We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place - but pity the staff”
Review of The Mount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mount Hotel
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Hertfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place - but pity the staff”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Mount looks and mostly feels like a premier hotel. However commitment to reception staffing needs urgent attention. We arrived just as a potential guest was leaving to go elsewhere after having been met with an empty reception desk for fully 5 minutes on arrival (9.15pm). The receptionist (poor girl) came to the desk 2 minutes after we arrived. She explained that she was required to serve dinner in the restaurant as well as look after reception. This is madness in a hotel of this size and (current) reputation. A plea to the owners - treat your staff and customers with more respect or others will vote with their feet. This would be a tragedy for what is plainly a close knit and dedicated team (5 stars for effort), and a hotel with much to boast of, but a reputation and commercial success at risk.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view - hotel is in a great position
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jaaaack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    98
    45
    8
    7
See reviews for
59
154
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

As we were holidaying nearby, we called into The Mount to check its suitability for a break we were planning in the future. Initially we had some difficulty parking, however we found a space and were able to then stay for tea/coffee & biscuits. I cannot speak highly enough of the warm welcome we received, and the refreshments were first- class. The surroundings were elegant and spotlessly clean; the views of the sea great. We also learned that parking is easier to come by in The Crescent behind the hotel; then just walk through the gardens. And our dogs were treated like VIPs too. We shall definitely return to stay. Thank you, Helen and staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChocoloverBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
814Stace75, Guest Relations Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments on your recent stay. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed every bit of The Mount hospitality. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night as a late booking the receptionist was very helpful and friendly showed me to my room on the second floor it was lovely and warm the bed had a crisp white duvet cover as well as pillow cases a large bathroom with bath and shower and both rooms smelt lovely the hospitality tray had teas coffees regular and decaf hot chocolate a fruit tea camomile green tea and lemon and a peppermint two packs of biscuits
Complementary shower gel shampoo shower cap sewing kit shoe shine and a kit which had cotton wool balls cotton buds and an emery board
A flat screen tv the bed was super comfy and breakfast the next morning was excellent a full range of starters porridge cereals fruit juice fresh fruit continental choice or make your own english I chose porridge with fresh cream then poached eggs on toast with mushrooms and apot of hot coffee WOULD I GO BACK MOST DEFINITELY thankyou the Mount Hotel

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
814Stace75, Guest Relations Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments on your recent stay. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed every bit of The Mount hospitality. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

1 night stay myself and my wife booked based on Tripadvisor reviews which again lived up to expectation. Hotel delivered the room with the view that was pictured on my confirmation. The room was clean and comfortable and had everything we required. It is very central and we would have expected it to be a bit noisy outside as it was a busy weekend but it was very peaceful. There a great views from the room. The breakfast was fantastic good quality and plenty of choice including kippers.The waiter and waitress also work at Cogonis Italian as we had been there the night before. All in all this is a great hotel in the center that is good value for money and worth a stay.Only down side is parking.

Room Tip: Book a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
814Stace75, Guest Relations Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments on your recent stay. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed every bit of the Mount hospitality. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Was taken here for 50th birthday celebration with friends and children. Accommodation was very presentable and good value. We had sea views which was great. The food was lovely and the breakfast fantastic. The service in the restaurant and at the reception desk was exceptional.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing, comfortable stay without the formality and overpricing of your 5* chain hotels.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ripdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
814Stace75, Guest Relations Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments, The Mount Hotel takes great pride in preserving traditional hospitality, good food with silver service and a relaxed atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarboro
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We have just had a lovely lunch at the Mount Hotel Scarborough,the restaurant and hotel are very welcoming ,as are the staff.Everything about the lunch was lovely,if we had any niggles it would be the potatoes weren't hot enough,and also as it was a Mothers Day lunch,there was a small box of handmade chocolates included for the ladies,unfortunately they ran out of them.We were about to leave after our coffee and mints in the lounge when the manager came rushing in with handmade chocolates ,how kind of him to run to
Bonnets and buy us some! What service,will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Our party of 9 ladies would all return to the Mount. Those in the twin rooms with a sea view were all delighted with their rooms but the three in single rooms at the back of the hotel would have preferred better views and more space.
The hotel is warm and cosy, and although a bit dated, it is very clean and tidy. There are plenty of communal areas to meet up for a chat. There is a small lift to get you to all the floors. The stairs are quite steep so if in doubt - use the lift.
The beds are firm and the pillows are very comfortable. There is good tea and coffee making facilities. Good storage and wardrobe space. The windows open to give you a breath of sea air.
The cooked breakfast is excellent and sets you up for the day.
The reception staff and the staff serving breakfast are all very friendly, helpful and efficient.
The steps at the front are quite steep but there is a side entrance if required.

Room Tip: Definitely pay more for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
814Stace75, Guest Relations Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We are glad you had a fabulous stay here at the Mount, so many guests like yourselves have been amazed at our silver service for all meals/snacks and the variety of our award winning breakfast that we are extremely proud off
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,844 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
3.0 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Hotel

Property: The Mount Hotel
Address: Cliff Bridge Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a commanding position overlooking the magnificent sweep of Scarborough's beautiful South Bay. The Mount Hotel which has been run by the Macarthur family for over 50 years has gained an outstanding reputation for providing high quality accommodation and superior service.The hotel has 50rooms including sea views and some executive rooms which have a lounge area, all rooms have flat screen televisions and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Mount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing