We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gresham Hotel - Booked Online (Never again)”
Review of The Gresham Hotel

The Gresham Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gresham Hotel
Ranked #149 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 8, 2008

Booked this hotel via, the Internet for one night only as we needed somewhere to stay quickly and this place had rooms available and none of the others we tried had anything. I wonder why? Read on...!!! The room was terrible with spiders everywhere, dirty and generally run down with dirty linen and old fashioned decor. Not good! The owner seems to think we're there for her benefit and she's doing the general public a favour.
We didn't want breakfast so can't comment, but normally, this is a highlight of staying in Scarborough. Here, we didn't want to stay any longer than we had too, and certainly didn't want to eat there.

Then came a sting in the tail?...... When booking online we had agreed a price, invoiced and received confirmation, gave out our requested credit card details, and thought that was that.
Wrong!...... On the morning we left, the owner wanted more money than quoted on the invoice, as there was supposed to be a single night booking supplement? Nothing was said about this when we checked in.

When we queried this we were told this was mentioned on the website. I've checked again! It isn't........Nothing, Zilch !!!
How do they think they can get away with this nonsense in this day and age?

Make up your own mind ,but there are loads better places to stay in Scarborourgh for less money in my opinion. I'm just thankful we only booked for the one night....... Says it all really ???

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank JamesTw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 27 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2008

This is a lovely hotel.

Situated in a quiet part of the north bay area
but only 2-3 minuets from the sea.

You can expect to receive a warm & friendly welcome

The room was comfortable with t,v, & en-suite etc.

Breakfast is large & one of the best i have had in yorkshire
with real tomatoe juice.
( Best advice: wake up hungry)

Nothing is too much trouble, you ONLY have to Ask.

wishing the Gresham & staff every continued success.
Lord & Lady Healey.

ps,
we never used our title. so they they never knew who we were.
just mr,& mrs anyone..

Stayed: July 2008
Thank lordcth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2007

Pros:
The hotel is located in a nice quiet area of Scarborough, close to Peasholm Park. There is plenty of on-road parking available.
The bedroom was comfortable with fresh bedding, tea and coffee making facilities and a T.V.
There was a good selection of cereals available at breakfast.


Cons:
The hotel is a long way from the centre of Scarborough.
The ensuite bathroom was very dirty. There were hairs on the sink, the toilet roll holder had dirty marks on it and the carpet was in need of a good hoover.
The shower didn't work properly, there was never any hot water.
The breakfast was quite basic and over-cooked.

We won't be returning to this hotel. We felt that it was over-priced for what it was.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank piratescrumpyjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2007

recently stayed at the gresham b & b for 2 nights.
was greeted with a warm smile and a friendly owner.
room was clean and well presented.
located close to peasholme park and the beach.
had a lovely time hassle free

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bubbledust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2006

I'm sorry to say that this hotel really dissapointed us. Our room was frankly depressing with mismatched furniture, faded linen and dated decor. The breakfast room was fine and a young girl gave us a friendly welcome but my heart sank when I saw the room. A couple of times we had to ask the owner for something and were made to feel she was doing us a huge favour. Needless to say we won't be back.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kateandadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
17
Reviewed June 14, 2005

We stayed there early season, Mid May, and the current owners are a very accomodating couple. The included breakfast was very good and plentyful. The room was quite adequate however the shower is small. All in all I would go back there again but book it ahead. This is an private hotel so that needs to be done. Current owners are trying to sell and move on to larger quarters.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Cryslany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
4.3 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
6.1 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
51 reviews
3.3 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough South Bay Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
5,007 reviews
2 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gresham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gresham Hotel

Address: 18 Lowdale Avenue, Scarborough YO12 6JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $25 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gresham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing