We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent! Very friendly owners, great location, highly recommended!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mountview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mountview
Ranked #59 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent! Very friendly owners, great location, highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at the Mountview for a long weekend for my birthday. We chose the Mountview because of the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and it's also located in our favourite part of Scarborough near the Esplanade. We stayed for 3 nights which was a bargain due to a special 3 night deal. The owners are very friendly and the hotel has a home from home feel. We chose a double room with a shower which was very nice, spotlessly clean and warm and cosy, which was essential due to the unseasonal cold weather we had! The breakfast was delicious, we chose a full English every morning which was cooked to perfection! I would definitely recommend the Mountview and we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzigoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
62
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Lovely warm welcome, great breakfast with fantastic homemade marmalade and limitless toast. Clean warm comfortable family room with excellent shower. Pleasant walk to town through the cliff gardens and along the beach. Several restaurants within walking distance and the area is beautiful with established gardens and elegant buildings. My children asked to go back after the first day and we will be staying there whenever we are in Scarborough again.

Room Tip: If you dont like stairs, then ask for the basement rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Clean, comfortable, welcoming, great breakfast, free car parking, no more to say!! Close to town, beach, restaurants, pubs and theatre Stayed three times so far and will be staying again without a doubt.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 734AnnieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend in September 2012 to see the Gold Cup motorcycle races. Great warm welcome, clean and warm rooms, comfy beds, good bathroom facilities, very reasonable price and I recommend the full English breakfast. 10 minutes walk from town and Oliver's Mounts race track. Plenty of on street parking. Really enjoyed our stay and have already booked for next year.
Highly recommended. Lloyd S

Room Tip: Book early !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton on sea, lincolnshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Had a great stay again sept 2012,food great,rooms very clean and excellent,very warm welcome when you arrive there,great people,see you in 2013,staying at mountview give you plenty of places to visit from there and plenty of restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Had a fantastic stay very clean and freindly hotel would recommend to all our freinds . Breakfast is great with plenty of choice and not served to early .Hotel is very warm and quiet will stay again next year. There is plenty of parking around the hotel its close to town and the cliff gardens. Its a nice walk up to olivers Mount and theres plenty of pubs and resturants around. there is more than enough room for all your clothes and the beds were comfortable.
Thank you again Anne & Vincent

Room Tip: room with the bath is great after all the hill walking nice long soak to relax those muscles
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here for a week at the end of August and loved every minute. Nothing was to much trouble, it was like a home from home. There was always a smile and a warm welcome. Always a place to park close by.

Our room was very spacious, it was clean, bright and plenty of room for all the extra clothes you take when you're on holiday in the UK! The beds were comfortable and we were always warm enough.

Breakfast was very nice and various options were available if you didn't want to have a cooked breakfast every morning.

We walked in to town every day, its close to the lift for the beach and Spa, cliff gardens, putting green etc.

We would definitely stay again, its great value for money and we have already recommended The Mountview to family and friends.

Thank you so much once again for making our holiday so enjoyable!!!

Anne & Vincent

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#28 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sylvern House
Sylvern House
#52 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#17 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#45 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#8 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountview

Property: The Mountview
Address: 32 West Street | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mountview 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graham and Michele invite you to stay at The Mountview where a warm welcome is always on hand to greet you. We pride ourselves on giving everyone at The Mountview a comfortable and enjoyable stay. A private, family run establishment with a strict non-smoking policy, which was formerly given a four star rating from VisitBritain but has now been awarded a Certificate of Quality Assurance by the Yorkshire Coast Tourism Association. Enjoy a comfortable relaxing breakfast in our lovely sunny Victorian dining room. For breakfast, choose from our table of cereals and juices, followed by a full English Breakfast, poached or scrambled eggs or continental breakfast.We have seven comfortable en-suite rooms plus one bedroom with its own private bathroom. All the rooms are tastefully decorated and equipped with colour television, tea and coffee making facilities, alarm clock and hair dryers. Two rooms are on the ground floor and have their own front door! One a spacious suite, accommodating up to four people and ideal for families. Discounts for OAP’s. Additional charges will apply for peak periods, single occupancy in a double room and one night stays. The Mountview’s excellent location means it is only two or three minutes walk from the Esplanade, where you will enjoy one of the finest views on the east coast - stretching from the picturesque harbour, across to the sea-swept cliffs reaching south toward Filey Brigg. Take the cliff lift down to the Spa, or walk along one of the many paths leading through the Italian & Rose Gardens. Or maybe stroll along the cliff top to town and enjoy the mix of specialist shops and high street names, which offer a wide choice for shopping or browsing. The Mountview is easily accessible from the town's rail & coach station, and a regular bus service can drop you nearly outside the door. The Mountview enjoys ample free on-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Mountview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing