We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for occasions” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of CoGoni's Ristorante Italiano

CoGoni's Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #15 of 353 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great for occasions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I am amazed that very few "locals" have commented via Trip Advisor as I know this restorante is extremely popular in Scarborough, may e the Scarborians don't want to share it with visitors. we celebrated my Dads 75th birthday here on 8 Deember 2012, 10 of us in total. As a lage group we were asked to ore order before we arrived and this ensured that our food was ready for us and quickly served. We had been to Tuscany for our holiday in the August and the flavours and tastes of Vella Italian all came flooding back to us. A fantastic restaurant, best shared with everyone and enjoyed by all.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    766
    135
    56
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
paradox5
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

My partner and I visited the CoGonis on Saturday evening. It couldn't be faulted.

I'd been rather cheeky and asked a couple just coming out if they'd enjoyed their own meal. Their glowing report said it all. It was well worth the effort of finding this cosy, out of the way restaurant.

It was, without doubt, the nicest meal we had in Scarborough, and they had all been good. The atmosphere, service and food were superb, with the Sea Bass the best I'd tasted, including that from a popular Brighouse, Savoy trained chef, restaurant.

We will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank paradox5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great food , great staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We love this place, we were in Scarborough for five days and ate here twice as the first time was that good . From the duck confit to the homemade ravioli, the food is exceptional ! The staff can't do enough for you and were attentive without being intrusive. We want to go back to Scarborough soon, this restaurant is definitely one of the reasons.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NQKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab fab fab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Would deffinately reccomend this superb restaurant.Very accommodating friendly staff & excellent service which was only bettered by th food itself.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow! what a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

There is a complete lack of any decent restaurants in Scarborough, but thanks to Trip Advisor we visited this little gem of a restaurant. The service was good and friendly and the food was lovely. We shared the squid which was served with samphire and capers all deep fried in batter but done with restraint unlike everywhere else in Scarborough. We then had the seafood linguine which was so delicious, we could have eaten it twice. All the food was freshly cooked and it tasted so good.

I was intending to take photo's but to be honest I got completely distracted by good food after days of rubbish!

Go, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BidsChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CoGoni's Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to CoGoni's Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing