We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very welcoming”
Review of Catania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Catania Hotel
Ranked #106 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very welcoming”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

we were greeted on arrival by the owners of the establishment, the hotel was lovely and clean, our room had beautiful views overlooking the sea, the owner couldn't do enough for us, the Sunday morning full english was wonderful, would reccomend this hotel to anyone wanting a quiet relaxing place to stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisanwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    19
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
32
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We arrived Sat teatime the owner was very welcoming and Hotel Catania was a lovely clean hotel.We were 3 floors up in a small room at top of the hotel but we had booked at the last minute and we were very satisfied with what we got.The location was great as was Sundays breakfast,we would certainly book again if we were visiting Scarborough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel August bank holiday weekend for 2 nights. The hotel was very clean and the breakfast was very good too. The hotel is just a short walk to the south side but a bus runs regularly if you don't fancy the walk. It is close to Peasholm park. There is car parking on site (it's a bit of a squeeze but it it's better than parking on the road side.) We would definitely recommend this hotel to others and we would also return there ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked the hotel very last minute through tripadvisor and had a great stay the hotel is in a great location near peasholme park and the castle. The rooms were very nice and quite airy too, not like most hotels where you lose a pint of sweat just sitting on your bed!

Breakfast was great too and really there is nothing to complain about at all, a great hotel if we're in Scarborough again we'll come back here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leonidasthewookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Booked quite late and got the small double room,which was fine for a two night stay very clean and good en suite.Excellent cooked breakfast,my wife had one both mornings instead of the healthy option as it was so good,will be going back.

Room Tip: If possible request a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madabthols1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely weekend in sunny Scarborough where we spent two nights at the Hotel Catania. Having visited Scarborough several times over the years we knew exactly what we were looking for when booking the hotel - Good location, free parking, licensed bar and great reviews. The Hotel Catania certainly fitted the bill with its cliff top location in Queens Parade giving easy access to beautiful Peasholm Park and the other North bay attractions. Scarborough town centre is also only about ten minutes walk away and the North Bay beach can be reached in a few minutes down a winding path right opposite the hotel. There is a bus stop directly behind the hotel and from here we caught an open topper to visit the south bay for an afternoon of shows, donkey rides and fish & chips - a good old fashioned day at the seaside! However we have always preferred the more tranquil north end of Scarborough with its parks, boating lakes and the delightful miniature railway which dates back to 1932 and never fails to stir up memories of my childhood holidays. The Hotel Catania offered ample free parking (which we were allowed to use even after we had checked out on our last day) and we were fortunate enough to be given a room with stunning views across the bay towards the castle. Although a little on the small side and up several flights of stairs, the room perfectly served our needs with comfortable double bed, tea & coffee making facilities, television, good size clean bathroom and a hair dryer. There is a bar which is reasonably priced where we could unwind at the end of the evening as we had a toddler with us who needed to go to bed fairly early. Breakfast is served between 8.30 and 9.00 and offers a good selection of cereals, toast and of course the good old Full English. However, the success of a weekend in Scarborough, like any other British sea-side resort, is largely dependent on the weather and we were blessed with three warm sunny days but it was our stay at the Hotel Catania which rounded off the whole experience perfectly for us. We hope to return one day and would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: There are lots of stairs so try to get a room on a lower floor with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bottlebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I have just spent a lovely two nights (Fri and Sat) at the Hotel Catania. We were in Scarborough for the Quo concert at the nearby open air theatre. We arrived around seven on Friday night and were met by Jean who checked us in and Antonio who helped with the car parking. We were informed that our bathroom was not on suite as our booking confirmation from hotel.com had specified. There were no other rooms available so we couldn't change. To be honest it didn't really matter, the bathroom was just opposite our room and nice and big. Both rooms were spotlessly clean and had complementary toiletries in. There were cereals, yoghurt and fruit for breakfast and the cooked breakfast was hot. We were asked several times if we wanted any more of anything to eat or drink. We couldn't fault the friendliness or the cleanliness of the hotel. We would definitely return if we ever go to Scarborough again. Although the hotel was on the north bay it is only a short walk to the harbour in the south bay so you get the best of both worlds.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.2 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kenton
The Kenton
#121 of 182 in Scarborough
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lysander
The Lysander
#45 of 182 in Scarborough
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
North Sands Lodge
North Sands Lodge
#111 of 182 in Scarborough
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#132 of 182 in Scarborough
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Meltham Guesthouse
The Meltham Guesthouse
#47 of 182 in Scarborough
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catania Hotel

Property: Catania Hotel
Address: 141 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Catania Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catania is a sea front guest house, offering bed and breakfast accommodation on Scarborough's North Bay. We provide 4 star accommodation, including family rooms, in an elegant Victorian residence, built in 1880 and overlooking North Yorkshire's beautiful east coast and Scarborough castle. Ideally situated for all attractions including award winning Blue Flag beach, Peasholm Park, brand new Water Park, indoor swimming pool, Scarborough Cricket Ground, Sea Life Centre and only a 5 minute walk from newly refurbished open air theatre. We are within easy walking distance of the town centre, Scarborough harbour and South Bay attractions. Our friendly, family-run hotel has everything you may need to make your stay enjoyable... All rooms are en-suite, with central heating, digital TV, hospitality tray, clock radio alarm and hair dryer. Enjoy a full English or continental breakfast in our delightful Dining Room and plan your day with a little help from our wide choice of brochures and books. We aim to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible and we have a good selection of books, games and beach toys. Don't have to worry about parking as we have a large car park. We are rated 5 on Scarborough Council's Scores on Doors scheme for hygiene. Due to the design of the building we do have a lot of steps - around 12 from the car park to reception then the bedrooms are on three floors - sorry we do not have a lift but can take your bags to your room if required. All televisions have sub-titles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Catania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing