We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable”
Review of The Cordelia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cordelia
Ranked #20 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral
Level Contributor
231 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This was a delightful stay with a warm welcome and very good value for money. We have stayed at many establishments in Scarborough and this was the best value we have had. A large and very comfortable room, very clean and all mod cons.
Breakfast also very good and well prepared.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJG_KAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
96
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed at The Cordelia 18th February and were absolutely delighted with it. The room was huge, warm and spotlessly clean. They provide toiletries and drinks facilities and are the most friendly hosts. Our room overlooked the road and was very quiet - apart from the odd seagull. The breakfast was first class and we will definitely be staying at the Cordelia again. The location is first class and the service second to none.

Room Tip: All room will be quiet and I think they are all very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YorkshireHarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Spotlessly clean with very nice, friendly owners this is a lovely B&B.
Parking on the quite street outside, you need a permit displayed on the vehicle dashboard which you obtain on arrival from the hotel owners.
Comfortable bed, lovely large room, TV, tea tray, complimentary shower gel and shampoo/conditioner.
Nice breakfast. tea, freshly brewed coffee, grapefruit segments..good choice choice of cereals. fruit juice, toast, cooked breakfast...we both opted for sausage, bacon, fried egg, mushrooms and tomatoes which was beautifully cooked.
Scarborough town itself is a good, steep 15 minute brisk walk downhill. There is a nearby cliff lift which will take you to the lower level for 70p, reducing the effort involved. It would have been nice if it had been working. For some silly reason it was only open Saturday and Sunday between 10am and 5pm! Scarborough council..get your act together or don't you want people to visit out with the summer season? Hardly fair on the many guest houses you'll so quickly take Council tax from all year round. Clearly if you have any mobility issues this could be a problem and so If staying anywhere in the South Cliff area in the quieter season you'll have to consider having to use your own car to drive in and out of the town, and/or public transport/ taxis and the additional costs involved.
On the return journey back UPHILL to the guest house, I could hear much panting from other people and breathless chants saying things like 'chuffin nora'. I would have laughed had I had the breath! That having been said hubby & I did the return trip on foot TWICE on the only day we were there. I ate the afore mentioned cooked breakfast without a hint of guilt knowing I had 'enjoyed' such a good workout the previous day!
We would without doubt stay at the Cordelia again, only next time we would make sure said lift was operating a better schedule, so we had that option if we didn't fancy the uphill climb..

Room Tip: We haad room 4 on the first floor, which was a lovely, big, airy room overlooking the quiet street t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank numptieheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

During xmas and new year there are very few hotels open in Scarbourgh, The Cordila is and they charge extra for New Years eve and New years day... Why ? Did they put on anything extra eh no, they couldnt even manage a towel rail in the bathroom. And according to the owners Clover is butter yeah right. When challenged on there failings the daughter was visibly shaking with rage !!!!!!! Dont stay here they dont deserve the money.....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilma p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie W, Owner at The Cordelia, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
The Cordelia was not open at Christmas this year, only at New Year. It is common practice amongst accommodation businesses to charge more at this time due to increased staff costs for working during public holidays. As we are a small business we are extremely competitve in the area and charge a small amount more. All our charges are clearly listed and no customer makes and then confirms a booking without the price being confirmed to them. There is a huge variety of accommodation and prices within the Scarborough area to suit all budgets and of course the customer has free choice.
We must point out that we cannot be persuaded to reduce our prices under threat of negative reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

stayed here for 2 nights in July based on reviews from another site. The room was spotlessly clean, very good tea tray in room, breakfast ok and the bed very comfortable - we slept very well. The location is about a 10/15 min brisk walk into town - however when you walk from town along front, unless you use the lifts from the beach it is up a bit of a hill - but then again Scarborough is very hilly! we would definitely stay again if visiting Scarborough - the hosts are really friendly and helpful - but not in your face (which personally I don't like)

Room Tip: we were in room 6, up 2 flights of stairs and only saw rooftops but this wasn't a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mollybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

If you don't want fuss and noise this is ideal. very clean, easy parking and a nice stroll into town centre.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bearshaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skipton
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Very clean, light and airy hotel. Good location and quiet area. Lovely room and good breakfast. Friendly, helpful proprietors. Would certainly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank radishskipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
Esplanade Gardens Hotel
Esplanade Gardens Hotel
#88 of 183 in Scarborough
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#30 of 183 in Scarborough
160 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#18 of 183 in Scarborough
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#49 of 183 in Scarborough
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#17 of 183 in Scarborough
606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#52 of 183 in Scarborough
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cordelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cordelia

Property: The Cordelia
Address: 51 Esplanade Road, Scarborough YO11 2AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cordelia 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Cordelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing