We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

The Coachman Inn Restaurant
Ranked #68 of 363 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Coachman Inn Snainton, is a destination restaurant and bar with rooms beautifully located on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors between Pickering & Scarborough. You will feel relaxed and at home in this historic Grade II listed Georgian Inn, steeped in coaching heritage. Built in 1776 and now sympathetically incorporating modern comforts, The Coachman Inn is the perfect retreat; the ideal base for exploring the North York Moors National Park the historic City of York and the stunning Yorkshire Coast and towns of Whitby and Scarborough. We take great pride in sourcing the best of the marvelous local procuce from the surrounding areas and creating food that we are sure you will enjoy, our Executive chef David Spencer has a lifetime of experience and has previously held two rosettes from the AA for 25 years works very closely with Head Chef Peter Gibson and the owner of the Coachman Inn Ian Rae who is also a Chef with many years of cooking under his belt to constantly create and innovate for your pleasure, whilst Carol Rae takes charge of the front of house team to ensure you are given the best possible service the moment you step through our front door.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Home made food, with a presentation you might not find anywhere else, it is a piece of art that taste divine, the service was warm and welcoming. Looking forward to summer nights to eat in the Garden.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    45
    15
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire,
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing food.”
Reviewed January 24, 2011

My husband and I booked a table here at the last minute one Friday evening. The welcome we received was excellent, the service perfect and the food amazing.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed January 22, 2011

Me & my boyfriend went for a quiet meal, the service was fantastic & the staff were very friendly.
The food was exceptionally good & cooked to perfection.
I would definitely visit The Coachman Inn again and possibly stay the night.
I would recommend this to anyone passing or in the area as this restaurant is a real gem!

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jessyca_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough , North Yorks
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“best restaurant for miles around”
Reviewed December 21, 2010

We have used this restaurant many times over the last few years and have to say that under the new ownership this is an absolute gem. We have eaten both lunch and dinner here and both are excellent. The menu is varied and the little loaves of bread served pre starters are lovely. Excellent food and attentive service. We will definitely be back !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank haymrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delighful inn, both for meals and accomodation”
Reviewed June 22, 2010

My husband and I found this inn by chance earlier this month and ti is a real gem. The new owners took over last year and they have made a fantastic job, both of the beautiful decorations and the food, which is mostly local produce. The very elegant, but warm dining room is like something out of a Jane Austin novel, gentle candle light and polished floors and the bedrooms are a dream.
We just couldn't fault the service and we will certainly go back as this is a place for a cosy bar area in the winter, delighful al fresco dining in the summer and wonderful food all year round..

Helpful?
3 Thank TrippynoraUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coachman Inn Restaurant also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Coachman Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing