We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must For All Foodies” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bryherstones Inn

Bryherstones Inn
Ranked #2 of 353 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Must For All Foodies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Found Bryherstones on Trip Advisor and felt we had to give it a try during our stay in Scarborough as the reviews were so good. Am very pleased that we did. Went there for an evening meal for my birthday with my partner and enjoyed the best meal we had eaten for some time. There's a good menu choice and the service & setting is second to none. Will be recommending it to my friends if they are ever in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suz_1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    90
    28
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing food and surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Read the reviews on here decided to visit. We arrived car park was empty when we left there were 23 cars in car park about one hour later (this place is off the beaten track) so the food does the talking. Amazing choice on the menu and also a specials board. We had the Bryherstones grill which was fillet steak, gammon steak,thick sausage, cajun chicken, mushrooms, tomatoes, onion rings and chunky chips. The dessert menu was good to I had raspberry roulade (best dessert I have ever eaten) Only wish we had found this place at the beginning of our stay and not at the end. We recommended it to another guest at our boarding house and they had an amazing meal too. The owners of the B and B are coming too. Amazing good quality fresh food can't be beaten

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank N00kie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A good Sunday lunch in a real pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Four of us visited this pub last Sunday for lunch.Very good lunch,very good value.The staff/owners were very friendly and the service was just right.A fair selection of real ales together with the standard brands seen in most pubs these days.The pub is on a main road and easy to find about four miles north of Scarborough.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tony2mayston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Must visit again when we're in area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I had an evening meal here after getting a recommendation from the hotel we were staying at. It was excellent, and the very best you can expect from a country inn. I liked the traditional decor and layout, with drinking areas as well as eating areas. The menu provided first-class home-made pub food; I can certainly recommend the "famous steak pie" especially if you have a good appetite! Indeed all the portions looked to be very generous, including my desert of lime cheesecake. There was a good selection of beers; the hosts were friendly and the service excellent. We will definitely call in again when we're next in the area - it's worth arranging our itinerary to accommodate.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oldsquasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Essex, U.K.
Level Contributor
318 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Great lunch experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We discovered the Bryherstones Inn for the first time last September and vowed to return next time we were in the area. This time, we stopped for lunch. Such friendly and welcoming staff. The food was delicious and beer well-kept, just as our first visit's evening meal was. I have a physical problem which restricts what I can eat and we experienced such very helpful, attentive service. Keep up the great work - it is certainly appreciated. Wish we were 'locals' rather than tourists!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bryherstones Inn also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Bryherstones Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing