We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good steak and coffee” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of CoGoni's Ristorante Italiano

CoGoni's Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #15 of 353 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good steak and coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Went in towards the end of the night after visiting my sister who has moved to Scarborough a few years ago and she highly recommended this place. Staff were efficient and well organised. Got given a table no problem and food served was to perfection! Steak i had was cooked right to medium rare but the only downfall was the small choice of traditional Italian dishes i would've of liked to see on the menu. But all in all food was great and definitely will go back again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    767
    135
    56
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
blackpool
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Away from home with work so ate here alone - made to feel welcome. Decor lovely. Had press button waiter call button on tables. Staff very pleasant. Courses very nicely presented. Would definitely go again if opportunity arose.

Helpful?
Thank lesley71Blackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Visited with friends and had high expectations. Starter of squid was overcooked and rubbery as a result. Main of rack of lamb was OK but faced with a list of sauces sadly picked one which was very disappointing - no flavour and seemed to be made from a very simple roux base of flour and water seasoned with rosemary and thyme. It was not good, glutinous and swamped the plate. Had to ask for a clean plate so that I could finish without it. Other members of the party seemed to fare better. Will probably not return in a hurry.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Janine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“good first visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed in Scarborough for the weekend and having consulted Trip Advisor before we set off, we made a booking to ensure we had a table.It Glad we did, as it was packed! We were very impressed with the staff, service and food. A varied menu-fairly plain things to suit my other half and more interesting things to suit me!! The wine was delicious and not overpriced either. We will visit again when we are next in the area. Give it a try!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank antano2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent for a special Celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

My Boyfriend and I had a lovely evening on Saturday 26th October 2013. The food and service were excellent. I had the Goats Cheese to start with and the Chicken with a Mushroom sauce served with seasonal vegetables. the ambience was very relaxed and there was a buzz that you would expect with any Italian restaurant. One thing i did miss was pizza on the menu but overall we had a fantastic evening. A Restaurant where i would be happy to suggest to friends and family.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GlassSlipper79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CoGoni's Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to CoGoni's Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing