We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Call in The Coachman Inn for Sunday Lunch while on holiday”

The Coachman Inn Restaurant
Ranked #70 of 352 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Coachman Inn Snainton, is a destination restaurant and bar with rooms beautifully located on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors between Pickering & Scarborough. You will feel relaxed and at home in this historic Grade II listed Georgian Inn, steeped in coaching heritage. Built in 1776 and now sympathetically incorporating modern comforts, The Coachman Inn is the perfect retreat; the ideal base for exploring the North York Moors National Park the historic City of York and the stunning Yorkshire Coast and towns of Whitby and Scarborough. We take great pride in sourcing the best of the marvelous local procuce from the surrounding areas and creating food that we are sure you will enjoy, our Executive chef David Spencer has a lifetime of experience and has previously held two rosettes from the AA for 25 years works very closely with Head Chef Peter Gibson and the owner of the Coachman Inn Ian Rae who is also a Chef with many years of cooking under his belt to constantly create and innovate for your pleasure, whilst Carol Rae takes charge of the front of house team to ensure you are given the best possible service the moment you step through our front door.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Call in The Coachman Inn for Sunday Lunch while on holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

The is the second visit to the Coachman called in hoping we could get a Sunday lunch! The young man on reception was very welcoming and found us a table in the restaurant, which is lovely very clean and bright with sparkling white linen and napkins.
The waiting staff are very good, very attentive, water on the tables for you.
Everything about the food is excellent, I had the sea food starter, I could hardly reach the top of the glass it was that full! My husband had soup he said it was gorgeous too, very well presented. The main we both had the Lamb roast which was just like home made, not faults at all. No room left for a sweet. Very reasonable for the quality of food.
We will be back again in September.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juliajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    41
    15
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Difficult To Fault Really”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We, 4 adults and 2 children, visited for Sunday lunch. We were comfortable in the lounge bar while we selected from a good ranging menu, considering we were after a traditional Sunday lunch. The order was taken in good time. We found a good selection of drinks in the bar, with some pleasant local beers on tap (we didn't have the wine list).
We went through to a beautiful restaurant with impressive table settings including large cloth napkins. The food is superbly presented, generous platefuls and served at a good pace. There was one minor glitch when a plate arrived with gravy which we had asked not to be on the plate, but it was replaced fairly quickly. There seemed to be something to suit everyone in each course. Service was pleasant throughout. I'm fairly sure you could find a cheaper Sunday lunch in the area, but the overall experience here is very good. I recommend it!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DLR181147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Value Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

It is some time since I visited the Coachman and it has changed ownership since my last visit. It always had a good reputation, and under new ownership,nothing has changed! A recent visit with a friend for a quick lunch involved us trying the 2 main dishes for £15 menu - we both chose steak and it was excellent. Nice range of drinks too - will certainly return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edwardp463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarborough
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best Sunday lunch ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Sunday lunch is excellent and at £10 pp very good value. Everything is fresh and the cranberry sauce is homemade. The portion size is ample, actcually too much for us. Very nice polite staff in the dining room and friendly chatty staff in the bar.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juliaScarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely end to a holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We decided to dine here on our last evening visiting the North York Moors and surrounding area. They were unable to accommodate us in the restaurant because of a private function but we were seated in the bar in front of an open fire which was lovely. The food was delicious and the staff were very friendly. A definite thumbs up!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sy1vie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coachman Inn Restaurant also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Wykeham, North Yorkshire
Burniston, Scarborough
 

Been to The Coachman Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing