We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome”
Review of The Mount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mount Hotel
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A warm welcome”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Arrived on a Saturday lunchtime for a weekend break. Booked two single rooms. We were taken by the welcoming and friendly staff straight to our rooms. Rooms were lovely, warm, well decorated, clean and beautiful sea views. Comfortable beds. Breakfast was served by waitress - nice linens, excellent range of food and well cooked.
Rotten weather on the Sunday, cold and wet. They were happy to let us leave our bags as we weren't travelling until later on in the afternoon and were kindly invited to come back to have a cup of tea at any time of the day. We killed an hour before our trip home sitting in the warm and comfortable sitting room.
Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank treksandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    96
    43
    8
    6
See reviews for
57
151
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We found this gem after escaping from a VERY BAD experience at the Grand. Lovely staff, beautiful room with sea view and the best breakfast ever. Next time we go to Scarborough we will definately book this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank zorchalors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Found this hotel on our escape from the dungeon (rooms) at the Grand. A lovely welcome, friendly pleasant staff (everyone we met), a beautiful room with sea view, really comfortable bed, excellent served breakfast, good menu including porridge with cream, haddock and full english of course. Dining room and lounge lovely too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Annie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Stayed at many hotels in Scarborough whilst visiting my mother in a nursing home eventually found this hotel after recommendation. Great location, well cooked food and friendly service. Spectacular views as well!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AGDowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I have been taken /visiting this Yorkshire gem since i was a baby, and my family has been going there for 20 years before i was even born. I am not sure what initially drew them to the hotel back in the 60's but i dare say it is largely down to the charisma and charm of the staff, building and especially Miss McCarther, or Helen to those who know her!!! The hotel is not your most modern, or your most swanky but it just has a certain je ne sais quoi that hits you on arrival.

Typically you will be met by one of the biggest dogs to ever roam the earth but do not fret, she will never do anything other than show effection. All of the rooms are sapcious but clearly in a place like Scarborough you want to be facing out over the bridge and South Bay.

Once you are settled into your room definately head down to the bar for a drink and there is a good chance Helen will serve you herself! I think that all other reviewers of this hotel will tell you that the Mount's Party Piece is the food. After going there every year up until my early 20's i can honestly say that they dont do bad food. In fact they dont do good food. They only do AMAZING food! Breakfast, lunch or dinner you will never be disappointed!

I know there are newer, hipper hotels but overall, nothing will beat this gem!

Room Tip: Ask for front facing hotel. If you have the money ask for the suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Goviegovie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Mount Hotel Scarbrough is run by Helen and has been in their family since 1947. Helen is a perfect host and she offers the best of hospitality for her guests. The food is both superb and plentyful, we opted to dine at the hotel and we were not disappointed. Theai accommodation is of a high standard rooms are clean and well maintained. The room price was more expensive than your average B&B but both the service and the food were second to none. We would recommend the mount to our friends as it is a large hotel with a fantastic view but still keeps its personal touch.

Room Tip: Room 58 is definitley the most spacous but we prefer a room on the front with the spectacular sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank K Baz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

My wife and I visit scarborough every October. I play in a weekend chess congress at the spar complex. I have tried all the other hotels in scarborough including some said to be 4 star and they dont compare to The Mount Hotel. We stayed in room 36 which is a suite, seperate bedroom lounge bathroom and walk in wardbrobe. Fantastic accomodation and easily better than any of the so called suites we have stayed in and for a lot less money.
The restaraunt needs to be seen to be believed. Set out and service like the savoy in London. Silver cutlery etc, highly polished. Proper napkins with a monogram and a napkin ring.
Quality of the food is excellent and plenty of it. Excellent views of the south bay area.
We will be using this family run hotel again next year and we can say without any equivocation this is one of the best hotels in scarborough. It does not have a swimming pool and is suited to a more discerning visitor perhaps without children but in our view these small matters are more than outweighed by the rest of its good point. They dont come much better than this one. The lady owner is maintaining standards seldom seen these days.

Room Tip: Room 36 is a suite- costs more but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whiteknight666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,740 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
3.0 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Hotel

Property: The Mount Hotel
Address: Cliff Bridge Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a commanding position overlooking the magnificent sweep of Scarborough's beautiful South Bay. The Mount Hotel which has been run by the Macarthur family for over 50 years has gained an outstanding reputation for providing high quality accommodation and superior service.The hotel has 50rooms including sea views and some executive rooms which have a lounge area, all rooms have flat screen televisions and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Mount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing