We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of an English pub.”
Review of Bryherstones Inn

Bryherstones Inn
Ranked #2 of 355 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A gem of an English pub.”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We came across this lovely pub by accident on a recent short break in Yorkshire. We liked it so much we ate there every night of our holiday. Good food, good service, good price and a good atmosphere, oh, I nearly forgot, good real ales ! What more could you want ?

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan-Cooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    93
    28
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“In the area, do not miss this gem, excellent in every way.”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We drove up a country lane and found a hidden gem, the Bryherstones. What a warm welcome we received from the landlord and all his staff. The food was outstanding and excellent value.I had lobster, fresh and creamy, delicious! We each thought our dish must be the best. We were staying in the area for 2 nights and spent both evenings in the Bryherstonesstones, why go anywhere else? If you are staying anywhere near, look nowhere else, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food and drink, top class value for money”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Regularly go to the Bryherstones for a few pints, whiskies or even the odd meal. The food is delicious, all freshly prepared and using top quality ingredients, many of which are locally sourced.

I would recommend the pate starter, any of the steaks, chicken and green peppercorn/mushroom sauce, Whitby battered scampi, gammon and possibly the key lime pie for desert if you can manage any thing else! The Firefly Shiraz is a great option on the wine list and very reasonably priced too, if beer or ale isn't your thing.

The range of drinks on offer is superb, definitely try the Yorkshire Lager, even if you are more of an ale/stout fan like myself. There is a selection of ciders, lagers, ales and a stout; a huge range of spirits and a well stocked wine list.

Paul is a very friendly landlord and is always good for a chat. He also pulls a great pint and will no doubt be more than happy to beat you at a game of dominoes on an evening.

Highly recommended for tourists and locals a like, don't miss out! If the weather is nice, you can even sit outside in the sun. There's a play area to keep the kids busy and an outdoor heater for the evening. The style of the decor inside is warm and welcoming, usually with a log fire burning.

To top it all off, it's 50p for a game of pool and free for as many games of darts as you like, competitive evenings aside.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zabuzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Found by trip advisor ,we were greeted with a warm welcome from the very friendly and helpful landlord and his team at this historical old inn ,the food is wholesome and hearty with excellent use of top quality local ingredients at affordable prices which is very well presented without the need for fancy drizzles and jus,s,if you are in the Scarborough area you can't afford not to visit this hidden gem,

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just ok”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Visited this place while on a drive out.
Food okay but quite expensive for what it is.Service okay.
Lovely Garden though

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bryherstones Inn also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Burniston, Scarborough
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Bryherstones Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing