We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gordon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gordon Hotel
Ranked #51 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Christine and Lawrence are so welcoming and friendly, it is a pleasure to stay there. Nothing is too much trouble. The food is delicious. The rooms are to a high standard. We agree completely with the recent reviews. Can thoroughly recommend this hotel, wouldn't stay anywhere else in Scarborough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prucer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    11
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
53
65
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Notts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Would just like to sat thankyou to Lawrence and Christine for making our stay a fantastic one.could not have wished to meet nicer hotel owners,who make you feel incredibly welcome and nothing is to much trouble.they even gave my daughter some bread to feed the ducks in the local park.
The hotel is lovely and clean and very well decorated.the room was superb.
We only had breakfast there,but it was very well cooked and really tasty.
The other guests in the hotel were incredibly friendly and very welcoming of our 4 year old daughter. I would think this is Down to the owners having the same people coming back time after time.we will certainly be visiting again.
Keep up the great job.
Lee Marie and Amelie

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lpd2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

I have stayed in scarborough many times but must say this hotel is the best ive stayed in Laurence and christine are so kind and caring and nothing is too much trouble for them.acup of tea to welcome you and then they carry your case up to your lovely clean rooms witheverything you need.The food is delicious all fresh and home cooked with plenty of choice.During the evening Laurence and Christine play dominoes quiz games and bingo and Laurence is very funny and makes everyone laugh even Christine!! and you can tell they are enjoying themselves as much as the guests.The drinks at the bar are reasonably priced with the option of buying a bottle of nice wine for 6.50.What was the final touch to myself and my mum and friend was that they took us to the bus station themselves to save us paying for a taxi and they even gave us a bottle of water for the journey.We will definitely stay again and hopefully they will have vacancies for us Lynn Audrey and Irene Nottingham, Middlesbrough@Hetton le hole

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackson27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

It takes something special for me to write a review, but the whole experience of the Gordon Hotel is something special. From the moment you arrive you are given a warm welcome and a hot drink by Laurence and Christine and are invited to look upon your visit as being at home, with the added luxury of knowing they are there to look after you. It is true, they really live up to such a promise with them making every effort to ensure your stay is memorable. The rooms are clean and well equipped with everything you may need.The beds are comfortable and the neighbourhood is quiet, so a good nights sleep comes easy. The breakfast is exceptional and you don't leave the table hungry. If you decide to stay in during the evening, you are kept entertained in a friendly and not overbearing way by Laurence and Christine. The stay is excellent value for money and having travelled and stayed in hundreds of hotels I would undoubtedly place this as my No.1. My only concern in writing this is that I persuade everyone to stay, leaving a 'no vacancy sign' hanging in the window when I call again later this year to book another very enjoyable break.
Geoff and Deanne - Suffolk

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We have stayed at the Gordon Hotel a number of times and it just gets better and better ! Christine and Lawrence are wonderful hosts. From the moment you book your holiday to the moment the holiday is over you are looked after,the food is lovely and homemade , rooms clean with everything you need.The nightly entertainment is the best in Yorkshire,Dominoes,quizzes( there is even a quiz for children to do on walk round Scarborough) bat and graveyard walks.By time you leave you have made friends with everyone who walks through the door and life long friends with Christine and Lawrence!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of hotel lovely view of Peasholme Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

As a family we have visited many hotels but the Gordon is just simply the best you could not ask for a nicer couple than Chris and Lawrence nothing is to much trouble and your treated like family as soon as you arrive. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the food (all cooked by Lawrence) is fantastic, great value! My parents used to stay here before they moved to Scarborough,and they even stayed a few days earlier this year as they love the atmosphere and fun and games in the bar of an evening. We stay here whenever I visit my parents and can't wait to come back for more fun and laughs.Truly a great family hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

From the moment you step through the door the laughs start.We were greeted with a cup of tea from Lawrence and made to feel welcome straight away.The rooms are spotless and warm with tea and coffee.The highlights for myself and my wife were the nights in the bar,from the quiz to the dominoes or cards and the jokes from Lawrence,it was fantastic!.A great couple with a great hotel.Don't think twice about booking.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#70 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#32 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catania Hotel
Catania Hotel
#96 of 184 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ryndle Court Hotel
Ryndle Court Hotel
#89 of 184 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Outlook Hotel
The Outlook Hotel
#98 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#111 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon Hotel

Property: Gordon Hotel
Address: 24 Ryndleside, Scarborough YO12 6AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gordon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gordon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing