We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Francis Tea Rooms

Francis Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 30 Coffee & Tea in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Take a step back in time. . . Francis Tea Rooms is set in an original 1930's hairdressing salon, complete with wood-pannelled booths. It has an unique atmosphere with hand embroidered tablecloths and Art Deco vases. We serve Taylors coffee and a variety of their loose teas in vintage china. A varied menu of brunch, light lunches and afternoon teas is available as well as a large selection of homemade cakes, tray bakes and scones. Our specialities are Homemade Soups, Welsh Rarebits, Quiches and Traditional Afternoon Teas. Our own recipe scones, lemon meringue pie and fresh fruit almond cakes earned us a place in The Guardians Top Ten Budget Eats - Yorkshire Coast 2010.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommended!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We are around the area for a visit.. We were looking for a tea room in the area for afternoon tea. We saw this place had good reviews on trip advisor so thought we would give it a bash. We really enjoyed the experience and the food & tea was fantastic homemade. We had 3 younger children with us and they were extremely accommodating. They made a mini tea party especially for them with jam sandwiches & treats which the girls loved!! Unfortunately the 2 year old wasn't feeling particularly well, they really looked after her and nothing was too much bother. Overall we are extremely pleased we visited and would really recommend if you are in the area!! Thanks to the owners for a fab time :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lil_j86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    34
    9
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed !!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Dispite saying they were open Tuesdays 10-6 and after a walk from North Bay looking forward to trying the tea rooms we found them closed only to be told by a local resident " they do that alot" very very disappointed! Don't actually know if we will bother again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JanemNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“perfect !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

When asking about afternoon tea in yorkshire, this tea room popped up. Checked tripadvisor and having booked three nights jin Scarborough, decided to check it out and booked a table. Friendly and welcoming owners, who were very accepting of our slightly noisy three year old grandson!! The food, from the soup to the plowmans to the afternoon tea was delicious and plenty and our grandson was greatly entertained by the bowls of sweets that had been included with the lovely sets of crockery on the table. We felt that this was the best afternoon tea that we'd had and the price of the food belies the quality and quantity. Fantastic - will definately be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DenS839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We visited this tea room with friends who live in Scarborough so they knew the whereabouts of the tearoom.
The interior setting is old fashioned and fabulous. All separate booths for groups, fabulous stained glass window at the back,crockery is lovely, all old fashioned. It's not just a tea room it's more of an experience.
The food is innovative,lovely ,home made ,tasty and beautifully presented. Lots of different teas to choose from ,unlimited coffee refills.
We ordered our tarts ,bread etc from the specials board and we were given extra dishes fee of charge. As it was near closing time when we left we were offered complimentary scones.
The people who own it are a delight,really professional and friendly and their customer service is excellent. I really hope they do well,they deserve to.
The place is hidden away but is only actually a short walk. If you look directly down South Street you probably wont see it unless you actually walk down the street as there is nothing outside to draw your attention. It doesn't look as if there is anything down that street.(Perhaps needs a sandwich board type advertisement on the pavement outside the tea room or some tables and chairs on the pavement to draw attention to the fact it is there.) Hunt it down ,it's well worth it. It is excellent value for money too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M.Grainger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deepcar, Sheffield
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Francis Tearoom”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

we found this little gem of a tearoom tucked away top of south bay in Scarborough.. we decided to go inside and to find it use to be an old Barbers shop with the individual booths for person/s to share something unique. the owners great service great and the food outstanding. we had the camberbert to share with bread, spring onions, pork chipoltas sausage and fab chorizo sausage it was more than enough for 2 people we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience.. well done and thankyou ..

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trac237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francis Tea Rooms also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Francis Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing