We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Family Faire”
Review of The Mount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mount Hotel
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Hamilton, scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Family Faire”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

excellent long weekend with the kids in the hotel with good food amazing views , plenty of walks around the area and courteous staff, nice October break

Will probably try and make it back during the summer holidays when its a bit warmer

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lance-gauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us I will ensure that your comments are passed onto the staff. I hope you had a relaxing break as well as tackling all those walks!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    96
    44
    8
    6
See reviews for
59
152
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had Sunday lunch at The Mount. It was perfect! We try different places for lunch and can say this was far the best, The service, the food and the dining room were all excellent and all for £15.50 per head. A good selection of starters (i had whitebait) and puddings . The main course had choices of most meats and the veg was served by silver service. Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig B, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we are happy that you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch with us and hope that you can spread the good word!! Will ensure that the chef and restaurant staff get to read your review, thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Seventeen Rotarians stayed at the hotel over the Rotary District Conference weekend. I speak for everyone when I say the accommodation, food & service was first class. We were very well looked after by the staff, nothing was too much trouble.even though the hotel was full. We all had spacious sea view rooms with brilliant views over the bay which made it a stay to remember. A special thanks to Craig the manager who made sure everything went to schedule and arranged the president's reception on the Saturday night.

Room Tip: Pay that little extra for a sea view room its worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig B, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was good to read that you had an enjoyable weekend with us whilst attending the Rotary Conference in the town. I will ensure that your comments are passed onto all the departments, restaurant, kitchen, housekeeping and reception. I hope that we can accommodate you all again in 3 years time on your return to Scarborough and that we can have a repeat of the warm sunny weather!! Thank you once again

Craig Bridgewood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a short mid week break at this hotel and it was excellent - we travelled by train and the hotel `s location was very convenient both from the station and for sea front and shops
Although our room was not exceptional the restaurant was - the food both for breakfast and evening meal was superb and the service was first class - very relaxing and enjoyable

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig B, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of the hotel, the staff members and myself were happy that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the food in the restaurant. We hope that we can welcome you back in the future and find a bedroom with the wow factor for you so that you can appreciate the fantastic views over Scarborough's South Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

First Class accomadation, staff were fantastic, rooms spotless, breakfast great choice.Waiter nothing too much trouble,Dining room lovely pure white linen everything beautiful Couldnt fault any thing about the hotel. Would very highly reccomend. In prime location for sea front or shops.

Room Tip: Rooms on front of hotel have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dopey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig B, Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and scoring of The Mount Hotel. We pride ourselves with our high standards of customer care and service, like that of 'days gone by'
The restaurant laid with its starched white linen and full silver settings is indeed a memorable site. I will ensure that the staff are able to see your review and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

What a gem of a hotel. Central location and stunning views, with a breakfast fit for a king. Staff friendly and welcoming with excellent service in the dining room. Great bar and plenty of space to relax in - we will be back!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig B, Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We choose this hotel for a special occasion after reading about it on the internet. What a disappointment. Upon arrival it was chaos in the reception the receptionist was overworked, tired and stressed causing her to be quite abrupt and unhelpful. In her defence she was the only member of staff we saw until 10pm that evening, she seemed to be doing every job including serving behind the bar. She did accompany us to our room but my husband and I were struggling with luggage, but she never offered to take a single item. On entering our room we felt disappointed, the room was very dated the bathroom was filthy there was stains on the toilet, sink and bath. Everything was dirty. All the light fittings were loose there were large holes in the bedspread and stains on the sheet; the radiator was full with dust half an inch thick. The carpet had been relayed in the doorway with a different colour which looked a complete mess. We asked the receptionist if we could have a bar meal or snack and she abruptly replied not until 9pm when the restaurant has shut, even then it was up to the chef if he would kindly make us one. We sat in the bar having a drink there was no atmosphere we were the only ones in, there was no bar staff only the unfriendly receptionist, who was always huffing and puffing every time we saw her. We went into the breakfast room unsure of where to sit, as there was no signage. We were finally shown to a table completely different to our room number. As for the breakfast there was a certain tang to the food due to the oil they cooked it in which was off putting. The staff weren't very friendly and service was slow. On the 2nd day we were shown to different table which had already been used that morning, the table cloth was stained and the marmalade had already been used. The breakfast was slightly better. On the whole every member of staff that we came across was very unfriendly; there wasn't even a good morning. The hotel for what is cost was very overpriced and on top of this, there was a further cost of £20 for the car park nearby. On the plus side the receptionist on sat and Sunday morning was pleasant. Overall a very disappointing experience, we will not be returning. We would recommend guests to be over 60.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room away from the staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hotelgirl12319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments with regards to your stay. Firstly I must apologise for our shortfalls in our normally high standard of housekeeping and customer service as mentioned by a lot of our guests. Though the reception was busy on your arrival I can assure you that other staff members were hard at work behind the scenes.
I am sorry that you did not bring your complaint to our attention at the time of your stay with regards to the cleanliness of your bedroom this way we could of rectified the issues or found you an alternative room.
We have resolved all issues raised in your comments and photographs, once again thank you for bringing these to our attention because our guests experience and satisfaction is our highest priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,789 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
575 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
3.0 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Hotel

Property: The Mount Hotel
Address: Cliff Bridge Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a commanding position overlooking the magnificent sweep of Scarborough's beautiful South Bay. The Mount Hotel which has been run by the Macarthur family for over 50 years has gained an outstanding reputation for providing high quality accommodation and superior service.The hotel has 50rooms including sea views and some executive rooms which have a lounge area, all rooms have flat screen televisions and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Mount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing