We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise.”
Review of The Mount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mount Hotel
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The royal hotel had over booked so we stayed here. We really fell on our feet! Where to start? The room was spacious and clean. The bed is the best that I have slept in and the pillows where really good quality. The bathroom had a power shower and bath. There was a heated towel rail to make sure you had cosy towels. It was warm I the room, a little too warm but it was a surprising warm spell.
The welcome at reception was very warm. They could not do not enough to welcome us. The breakfast was the best bit. Local produce all the way through. Silver service all round. The only thing was at the royal the restaurant manger looked down his nose at us. You been warned. I would take the mount and pay a bit extra to be honest!

Room Tip: You don't havre have a sea room, but it is a real treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 369 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at The Mount for the first time last Saturday, and found it excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful, our room was spotless and comfortable, and it was warm (there was a harsh northeast wind outside), with a good view of the bridge and the sea. There was a good TV, hospitality tray, and goose down pillows. We had our dinner in the hotel, and the chef did us proud with 2 perfect steaks, great starter and lovely sweets. Breakfast was cooked to order, and the fried eggs were just right, bacon tasty - lovely. I'd recommend it to anyone, especially for a homely atmosphere.

Room Tip: Front on second floor was comfy with a good sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apothecattery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We chose here for Sundy lunch shortly after the New Year as it had good reviews on TA for food. It is certainly a big hotel, a bit dated in places but clean etc. Staff were friendly but the food was simply OK, perhaps our expectations were too high? I had nothing out of the ordinary, so felt a bit deflated afterwards! Glad we tried it but wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HungryMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig B, Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for your comments. The Mount Hotel offers a Traditional Sunday Lunch using high quality ingredients sourced from local producers, all the desserts are made on the premises and the food is served in a friendly but professional manor to the guest at their table.
We serve on average 60 Sunday Lunches per week and have a very high repeat business, I am sorry that you will not be one of these.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed for one night in room 24, amazing spacious room, fabulous sea view, spotless. Breakfast was really enjoyable, lots to choose from, staff really warm, friendly and helpful. Normally stay elsewhere but will definitely be booking to come back. Didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig B, Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a fantastic time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

A group of 8 of us has just had a great night's stay in the Mount, we had originaly booked into the Travelodge around the corner but they double booked a lot of rooms and to our benefit put us in here, my personal view is they could'nt do enough for us and made us feel realy welcome, the breakfast is absolutly fantastic, did'nt have an evening meal so cannot coment but if the breakfast is anything to go by it will be very nice,, enjoy people

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ49-63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig B, Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, I will ensure the staff get to see your review, hope you can make a return visit, and thank you for bringing the sunshine with you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Picked this hotel after reading reviews on tripadviser. First impressions where mixed as the receptionist although friendly seemed distracted. Our room was very good, with loads of space, decor a little dated but spotlessly clean and had wonderful sea/ coastal views.
Breakfast ok, enjoyed our stay in Scarborough but not sure that we would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrs W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig B, Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for your review of The Mount Hotel, I was pleased that you found your room to be spacious and cleaned to a high standard, that you fully appreciated the fantastic views and enjoyed your breakfast.
I noted that you rated sleep quality on the poor side, I would value your comments on this so that improvements may be made to better this area for future guests. I am sorry that you probably won't be returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We got a great winter deal for dinner bed and breakfast and arrived with our little dog with some trepidation- Scarborough seaside hotel,,out of season ,cold , snowing,windy and a very reasonable price!
We had no cause to worry -we had a great room with a fabulous sea view -ok a little dated but spotlessly clean and very warm and comfortable.the public areas were spacious and again with great sea views -and then there was the restaurant! I have rarely seen such spotless, high quality linens,sparkling silverware and attentive service and the food was plentiful and very delicious-dinner and breakfast were great!
Our little dog was made very welcome and we will most definatly make this a regular weekend get away

Room Tip: The sea views from the front if the hotel are well worth paying extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig B, Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was pleased that you like many past guests found the views fantastic: Though we are based in the town centre we do not suffer from the rowdy night life of pub goers, noise from traffic and even the nesting seagulls give us a miss!!!
The staff take great pride in their work and special credit must go to Betty who is up at the crack of dawn each morning polishing the silver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
5,003 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
604 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#17 of 26 in Scarborough
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
665 reviews
3 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,968 reviews
1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Hotel

Address: Cliff Bridge Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $155 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a commanding position overlooking the magnificent sweep of Scarborough's beautiful South Bay. The Mount Hotel which has been run by the Macarthur family for over 50 years has gained an outstanding reputation for providing high quality accommodation and superior service.The hotel has 50rooms including sea views and some executive rooms which have a lounge area, all rooms have flat screen televisions and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Mount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing