We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay, great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mount Hotel
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, great hotel”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I visited the Mount very recently with my partner and elderly mother. The hotel is a delight! I had booked a suite, with a view over the south bay. The room was lovely, very large, with floor to ceiling windows and juliet balconies. A very comfortable bed, with lovely soft bedding and a very good and sizeable bathroom. The view was great. This was old fashioned comfort at it's best!

We did not eat in the hotel in the evening, preferring to walk into Scarborough south bay, but the breakfast next morning was absolutely excellent. Full English, very high quality with excellent waitress service and not a buffet bar in sight! Again, old fashioned opulence, cotton napkins and table cloths, cutlery made in Sheffield and lots of it. Little pots of butter, not frozen either and ready for use. All in all a wonderful way to start the day!

The receptionist deserves praise, very helpful, both the lady in the evening and the one next morning. Both could not have been friendlier. To cap it, parking was easy, right outside and for £3 over night, quite cheap.

I hope we will go back, it's a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a voucher for parking outside, subject to availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    96
    42
    7
    6
See reviews for
57
148
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I'm splitting my review into positives and negatives to make it easier to read.

-Room service is 10am til 10pm but we tried to order sandwiches at 9:45 only to be told that the chef had already left. Not great when you are very tired from travelling and hungry.
-Lack of parking spaces available in the area which is particularly difficult if one of your party is disabled. Multi storey nearby costs £10 per 24 hours.
- Bathroom small and poky.
- No heating on in June - not good if you need to dry wet bathing things or want a warm towel.
- TV reception poor - uses small round wire aerial. Frequently breaks up. Only 5 channels.

+ Amazing breakfast. Cooked to order.
+ Almost all staff friendly and helpful. But don't believe the lady who tells you traffic wardens only work from 9am until 6pm. They start ticketing Blue Badge holders at 5:30am
+ Location is great.
+ Old fashioned values.
+ Comfy beds.

Room Tip: Rooms with outside walls are cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Zil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

My husband & I spent one night in a lovely suite at The Mount Hotel (Room 18) and were wonderfully transported to an experience of perfect service, attention to detail and comfort in this fantastic hotel. Everything about the place is centered around the guest being catered for impeccably and just allowing you to relax, enjoy and be well looked after.

We were taken up to our room which was delightful, with amazing sea views out of 3 huge windows. The bed was extremely comfortable with great quality linen. There was a spacious seating area and large flat screen tv, a writing desk, tasteful decor and pictures and ample tea and coffee facilities with herbal teas too (all Taylors of Harrogate) and delicious biscuits. The bathroom was large and well equipped too.

We were lucky to have amazing weather during our stay and even sunbathed on the beach which is just a five minute walk from the hotel.

The food quality was equally matched by the quantity and portion size, top notch! We had a three course meal in the hotel restaurant and it was here that the service was really 1st class, from the crisp white starched table linen and fine silverware to the attention from the wonderful staff. You can tell when someone really values you as a guest and goes all out to make your stay the best it can be and this is clearly the case at The Mount Hotel. Breakfast was delicious too, particularly the black pudding and PERFECT scrambled eggs with the full English, once again huge portions so you certainly get your money's worth!

Thank you for looking after us and making our stay so enjoyable! Traditional style and service is a rare quality to see in a hotel, so credit where it's due.

Room Tip: Room 18 was a wonderful spacious suite with fantastic sea views. Perfect for that special occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
814Stace75, Guest Relations Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments, The Mount always tries to make sure that everyone that visits us has a memorable stay in comfortable rooms and enjoys quality foo and excellent service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed one night's stay at this excellent hotel - comfortable, traditional in style, courtesy and service. Views and rooms were superb. The breakfast could not be faulted - full waitress service, with a good selection, including fresh caught fish.

The location is perfect - very close to the sea, on the cliff looking over the footbridge across the valley to the Spa - the seafront and the town centre are both five minutes walk away. Scarborough at its best. Street parking can be difficult, but the hotel provides parking tickets at £3 per day, which is much cheaper than the ordinary charges.

My wife left her phone charger in the room - and within an hour of leaving she received a phone call from the hotel to tell her they had it for her.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Letchworthian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
814Stace75, Guest Relations Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments. It is nice to know that in this day and age where minimalist self service type hotels are abundant you enjoyed your stay at The Mount Hotel where we pride ourselves on providing traditional hospitality, comfortable surroundings, with quality food & fill silver service, and staff that are always there to make your stay a special one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Mount looks and mostly feels like a premier hotel. However commitment to reception staffing needs urgent attention. We arrived just as a potential guest was leaving to go elsewhere after having been met with an empty reception desk for fully 5 minutes on arrival (9.15pm). The receptionist (poor girl) came to the desk 2 minutes after we arrived. She explained that she was required to serve dinner in the restaurant as well as look after reception. This is madness in a hotel of this size and (current) reputation. A plea to the owners - treat your staff and customers with more respect or others will vote with their feet. This would be a tragedy for what is plainly a close knit and dedicated team (5 stars for effort), and a hotel with much to boast of, but a reputation and commercial success at risk.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view - hotel is in a great position
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jaaaack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

As we were holidaying nearby, we called into The Mount to check its suitability for a break we were planning in the future. Initially we had some difficulty parking, however we found a space and were able to then stay for tea/coffee & biscuits. I cannot speak highly enough of the warm welcome we received, and the refreshments were first- class. The surroundings were elegant and spotlessly clean; the views of the sea great. We also learned that parking is easier to come by in The Crescent behind the hotel; then just walk through the gardens. And our dogs were treated like VIPs too. We shall definitely return to stay. Thank you, Helen and staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChocoloverBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
814Stace75, Guest Relations Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments on your recent stay. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed every bit of The Mount hospitality. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night as a late booking the receptionist was very helpful and friendly showed me to my room on the second floor it was lovely and warm the bed had a crisp white duvet cover as well as pillow cases a large bathroom with bath and shower and both rooms smelt lovely the hospitality tray had teas coffees regular and decaf hot chocolate a fruit tea camomile green tea and lemon and a peppermint two packs of biscuits
Complementary shower gel shampoo shower cap sewing kit shoe shine and a kit which had cotton wool balls cotton buds and an emery board
A flat screen tv the bed was super comfy and breakfast the next morning was excellent a full range of starters porridge cereals fruit juice fresh fruit continental choice or make your own english I chose porridge with fresh cream then poached eggs on toast with mushrooms and apot of hot coffee WOULD I GO BACK MOST DEFINITELY thankyou the Mount Hotel

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
814Stace75, Guest Relations Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments on your recent stay. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed every bit of The Mount hospitality. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,614 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
564 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
3.0 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Hotel

Property: The Mount Hotel
Address: Cliff Bridge Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a commanding position overlooking the magnificent sweep of Scarborough's beautiful South Bay. The Mount Hotel which has been run by the Macarthur family for over 50 years has gained an outstanding reputation for providing high quality accommodation and superior service.The hotel has 50rooms including sea views and some executive rooms which have a lounge area, all rooms have flat screen televisions and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Mount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing