We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'm a regular!”
Review of The Mount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mount Hotel
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cleethorpes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I'm a regular!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have stayed in this Hotel once a week on average for over three months. I really like it - it has great character, good rate, good rooms, good views if you get a room at the front, efficient and friendly staff, great location, good breakfast cooked to your order (none of your buffet-style breakfasts here, and they'll even make you a "bacon butty to go" instead of a cooked breakfast!) The on-suites can be a little quaint, but all the rooms I've had have had a bath with overhead shower and gushings of lovely hot water :) Wi-Fi is free and good in most rooms.

Sadly, the proprietress passed away in September '12. She was a real lady, very friendly and helpful. She'll be missed, but it's "business as usual".

Room Tip: Go for a sea-view room. It's a little extra but you can sit in your room and enjoy a clear view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank remcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    96
    43
    8
    6
See reviews for
57
151
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend for the Oliver's mount bike racing.
The staff were friendly, room was superb with fantastic views of the bay, breakfast was good, the waiter was very efficient, we nick named him Rossi!!
Stacey was lovely and made you feel very welcome
Overall an excellent stay and will visit again, thank you

Room Tip: Recommend an upgrade to a sea view room, well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonandGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Fabulous hotel with beautiful views, spotlessly clean and the most amazing breakfast! Waiter service with white table cloths and silver cutlery. Room was very clean and comfortable with lovely big en suite. The location of this beautiful hotel is superb! We will be back

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniefordyoioioi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

This is a wonderfully traditional English hotel. The full breakfast is served on white tableclothes with a full gleaming silverware service. The rooms are cosy, immaculately clean, and, for those lucky enough to have a sea view, breathtaking. The staff is friendly yet professional. The hotel bar attracts some nice locals and encourages one to linger in the very nicely decorated lobby in the evening.
This hotel is a gem and cannot be recommended highly enough.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We chose this hotel based upon the favourable reviews and I'm very pleased that we did. The staff could not have made our party (2 adults, two children and a small dog) more welcome. The breakfast was excellent - friendly service and an excellent selection. We're already ready planning a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SJS129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I booked a stay here for my mum and me for two nights in June this year. I chose the Mount after reading about it on TA - we took our pet dog Sally with us - after reading the reviews it sounded like they were dog friendly.

We were delighted with our stay, Helen and all her staff were friendly and very helpful. Many of the other guests that we met told us that they had stayed at the Mount many times before and I can understand why.

The rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We had good views over Scarborough. We had planned to eat out - but other guests told us that the Mount specialises in fish and we should try the evening meal. It was excellent so we ate at the Hotel both nights.

If you have read the other reviews you will know that The Mount has limited parking directly in front of the hotel. I parked on the Crescent while we were there. I didn't have any trouble finding a place there and there is a short cut through a small park back to the Mount so it is not that far away at all.

Finally, I should say a word for anyone travelling with their dog - the staff at the Mount were very friendly to Sally and she really enjoyed her stay. It was the first time we have been on holiday with our pet - and we all enjoyed it very much.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigala2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

i booked this hotel for my son and 2 young children,i was quoted a price of £90 per night for a family room,as it was booked at short notice over the telephone i did not get any written confirmation,when my son arrived at the hotel he was told the price was £98 per night,not wanting to spoil things for the children he paid the bill.he had no problem with the facilities ,food or the staff and all enjoyed their stay.i contacted the hotel the following week voicing my dissapointment at a family run hotel with an excellent reputation resorting to this kind of practice,i got the usual,receptionist not in today,we will phone u back (never happened) and when i phoned later in week no one knew anything about the matter,in the end i sent e mail to manager only to get reply that the price quoted over the phone was definatley £98 per night.if i had been quoted £98 i would have gone elswhere,so if you book there make sure you get it in writing or expect a 10% increase when you arrive.p.s the sofa bed for the youngest child kept tipping up.

Room Tip: rooms at rear have no view at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your review, firstly may I appologise for any confusion in the rate quoted and charged; prices start from £90.00 per room (when on special offer or selling as a late availibility) based on two sharing, with extra charges for additional children depending on age, we would never increase price on arrival from what was quoted. I have looked through my e mails and can find no record of your conntact.

I was pleased to read that your family enjoyed their stay with us especially the food, service and friendliness of the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,740 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
3.0 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Hotel

Property: The Mount Hotel
Address: Cliff Bridge Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a commanding position overlooking the magnificent sweep of Scarborough's beautiful South Bay. The Mount Hotel which has been run by the Macarthur family for over 50 years has gained an outstanding reputation for providing high quality accommodation and superior service.The hotel has 50rooms including sea views and some executive rooms which have a lounge area, all rooms have flat screen televisions and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Mount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing