We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing restaurant.”

Winking Willys Fish & Chips
Ranked #56 of 358 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant.”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

So i visited winking willys on saturday 2nd march after a great day on the beach. I was welcomed by warm hearted staff members downstairs. We chose to sit upstairs and the staff up there were very welcoming aswell we were offered the window seat by the very kind young girl although it was busy the staff were trying there best to serve and help everyone, we ordered four specials which wasnt anything special but also wasnt the worst fish and chips ive had, my partner orderee curry sauce wich was £2:20 which for the amout you get i dont think it is worth that ovrrall it was a plesant meal and we will be back again in summer. I dont know why people have wrote these awful reviews, in my oppinion these must be jealous retsaurants i dont agree with any of the comments.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jaamal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    238
    142
    118
    124
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would not go back”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Having a day out in Scarborough and we decided to eat lunch here after having a giggle about the name .We sat at a table near the door, big mistake , there was four of us , the table was too small to be comfy- we made our order and we was brought the tea cups first with pots of tea, well 3 off the cups were filthy , not just one mark or two but there was grime stuck on the outsides of the cups and an actual ring mark inside the top of the cup .We did note this to a waitress and she did change 2 of the cups I just wiped one of them clean .The table near the door is just ridiculous, as they have the till right near the door so as people are coming in , you are getting people waiting to pay so you are being constantly stood over-people with prams struggling to get out as there is no room , also they were turning people away saying they were full when there was 2 tables behind us empty but uncleared .The fish and chips were just average and for four people fish and chips with bread and tea cost just under £32! Way too expensive . Would never go there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RED71hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food, top service”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Myself and partner went on a Sunday lunch time. Was busy but seated straight away and order fish and chips twice. Hot and tasty food came quickly and the staff were excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank charlotte_maher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchterarder
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fine Fish and Chips, Short on Flexibility!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Liked the location. Liked the upstairs. Disliked the frosting on the balcony glass which obscured any chance of a sea view for the majority of window tables.
Liked the fact there is a childs fish and chips. Disliked the fact that despite their selling battered sausage in the take-away, they refused to serve it in the cafe.
Difficult to change anything in the place, just all felt a little inflexible. BUT the fish and chips were fine, in fact maybe better than fine. The fish was white, thick and fresh.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shoandniamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“very rude owner ?”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

having eaten at bamfords before, we decided to try this restaurant because we were told it had the same owner, while the atmosphere in bamfords is very warm and welcoming even when the staff are very busy. Totally different story here, they were busy, the waitresses were friendly and as helpful as time would allow but after waiting quite a while i asked one of the waitresses if i could speak to the owner/boss to which i received a very curt reply of I AM THE OWNER, i am sure her name was Sarah but as she was the only one without a badge im going on what one of the girls called her when then needed to speak to her. and because of this i woudnt step foot in there again, the food is ok but not worth waiting the time we did for it and also i think more staff are needed in both winking willies and bamfords. and maybe some cutomer service training for the "Boss".

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jules s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winking Willys Fish & Chips also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Winking Willys Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing