We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Cottage and Setting.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of River Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Damon1972
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cottage and Setting.”
Reviewed May 16, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

River Cottage was in a beautiful location within Low Farm Grounds but at the same time private with its own garden by the river. Everything you would need for a weeks stay in the cottage was available and all the rooms spotlessly tidy and relaxing to a very high standard. Me and my family loved our stay and the children of 2 years,4 years and my elder daughter of 17 years all loved it along with me and my wife and my mother. We had a wonderful couple of nights at The Forge Valley Inn in West Ayton and a amazing meal at Cogonis restaurant in Scarborough also. Look forward to our next stay at River Cottage, you just cannot beat perfection. Hope to see you in the future Andrew. From Damon and Jessika Moffatt.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amymanche...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed April 27, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the cottage over the weekend and really enjoyed our stay. The cottage is a great size for a big family with lovely rooms and a brilliant garden and outdoor seating area. The cottage was spotlessly clean, in a lovely spot and had a lovely the log fire.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin28
Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb location and perfect family cottage”
Reviewed November 26, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great week with lovely weather in September at this fabulous cottage. The cottage had everything we needed and more, and the owners were very helpful if we needed anything.
We had originally booked for 8 people but due to family illness only the 4 of us could go, which was a shame as the property is ideal for those with mobility issues, with the downstairs bedroom and wet room.
With young children we spent a lot of time at the park in the village, and the farm park up the road, which also did lovely food. We also spent lots of time on the beach at scarborough which was only a 10 minute drive away. Perfect location and we would not hesitate to go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B
1 review
“Outstanding accommodation in cottage of real character”
Reviewed November 23, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

River Cottage is an outstanding place to stay in a picturesque setting. The accommodation is in perfect location to visit Scarborough. The accommodation was presented in immaculate condition on arrival ready to settle into a long weekend of relaxing in a unique refurbished old mill that is full of character.
We will definitely be back.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terico
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed November 12, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A very attractive and well presented property, garden and surroundings. We were well received and looked after during our stay and our hosts were always willing to do all possible to make our stay enjoyable. The house was very clean and warm with good facilities. A most enjoyable stay and would thoroughly recommend River Cottage.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markjulia...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed November 10, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Just had a lovely week stay at river cottage, relaxing,peaceful,beautiful cottage and surrounding gardens. The cottage had everything we needed and more. Great welcome pack, and the owners are very helpful and friendly. Great position for visiting the surrounding area and coast. We will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of space
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anja v
The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
“Beautiful cottage!”
Reviewed October 7, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a really great stay in this wonderful cottage with the family. All the rooms are very beautiful and specious! A great location, very nice hosts. The baguette, butter and the wine was a very nice surprise. We already recommended the cottage to other people. We want to come again in the near future. We had a marvelous time..........thank you!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing