We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday at The Mountview”
Review of The Mountview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mountview
Ranked #53 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glossop, United Kingdom
1 review
“Holiday at The Mountview”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Michelle and Graham were excellent hosts, very friendly and served up excellent food in a spotlessly clean environment. Plenty of choices available at breakfast time and our room was very tidy, very clean and very comfortable. If we came to Scarborough again, we would definitely stay at the Mountview with Michelle and Graham.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithThompson33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
67
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Over a number of visits in the last ten years I have found Graham and Michelle to provide a warm friendly welcome without being fussy. The bedrooms are well decorated, spotless with comfortable beds. There are great choices for breakfast including the full English which sets you up for the day. There are several scenic walks to the town centre, Spa, seafront and harbour.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My niece arrived from New Zealand and we wanted to stay locally so as to see the sites that Scarbough and Whitby had to offer. We booked into the The Mount View and I have to say Graham and Michelle were most welcoming. The rooms were lovely and clean and very pretty. Great breakfast and very happy with everything. It is in easy walk of the town and beach. Easy to get to Whitby and we went on the bus. We had a really good time. Wouldn't stay anywhere else now. Thank you. Sue and Catherine (Catherine from New Zealand).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Graham and Michelle are welcoming people. They make you feel at ease in their clean, spacious and warm accomodation. The rooms are clean and tidy, with free access to a comfy day room which is handy if the weather is bad. The breakfasts are spot on and you dont leave hungry. You are free to come and go and are only a few minutes walk away from the Italian gardens overlooking the coastline, with access to the beach nearby. Parking is on street and free. Well recommended for a stress free stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrismills321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We booked this at very short notice, having been let down by our original hotel. Graham and Michelle could not have been more welcoming. We stayed for 3 nights and loved our room, it was clean, cosy and warm, as is the hotel. The location is great, any easy walk to the town either via the Esplanade or over the bridge, so restaurants etc are within easy reach. The breakfasts were good and plentiful. On road parking was not a problem, we always found a space close by. We would go back if we were going to Scarborough and would recommend The Mountview.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My parents booked a short break at The Mountview Hotel after reading reviews on trip advisor. My mother rang to speak to the owners, as she wanted to be sure that she would get a ground floor room, as my father is disabled and is recovering from arecently broken leg.
My mother explained the situation when she booked, and was told that there were ground floor rooms. However, when they got there the room was out of the hotel, down some steep steps and into a side street. There were also steps into the room, which, although a family room, was very difficult to negotiate for someone in a wheelchair. My brother was also staying in a separrate room.

My family found the breakfast laughable, as they had one tiny pot of marmalade for the three of them. The scrambled egg my mother had was tiny, on one half slice of toast! Not really a hearty breakfast. Neither of my parents have huge appetites, but they both said that this was a very disappointing stay and they would not be going back. In future the owners should state that the ground floor rooms, are actually outside of the building and down stairs, so that people can at least be prepared. My family will not be going back and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah50td
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themountview, Owner at The Mountview, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We are sorry your family was disappointed with their stay at The Mountview. However in response to your comments, AT NO TIME did your family contact us prior to them booking ON-LINE to inform us of any mobility problems your father had. Indeed your mother admitted on arrival that she had made a mistake by booking a second floor room for herself and her husband and the ground floor room for her son. Fortunately we were able to accommodate her error by offering them our much larger family room at no extra cost to them. In addition we offered to take breakfast down to your father's room. If guests book with us over the phone, we always explain about the ground floor rooms. Also our website has an access statement for people with disabilities. With regards to breakfast, no guests are given " one half slice of toast with tiny portions" unless they specifically ask for it. Nobody leaves The Mountview hungry, as our other reviews confirm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at the Mountview for a long weekend for my birthday. We chose the Mountview because of the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and it's also located in our favourite part of Scarborough near the Esplanade. We stayed for 3 nights which was a bargain due to a special 3 night deal. The owners are very friendly and the hotel has a home from home feel. We chose a double room with a shower which was very nice, spotlessly clean and warm and cosy, which was essential due to the unseasonal cold weather we had! The breakfast was delicious, we chose a full English every morning which was cooked to perfection! I would definitely recommend the Mountview and we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzigoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#15 of 182 in Scarborough
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Raincliffe Hotel
Raincliffe Hotel
#13 of 182 in Scarborough
383 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Croft
The Croft
#81 of 182 in Scarborough
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#37 of 182 in Scarborough
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#25 of 182 in Scarborough
306 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#33 of 182 in Scarborough
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountview

Property: The Mountview
Address: 32 West Street | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mountview 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graham and Michele invite you to stay at The Mountview where a warm welcome is always on hand to greet you. We pride ourselves on giving everyone at The Mountview a comfortable and enjoyable stay. A private, family run establishment with a strict non-smoking policy, which was formerly given a four star rating from VisitBritain but has now been awarded a Certificate of Quality Assurance by the Yorkshire Coast Tourism Association. Enjoy a comfortable relaxing breakfast in our lovely sunny Victorian dining room. For breakfast, choose from our table of cereals and juices, followed by a full English Breakfast, poached or scrambled eggs or continental breakfast.We have seven comfortable en-suite rooms plus one bedroom with its own private bathroom. All the rooms are tastefully decorated and equipped with colour television, tea and coffee making facilities, alarm clock and hair dryers. Two rooms are on the ground floor and have their own front door! One a spacious suite, accommodating up to four people and ideal for families. Discounts for OAP’s. Additional charges will apply for peak periods, single occupancy in a double room and one night stays. The Mountview’s excellent location means it is only two or three minutes walk from the Esplanade, where you will enjoy one of the finest views on the east coast - stretching from the picturesque harbour, across to the sea-swept cliffs reaching south toward Filey Brigg. Take the cliff lift down to the Spa, or walk along one of the many paths leading through the Italian & Rose Gardens. Or maybe stroll along the cliff top to town and enjoy the mix of specialist shops and high street names, which offer a wide choice for shopping or browsing. The Mountview is easily accessible from the town's rail & coach station, and a regular bus service can drop you nearly outside the door. The Mountview enjoys ample free on-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mountview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing