We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience!”
Review of The Mount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mount Hotel
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We choose this hotel for a special occasion after reading about it on the internet. What a disappointment. Upon arrival it was chaos in the reception the receptionist was overworked, tired and stressed causing her to be quite abrupt and unhelpful. In her defence she was the only member of staff we saw until 10pm that evening, she seemed to be doing every job including serving behind the bar. She did accompany us to our room but my husband and I were struggling with luggage, but she never offered to take a single item. On entering our room we felt disappointed, the room was very dated the bathroom was filthy there was stains on the toilet, sink and bath. Everything was dirty. All the light fittings were loose there were large holes in the bedspread and stains on the sheet; the radiator was full with dust half an inch thick. The carpet had been relayed in the doorway with a different colour which looked a complete mess. We asked the receptionist if we could have a bar meal or snack and she abruptly replied not until 9pm when the restaurant has shut, even then it was up to the chef if he would kindly make us one. We sat in the bar having a drink there was no atmosphere we were the only ones in, there was no bar staff only the unfriendly receptionist, who was always huffing and puffing every time we saw her. We went into the breakfast room unsure of where to sit, as there was no signage. We were finally shown to a table completely different to our room number. As for the breakfast there was a certain tang to the food due to the oil they cooked it in which was off putting. The staff weren't very friendly and service was slow. On the 2nd day we were shown to different table which had already been used that morning, the table cloth was stained and the marmalade had already been used. The breakfast was slightly better. On the whole every member of staff that we came across was very unfriendly; there wasn't even a good morning. The hotel for what is cost was very overpriced and on top of this, there was a further cost of £20 for the car park nearby. On the plus side the receptionist on sat and Sunday morning was pleasant. Overall a very disappointing experience, we will not be returning. We would recommend guests to be over 60.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room away from the staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hotelgirl12319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for your comments with regards to your stay. Firstly I must apologise for our shortfalls in our normally high standard of housekeeping and customer service as mentioned by a lot of our guests. Though the reception was busy on your arrival I can assure you that other staff members were hard at work behind the scenes.
I am sorry that you did not bring your complaint to our attention at the time of your stay with regards to the cleanliness of your bedroom this way we could of rectified the issues or found you an alternative room.
We have resolved all issues raised in your comments and photographs, once again thank you for bringing these to our attention because our guests experience and satisfaction is our highest priority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 366 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times, we wanted to go again with our baby but aren't allowed to use the executive rooms.

Great hotel, great food and location. Odd policies, I suppose we will be taking our business elsewhere

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlltheCarneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for your comments with regards to the food and hotels location. I was somewhat taken back on your low scoring on service as we pride ourselves in delivering a professional friendly service as is noted by a lot of our guests; I can only assume that this was to do with our policy of not allowing children in the executive rooms. The hotel has made this policy to help keep the rooms a pristine condition, we do have a number of other bedrooms including family see view rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Character-full hotel in prime location with lovely views. I often travel with my dog and this is a genuinely dog friendly hotel. Children staying during visit too and the atmosphere in the hotel is friendly and welcoming, (with the occasional blip from individual staff in reception). Breakfast was superb and it was a pleasure to eat in a serviced dining room, however there was insufficient staff to make this experience totally enjoyable, which is such a shame as Antonio and the ladies worked so hard and were continually apologising. Another member of staff to support the three of them at busy times would have made such a difference. Had dinner there one evening and the standard is very good. Decoration is somewhat dated and removing the artificial flowers everywhere would improve that, however, the dated decor takes nothing from the ambiance. Lack of car parking is a bit of a downside but this is overcome by knowledgable staff. Enjoyed the visit so much will almost certainly return, so that's the best recommendation really.

Room Tip: A sea view would have made our visit even better. We found the rear room very hot, however the weath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, General Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay with us. I am especially pleased that you found the atmosphere friendly especially for those with dogs and families and enjoyed the food and style of service. We have taken on board your comments about the flowers!! Once again thank you for your constructive comments, we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

this is a grand old lady of a hotel, echos of times gone by are still very present in this hotel.
If quality service means more than contemporary design then this is a hotel for you.
The grand old lady is a little frayed around the edges but it is more than made up for in hospitality.
The executive rooms are just that, plush and comfortable.
Excellent food and plentiful and freshly cooked not mass produced.
Free WiFi a bonus.
Downside no parking hardly which is a bit of a pain but car parks within ten minutes walk which is free overnight.

Best bits views are fantastic watched the sun on the sea for hours.
would stay again

Room Tip: Ask for third floor room 47 particularly nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyFamily38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the food and spectacular views over the sea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from an extremely enjoyable long weekend at the Mount.
The standard of service was something we thought long gone ,not at the mount absolutely nothing is too much trouble for the friendly and helpful staff.
Yes the hotel is getting on in years but my what a fantastic character filled old lady she is right
down to the lift buttons which are the original .
The breakfast is without a doubt the best we have ever had in any hotel and that includes some 5 star establishments. Car parking can be a little hit and miss but the receptionist usually knows the most likely spots for a very reasonable £3 a day.
So all in all a very nice hotel with even nicer staff,well done to all at the Mount you've got it right.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a sea view room,it really is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very nice hotel,just needs a little updating. Think £120 a night is a little expensive. There was no parking available so we parked in a nearby car park for £10 a day. The mount is very central to the shops and the sea. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and friendly staff. Very comfortable bed.

Room Tip: 4 floor very good sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Booked to stay here for one night, as a friend and I had tickets to see Status Quo at the open air arena (great venue). we decided to make a "seaside weekend" of it and headed up Saturday morning - 27th July.

found everyone at the hotel to be really friendly and polite. The (late night bar) service was great and the breakfast was scrummy. The italian waiter added charm to the whole thing!

I think we paid just shy of £80 per single room and whilst not cheap, the little extras were noticed.. it's a lovley clean and freshly decorated traditional hotel.

Don't waste time searching for parking.. go to the Palm Court car park 50 yds north of the hotel, it's £10 per 24 hrs.

This hotel is on a quiet back water, a stones throw from the beach, parks and bars!

Room Tip: Not all rooms face the sea, but as I only slept there after a great Quo concert, it didn't matte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveGas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,964 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,938 reviews
1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
949 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Hotel

Address: Cliff Bridge Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $142 - $863 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a commanding position overlooking the magnificent sweep of Scarborough's beautiful South Bay. The Mount Hotel which has been run by the Macarthur family for over 50 years has gained an outstanding reputation for providing high quality accommodation and superior service.The hotel has 50rooms including sea views and some executive rooms which have a lounge area, all rooms have flat screen televisions and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Mount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing