We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and Quirky”
Review of Francis Tea Rooms - CLOSED

Francis Tea Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Take a step back in time. . . Francis Tea Rooms is set in an original 1930's hairdressing salon, complete with wood-pannelled booths. It has an unique atmosphere with hand embroidered tablecloths and Art Deco vases. We serve Taylors coffee and a variety of their loose teas in vintage china. A varied menu of brunch, light lunches and afternoon teas is available as well as a large selection of homemade cakes, tray bakes and scones. Our specialities are Homemade Soups, Welsh Rarebits, Quiches and Traditional Afternoon Teas. Our own recipe scones, lemon meringue pie and fresh fruit almond cakes earned us a place in The Guardians Top Ten Budget Eats - Yorkshire Coast 2010.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fantastic and Quirky”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We were looking for somewhere for lunch and came across this little place in the back streets of Scarborough - a hidden gem.

It used to be a hairdressers and the original cubicles are now used as individual private dining areas. On each table there is a dish full of complementary "midget gems" (my wife's favourite) with an "Alice in Wonderland" label saying "EAT ME" - of course we did (not all of them because that would have spoilt our lunch)

The food (home-made) was perfect and extremely good value for money.

We will definitely be going back next time that we are in Scarborough

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank PMLaycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    34
    9
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lunch at Francis”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Lovely menu, with all requests catered to. Fab service and we loved the whole experience. The owner even gave my son a doggy bag as his afternoon tea defeated him.....

Helpful?
2 Thank Lillyvolksina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Day out”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Went for afternoon tea after reading reviews on trip advisor.
Excellent service, great surroundings. Liked the idea of the booths. Maybe a few historical pictures of when it was a hairdressers in the booths would be good.
The food was excellent, great selection of sandwiches and cakes, fantastic value.
Will definitely go again when in Scarborough next.

Helpful?
1 Thank kpleonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Phone To Check Opening Hours”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Opening hours which you might find online May not be accurate.
It's an unusual place with booths. The service is good, and the food well up to scratch. Not too expensive, and a fairly convenient place away from the centre of Scarborough.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DLR181147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing savoury tarts”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Wow what a find, stunning setting and run by people who have a real desire to make your visit
enjoyable. The savoury tarts are fantastic, so good we waited outside for the café to open on our return home day to take some back with us . Staff made a lovely take home pack for us.

My husband said the savoury tarts were the best he had every had.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank happyface_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francis Tea Rooms also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing