We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic freshly cooked to order food”

The Coachman Inn Restaurant
Ranked #75 of 376 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $35
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Coachman Inn Snainton, is a destination restaurant and bar with rooms beautifully located on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors between Pickering & Scarborough. You will feel relaxed and at home in this historic Grade II listed Georgian Inn, steeped in coaching heritage. Built in 1776 and now sympathetically incorporating modern comforts, The Coachman Inn is the perfect retreat; the ideal base for exploring the North York Moors National Park the historic City of York and the stunning Yorkshire Coast and towns of Whitby and Scarborough. We take great pride in sourcing the best of the marvelous local procuce from the surrounding areas and creating food that we are sure you will enjoy, our Executive chef David Spencer has a lifetime of experience and has previously held two rosettes from the AA for 25 years works very closely with Head Chef Peter Gibson and the owner of the Coachman Inn Ian Rae who is also a Chef with many years of cooking under his belt to constantly create and innovate for your pleasure, whilst Carol Rae takes charge of the front of house team to ensure you are given the best possible service the moment you step through our front door.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We visited here after looking round for a nice place to eat and what a find this was it was beautiful just the kind of place I was looking for homely, with friendly staff and fresh cooked to order food which was such good value for money.
I would definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LNewton83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaC1911, Owner at The Coachman Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thanks for your vote of confidence. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
thanks Kev and Anna Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 140 of 223 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

Have just spent a week in Yorkshire sampling the best of Yorkshire hospitality & returned somewhat reluctantly to the Coachman after having a poor experience last year...the change in everything was obvious from the minute we stepped inside. A big smile, warm greetings to all & sundry, they explained that it had very recently been taken over, and the positivity echoed throughout with first class service, the chef obviously knows his stuff, food was cooked to order & delivered so, a well balanced wine list & overall a very nice sunday lunch experience. They explained to us they were going to 'tidy' the place up, introduce some new menus & give this likeable old coaching inn a 'lift'. Bravo to all thoroughly enjoyable and look forward to visiting again later this year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ExpatJockLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaC1911, Owner at The Coachman Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thanks for your lovely comments. Glad you enjoyed your visit. We have made some very small changes to the menu and decor in the "snug" be sure to check us out next time you are in the area. Thanks Kev and Anna Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Visited The Coachman for a pre Christmas meal with friends on a Friday evening in December. Being the festive season we thought it would be busy however this was not the case, we were the only ones in! The restaurant was cold and the ladies kept scarfs on, and there was absolutely no atmosphere. The table had been pre booked for 6 but was only set for 4 so they quickly added additional place settings when we sat down. The meal was average, certainly nothing special. We were left alone for long periods in the dining room, staff very absent. Finally the bill was wrong with additional costs added on. A genuine mistake perhaps but it was not like they were busy. We were all very disappointed as this used to be our favourite restaurant. A real shame.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Craigmyle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaC1911, Owner at The Coachman Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

We took over on the 7th Feb and sorry things were not good. Please try us again and see if we can change your views of what we provide now. There were lots of Happy Mothers on Sunday and I'm sure now we have made our mark on the place you will enjoy the next visit.
many thanks for your feedback
Kev and Ann Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Have visited the Coachman at Snainton on several occasions, always for a bar meal/lunch, and have given glowing reviews here on Tripadvisor, but will not be back. I had a 10oz burger but asked for cheddar cheese on it rather than the blue cheese it normally comes with. The burger was over cooked and a half inch thick slice of cheddar had been placed in the bun but had not melted. I also ordered a side of onion rings which were burnt and inedible and were sent back. My wife had a ham and homemade piccalilli sandwich and in the past she got a lovely thick slice of ham in between the bread, this time there were tiny little scraps of meat, it was as if they had ran out of ham and had made the sandwich from the crumbs that were left, and the piccalilli was almost non existant. Thy have either changed their chef or have just given up on the high standards they used to have. We were so disappointed and will not be back. Take my advice and give it a miss.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We met some good friends for a pre-Christmas dinner on Friday night. We noted that the bar was busy and heated.
The night began with us meeting in the ante room where we noticed some significant water damage to the ceiling and wall. No explanation given.
We then went into the ice cold and almost empty restaurant where we were shown to a badly set table. We were a party of 6 but the setting was short of 2 sets of plates and Christmas crackers. Meanwhile the Christmas background music, akin to something like a Christmas dirge ,played on.
The temperature remained cold throughout despite we bringing it to the attention of the staff. The meal was only just average and the service was reminiscent of an old British Rail station café. The girl really didn't want to be there. At the end of the meal we were presented with a wrongly priced bill and we left feeling that our night was very ordinary and that we would have been better off in the bar. At least we would have been warm and probably have had a better meal,
judging by others reviews. They have got to do better or we fear that their days are numbered. Hope if you're heading there this Christmas that this review helps.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank approachmedarling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coachman Inn Restaurant also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
East Ayton, North Yorkshire
Wykeham, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Coachman Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing