children (including 3 teenagers). The grounds and setting are also to die for. We all wish we could have stayed longer. Will definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catherine...
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely setting.”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This is the second time we have stayed at River Cottage and have been impressed with the quality of the accommadation both times. The kitchen is very well equipted , beds are very comfortable with cotton sheets, plenty of hot water in bathrooms and loads of towels provided.
It was safe for our toddler with baby gates up and downstairs. Downstairs bedroom was used by Grandparnents who found it very comfortable. Garden and river are very peaceful and pretty. The village has a good fish restuarant and 2 pubs 5 mins walk. Good shop 5 mins walk. Very close to coast.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Garden and river.
Liked least: Rained 2 days
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrs1811
Mississauga, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful.”
Reviewed July 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This house is truly gorgeous. We have 3 teenagers and the house had enough room for us to spend time together but also allowed distance when needed. The kitchen is extremely well stocked with anything you may need. It is also very well maintained and very, very clean. The kids had a great time playing badminton on the back lawn. It is an excellent place to use as a base to explore Scarborough, Filey, Flamborough and York (about 50 minute drive). Andrew and Tracey were very welcoming and available if you need any assistance. Our family enjoyed our stay at the River Cottage and highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BewickBly...
Blyth
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage in lovely location”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have had a lovely stay at River Cottage, the accommodation is well maintained and very clean.. The location of River cottage is lovely, not too far from Scarborough, Filey etc but far enough to be quiet and peaceful. The garden was lovely for Barney our dog to lie in and run about. We had glorious weather so were able to make use of sitting out and admiring the well kept garden, there is a larger barbecue although we did not use it during our stay. We would fully recommend River Cottage for all ages, my mum who is 85 loved it and it was the first time she really didn't want to leave as she had enjoyed it so much

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet and the beautiful garden
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni D
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quiet, peaceful and wonderful setting”
Reviewed May 30, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Lovely welcome from owners and beautiful setting for a relaxing holiday. Spacious and comfortable with cosy log burner in lounge.
Easy to get around visiting the area, with public transport links within walking distance.

Park and ride in York, Whitby and Scarborough all making visiting those places easier.

Plenty of room for all 5 of us and fab garden for our terrier to explore safely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful
Liked least: mattresses a little hard for us, but others may find them ideal
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ718
sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic place !!”
Reviewed May 20, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This cottage is absolutely adylic! Me and my friends stayed for the weekend for my birthday celebrations and had the most wonderful time. The cottage itself is well stocked and has everything you need. It's clean and beautifully decorated as well. We will lost definitely be back !!. Many thanks for putting up with me and my rabble !!.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon1972
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cottage and Setting.”
Reviewed May 16, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

River Cottage was in a beautiful location within Low Farm Grounds but at the same time private with its own garden by the river. Everything you would need for a weeks stay in the cottage was available and all the rooms spotlessly tidy and relaxing to a very high standard. Me and my family loved our stay and the children of 2 years,4 years and my elder daughter of 17 years all loved it along with me and my wife and my mother. We had a wonderful couple of nights at The Forge Valley Inn in West Ayton and a amazing meal at Cogonis restaurant in Scarborough also. Look forward to our next stay at River Cottage, you just cannot beat perfection. Hope to see you in the future Andrew. From Damon and Jessika Moffatt.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing