We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aug 2012”
Review of Granby Hotel

Granby Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Granby Hotel
Ranked #62 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
chester-le-street
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Aug 2012”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Lovely stay at the Granby again, really enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and lovely food. Gary and Gill always make you welcolme. Gary puts on great entertainment and the bar prices are really good. The rooms are spotless and really comfortable. The food is always to our taste with loads of choice and the portions huge. We have stayed here many times and would reccomend it to all, it's like staying at a friends!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    20
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Once again had a great weekend at the Granby Hotel Scarborough Gillian and Gary are great hosts lovely cooked breakfasts and evening meals it is just like being part of the family cant wait to go back 4 couples from geordie land

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

As soon as your welcomed into the hotel by Gary, you know your in for a treat! Rooms are large, well furnished & clean, The food is INCREDIBLE!!!!!!! Great choice, cooked to perfection & HUGE portions!
The entire hotel is spotless!
Entertainment every night from Gary, Massive collection of karaoke songs, a great selection of games & a well stocked bar!
Gary & Gill are a prime example of how to run a hotel! & I can't wait to get back to the Granby again!!!!! (a week today!)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimbolski9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel a couple of times over the years & all I can say is this hotel deserves 6 stars!!! Warmly greeted by Gary or Gill! Rooms are large & comfortable! Breakfast & dinner are amazing, great choice & the quality & quantity is out of this world!!! Bar price's are reasonable, the entertainment hosted by Gary each evening is fantastic!!! Bingo, horse racing, karaoke, play your cards right & the 20p game always goes down well with everyone!!! & not forgetting "Gary's special food hamper" raffle!!! Never seen Gary with out a smile on his face & he has an endless supply of jokes. (even if you've heard them a hundred times before, they alway get a laugh!!!) not forgetting the glamorous Gill serving behind the bar!!!
Can't wait to return to the Granby!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dippysarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

just read last review ,shocked what does some people expect from a family run hotel 5 star treatment .we as a couple or as a group of friends have spent many breaks at this hotel and will be returning bank holiday weekend . yes the owners gary and gill are very friendly and go out of ther way to make your holiday special .the food is second to none and the only complaints i have heard are (far to much) .we are well travelled people to places like caribean,africa many times and most of europe staying in 4 and 5 star hotels but allways enjoy our home from home stays at the granby

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenneth458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilkeston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

nice clean rooms nice cumfey beds food great and the staff are very helpfull first time back for some years but will go back to this hotel soon, gary and jill run a great hotel and make u feel very welcome

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miranda26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here August 2011 (my husband, son, mother-in-law and myself) for 3 nights. We couldn't fault the anything about the hotel. We arrived a little early, but that was no problem to them. We were shown to our rooms, given a parking permit and any information we required.
The rooms were cosy and very clean.
The breakfasts were a very high standard with lots of choice.
The hotel is in a very good location (just about a 5 minute walk to the town centre, 10-15 minutes to the beach and 15-20 minutes to Peasholme Park).
Gary and Gill were very accommodating and very sociable. Had great fun in the evenings with their entertainment.
We enjoyed it so much, we are booked to stay for 4 nights on bed, breakfast and evening meal basis in September with the family again.
Overall, great value for money and couldn't ask for a more family friendly place to stay within an excellent location.
Looking forward to our second stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachlovers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Tall Storeys Guest House
Tall Storeys Guest House
#25 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#8 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sylvern House
Sylvern House
#55 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Beaches Bed and Breakfast
The Beaches Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#7 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duke of York Guest House
Duke of York Guest House
#19 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granby Hotel

Property: Granby Hotel
Address: 1-2 Queen Street | Granby Place, Scarborough YO11 1HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Granby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing